We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing grounds, great beds, horrible food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing grounds, great beds, horrible food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Amazing, historic hotel on arguably the most gorgeous grounds in Jasper. Awesome beds which is a HUGE plus- rooms are really outdated- and not in an appealing rustic kind of way. Great service but not in the restaurant or lounge. Unfortunately, this isn't the hotel it used to be! Food is uncomfortably overpriced. Charging exorbitant amounts if money for mediocre (at best) food. For example the Caesar salad prepared at out table by a self professed "inexperienced waiter." He read the directions off a laminated recipe sheet and the salad tasted just terrible. The 15$ glass of wine was barely filled to 1/4 the glass. It was almost comical. The restaurant was run by young, unprofessional wait staff. This Would be fine if I was at earls, but when Im spending 300$ on a meal, I want to feel like it was worth every penny. Instead we left feeling ripped off. I would consider staying again- but I'd would go into town to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Lisa D,
We appreciate and thank you for your comments. We certainly agree the area surrounding our Lodge is gorgeous. We can assure you that comments about service and food will be taken into consideration and we will continue to strive to provide the level of service and quality of food that we have always been proud of. We apologize if you found some of our team members young and unprofessional. Fairmont Hotels & Resorts has developed an extensive training program ensuring our colleagues have the tools necessary to provide each and every guest with a memorable experience. Our most sincere apologies this was not the case for you. Should you have any additional information or suggestions you would like to share with us that would enhance your feeling of value for the price paid please contact us directly at jasperparklodge@fairmont.com with your contact information and Trip Advisor comment title. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    487
    432
    315
    164
See reviews for
544
968
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

There was nothing more "exciting than our elk sightings! So many of them even the big guys came for breakfast. As I sat looking out at the lake from the restaurant, the snow covered mountains above and the wildlife in between I wondered if there could ever be a more beautiful and serene place. I know people tend to flock to the Fairmont Jasper in the summer, but I loved it in winter. Enjoyed curling up by the fire in the beautiful lodge. The crazy fun outdoor pool heated to a perfect temp to paddle in even in winter. Also had a massage at the spa. Was a great facility. I think someone said it had been redone recently. Thought the food was pretty good, but the martini's were the very best. Had a view of the frozen lake from our cottage-like room was great to be able to light the fire and watch the snowflakes fall from the warmth:) All in all, really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for t a lake view and a fireplace. If it's winter, you probably want to be relatively close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear DawneKnobbe,

Thank you very much for your comments and the positive review! Jasper National Park is home to a wide variety of wildlife, wildlife that rely on a variety of habitats, some of which we share with them. We are happy to hear you got to see some wildlife during your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went to the JPL for a little Christmas break just 3 quick days to relax. We first found our room run down and dirty which was extremely surprising for a fairmont hotel. I have stayed in many over the years and one this I always could count on was a clean room. I found the restaurant ok nothing special- was very disappointed in the wine selection 'Oyster Bay" really??? One night after skiing we decided to just stay in and order room service - BIG MISTAKE!! We just had them come back and pick it up the fact that they could even serve us something like that was an insult. We also brought our dog along and paid for the dog walking service- on a whim my husband said lets rig the kennel just to make sure they are really walking him so we did and sure enough his kennel was never touched he was not walked there was noway. When we called to tell them about our finding they said that the dog was walked which we knew wasn't true. To just put the icing on the cake my husband emailed the JPL to tell them our concerns with our stay and got nothing back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Jocelyn_H163. We are concerned about the situation and would like to speak with you directly about your stay. Please email us at jasperparklodge@fairmont.com with your contact information and the title of your Trip Advisor review as the subject and we will get back to you as soon as possible. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the park lodge for our anniversary for the weekend, we arrived on a Friday afternoon. Greeting staff were very nice. When we booked in they asked us what was the occasion and we told them it was our anniversary weekend getaway. WE were surprised to get a tray later with three chocolate covered strawberries and three truffles and a small white chocolate card with happy anniversary on it. that was very nice. After that it was not the best, the room we were told was one of the better ones and no upgrade was possible, it was not warm , we called front desk to get heat turned on as it was -23 outside, the repair guy came in for all of five minutes and said he would get us a space heater, sure enough we got a space heater big enough to warm the bathroom. It was a joke, the hot pool was not very warm, but I guess because of the outside coldness that is expected. I would have to say overall it was just ok, not impressed with anything other then the views which are amazing. When checking out we mentioned the heat to the check out lady at front desk and she seemed to be not surprised and sent us on our way, no response to our concerns, very poor service by some of the staff. Next trip to jasper will definitely be a different place, not worth the money they charge to stay there.

markv

Room Tip: WE had the moderate one king bed room, it was very comfy to sleep on, I would recommend getting a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello mark v - thank you for your comments, and for choosing to stay with us for your Anniversary. We're very sorry to hear about the challenges you faced with regards to room temperature. We certainly try to ensure that all of our guest rooms are heated to a comfortable temperature, epecially during very cold weather. We're disappointed to hear that we were unable to do this for you and your partner. Again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and hope we are able to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We recently spent three nights and this was our third visit. The main lodge is wonderful and cozy with roaring fires, a selection of restaurants (check though that they are open as we were caught out and felt a little put out as we were not warned about this, and if the hotel is busy DO MAKE A RESERVATION) and the staff are all friendly and professional. The room we stayed in, 639, was old and sad looking in terms of the decor, as long a it was clean and warm we didn't mind as we were not there to spend time in the room. However the walls are very thin and as luck would have it we stayed next to the drunken party revelers and battled to sleep every night. Upon check out we happened to mention this to Trevor and he was very gracious in dealing with two sleep deprived grumpy guests as was Justin the Guest Relations Manager. Although there was a series of little niggles over the weekend, the staff were very professional and accommodating in helping us wherever they could. Beware though this is a family hotel and if it is a long weekend can be really busy with lots of little people running around and not much reprieve if you are not in the little people world. Remember to take your costume as the hot pool is delightful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, Erica J. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Though we are disappointed to hear that you experienced some challenges while you were here, we're glad to know that you received wonderful service that helped to make up for this. We do hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed at the jasper park lodge for the first time this past weekend. We booked the room last minute for two nights over family day weekend. It was expensive but it was all that was available so we treated ourselves.
I was extremely disappointed. Our room was in need of an update. There were cobwebs on the ceiling and the wallpaper has seen better days. The bathroom also needed an update. The fan was not strong enough and condensation was dripping off the ceiling after we showered and the ceiling had brown spots. It was disgusting to be dripped on while you were trying to do your hair and makeup. And stepping in water because the floor was wet from water dripping off the ceiling and walls.
The minimal contact we had with staff was pleasant and the beds were comfortable. But parking is difficult.
We were also woken up several times through the night by people partying in the room beside us as the walls are paper
thin.
The setting is beautiful but I would never stay here again for the outrageous price. The quality is not at all there.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear dmcdee - thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apolgies for the condition of your room. If you would be so kind as to send us an email at jasperparklodge@fairmont.com with your contact information and Trip Advisor comment title, we can look into the situation further and contact you directly. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed at the JPL in January for my 3 year anniversary. I love how this resort is a totally different kind of experience from any other hotel you'll stay in. You have a cabin like room that is quite spacious and looks similar to all the other Fairmont hotel rooms. The resort is great for spotting wildlife!! I even saw my very first moose after living in Alberta my entire life!

The staff is really friendly everywhere you go and the service is great. Restaurants a little bit expensive for what you get, so I would reccomend going into town for most of your meals.

A few negative points would be that our bedding was kind of torn in some spots and the feathers from the duvet were flying around our room everytime we tried to fluff our blanket. Also, we stayed for two nights and we didn't receive any kind of house keeping on the second day. It wasn't a big deal to us, but as a Travel Agent I know that it might matter to some of my clients. The parking isn't great. At times you'll have to park super far away and make the trek back to your room. This kind of sucks in the winter because Jasper gets super cold!!

Overall, I got a great price on this resort and I feel like I recevied service beyond the value of what I paid. Of course any hotel you go to will have a few things to improve here and there, but everything at the JPL was minor and I still really enjoyed my stay! Can't wait to come back in the Summer!!

TIP: If you are going for a birthday/anniversary be sure to let the front desk know. They will leave you a little surprise in your room! Also, they are great with accomodating requests so if you have any, call and let the hotel know before you arrive in Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the main lodge. If you get a room that is really far, it's quite a trek to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for the review, Kelsea W. Happy third anniversary! We're thrilled to hear that you chose to spend that special day with us. We do apologize about the issues in your guest room, this is not a Fairmont standard and we are very sorry. We look forward to seeing you back in the summer! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.