We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and luxury in Japser National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Comfort and luxury in Japser National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is a unique, expansive property, embedded in the verdant, peaceful and serene wilderness landscape of Jasper National Park.

Keep in mind however, the lodge itself is quite different from other Fairmont properties. The rooms and suites are each in varying clusters of cabins, not in a unified building, and some are a considerable distance from the main lodge. The cabins are rustic, wooden and ever so musty, inherent to wood dwellings built so close to water (the property is surrounded by the sizable Lake Beauvert and the smaller Lake MIldred to the north). It retains the comforts you'd expect form a Fairmont however: luxurious beds, plush marble bathrooms, room service, among many other four star amenities (like check out the incredible, heated indoor/ outdoor pool!).

We drove up to Jasper on the astonishing Icefields Parkway from Lake Louise, a must if in the area, for a one-night Jasper stop-over before returning down the Parkway to Fairmont Banff Springs. Originally we booked a lake view junior suite w/ wood stove but upon check-in were upgraded to a one bedroom lake view suite with fireplace and jacuzzi.

The suite was nice, large, and comfortable; the wood burning fire place was particularly inviting, as we kept it lit most of the duration of our one night stay. The patio opened onto a vast and enchanting view of Lake Beauvert as well as the gentle, snow-capped surrounding Jasper mountains.

Service during our stay, however, was erratic. We encountered more than a few problems with several careless staff, but management fully addressed the problem and helped make an uneven stay, a very pleasant one.

We woke at dawn to walk around the perimeter of Lake Beauvert, a really terrific way to acquaint oneself with the abounding nature of the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, starting conveniently just outside our suite's patio. We were desperate to see some wild life before they moved on to less tourist heavy pastures at the break of day. Luckily for us, elk, geese, ducks and other fowl littered Lake Beauvert and Fairmont golf course and completed our memorable and tranquil morning wilderness exploration.

We ended our outing at the sleek and renovated spa in the main lodge for a warm and relaxing respite. The Fairmont Jasper's indoor / outdoor pool is also a must and is so adequately heated that one can even luxuriate in it amid the breathtakingly beautiful scenery, beneath a cold and crisp Jasper fall night sky.

The powerful, daunting and awe-inspiring Athabasca Falls are also a must see in this area, only a 15 or so minute drive down the Icefields Parkway from the lodge.

All in all we were pleased with our time at the Jasper Park Lodge; it is indeed a quaint lodge tucked deep in the Canadian Rockies aside the sleepy town of Jasper.

Room Tip: Book a lake view junior suite or one bedroom lake view suite, the views are worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review bahstar1 - we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad that you got to experience the amazing Icefields Parkway - we definitely recommend the drive from Lake Louise to Jasper or vice versa. We're sorry to hear about your experience with some of our staff, but we're glad that your concerns were addressed and taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    457
    406
    307
    155
See reviews for
504
908
41
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have stayed here numerous times and always a great experience. Spectacular location. Stayed in the larger cabin with five bedrooms and it was a great group getaway. Breakfast was served in the cabin -delicious and relaxing not to have to leave the cabin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi CanadaGirl2011 - thank you for your pleasant review. We are glad you had an amazing experience with us and we hope to welcome you and your friends back again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

So: when we arrived a little after three at JPL our room wasn't quite ready. No big deal: we could have a drink at the bar. Two Martinis: $25. Really good Martinis and we paid cash. Two days later: two Martinis, added to our room bill: $38. Only difference was the price, as far as we knew. Couldn't get much of an explanation for the difference when I went to check out, but it makes you wonder just how much you need to check the bills… The hotel did reduce the price, however, when I complained. We also discovered, after arriving for a quiet weekend, that there were hundreds of people there for something called Christmas in November. This meant most of the restaurant areas were closed to the rest of the guests. The only restaurant which stayed open was completely full and, on our last night (Sunday) it was closed. So the hotel didn't make any extra effort to look after the guests who weren't there for Christmas in November. We had to struggle to get a seat for dinner in the bar as there was nowhere else available to us. Rest of the service was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello lancebes - thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Christmas in November is our signature event at the Lodge and there are definitely quite a few people during this time. We have passed this information on to our Food and Beverage department to review for years to come. We're glad you still had a wonderful time and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend in early October at the JPL. We have been here many times and love to spend a few days in the fall when the trees are just turning. The hotel is unique among the Fairmont properties in North America in that it is truly a mountain lodge with a roaring fireplace, stunning scenery, and lots of fresh air activities to participate. A great place for families or couples just wanting a quiet weekend. Food is as good as always which makes it easy to just come and park your car and not have to leave the resort to run in for meals at Jasper townsite. We always stay in the suites by the golf course which is highly recommended if you want lots of space and your own fireplace. Worth the visit at least once or many times if you are lucky enough to live within a few hours away.

Room Tip: The suites by the lake over by the golf course are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Happy_Vacationers2 - thank you for your kind comments. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in October - definitely a great time to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Accommodation is cabin style with separate bedroom and living area, and this extra space if you were staying for several nights would be very handy. The bed was very comfortable and there was ample storage space. There was a fireplace in the living area. Bathroom was also adequate - although the bath was short. There is a small verandah at the front of the cabin. However, overall there was a slightly worn feel to the cabin we were in.
The cabins are located around a lake and even in our short visit we could see that the general outlook and scenery could be both peaceful and spectacular. Bikes and Kayaks etc are available.
The main building contained the restaurants, bar, shops, etc and has a large impressive lounge area. We tried for the main restaurant but it was booked out - so I'd recommend booking ahead. We ate just off the lounge area (I forget what this "restaurant area" was called) and this more casual. There was also balcony areas which are probably used in the warmer weather.
While some might consider the walk from the further cabins to the main building as significant, you can arrange for a lift in a "golf buggy".
We only stayed here one night as part of the Rocky Mountaineer, so maybe we didn't a get a full appreciation of the Lodge, and as the Lodge is located out of town we also didn't get to have a look at the town. I presume there was a shuttle bus, but we weren't told about it if there was. (If you had a car this would not be an issue).
If I was only visiting Jasper as a one night stop over, I would stay at one of the hotels in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello OzSooty, thank you for sharing your comments. You're right - it's worth it to stay longer than one night so you can take advantage of the wonderful mountain activities available throughout the property. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future when you have a little more time to spend with us - we promise to show you "the Great Canadian Lodge Experience". Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The location is very good, I would go back any spring-summer-fall months without thinking twice. Can be little pricy but it worth it. It is not your typical Fairmont hotel but service and rooms are very good. Expect Lodge style with class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments eyasynskyy - we appreciate to taking the time to review our resort. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I booked into the hotel for the Thanksgiving weekend. We had a well located junior suite with a lovely view of Lac Beauvert and the mountains. Fortunately, the scenery remains as beautiful as it was in 1963 when we both worked here during our summer vacations. On opening the door of our suite, there was a "musty" odor, suggesting it had been closed for some time. Despite keeping the windows open as much as possible (it was cool outside), the musty smell never left. The furnishings were okay but getting a little tired. We couldn't get the bathroom door to stay open to get rid of odor or humidity-the fan didn't work. We mentioned this to our housekeeper, who said maintenance would fix it, but they never arrived in our 3 night stay. There was an ice bucket, but one either went to the main lodge for ice, or got room service. The linens and toiletries were very nice and the bed comfortable. On arrival,the sidewalk outside was littered with goose droppings, so we had to walk carefully to avoid bringing this inside on our shoes. It took 24 hours before the sidewalk was cleaned. On Thanks giving Sunday we had to wait 20 minutes to get into the "Moose's Nook" for breakfast (included in our rate)-somehow management hadn't anticipated the number of guests who weren't going to eat brunch in the Cavell restaurant, the usual breakfast location. The servers and front desk staff were all very pleasant and helpful, but attention to small detail was less than expected in a 5 star hotel. Fairmont charge top dollar for everything here, but in our opinion, only the scenery is still 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello Curlew1978, thank you for your review, and we're thrilled that you came back to visit after having worked here many years ago. We're disappointed, however, to hear about your stay with us over Thanksgiving weekend. There is no excuse for the poor attention to detail that you experienced, and for this we truly apologize. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate departments for follow up. We do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.