We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
McMinnville, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Resort Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We only stayed one night at this resort, and we were sorry we couldn't stay longer. We had a cabin facing a lake. Easy walk to the main building restaurants. Beautiful park-like setting with many mature trees, landscaped grounds, and a few animals (elk, geese, and squirrels). Prices reasonable. This lodge is not like the upscale Fairmont lodges in Lake Louise and Banff, but the cabin was well appointed and bed comfortable. We did have a problem with a group of people talking in a common area late at night, so I called the reception desk and they sent someone out to disperse the group.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the lake would be my preference. Some cabins had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi JBN3, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Happy to hear you got to experience the wildlife and grounds even though you were only with us for a short stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    487
    432
    315
    164
See reviews for
544
969
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

This was our first visit to this mountain resort in Jasper.
Surrounded by beautiful scenery, flowers, lake, mountains.
This is a place where you come to relax.
It’s a large complex, with individual cabins very nicely done.
No air conditioning, just funs in the room are enough.
It has several restaurants on premises, to cater to everybody’s preferences,
which is quite convenient, since the town is a bit far.
This is a five star resort, thus, the restaurants are first class and you pay first class.
The staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful.
All our requests were fulfilled to our satisfaction.
This is a place where you come to get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Nonnita02 - thank you for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let us know the next time you are coming on Facebook: /FairmontJasperParkLodge or Twitter: @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you. Kind regards,
The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were absolutely delighted when we arrived at this hotel and saw the beautiful grounds. Our room was in a single storey block at the farthest end of the property from the main buildings but the stroll to the restaurants etc. was enjoyable, especially when we encountered the odd elk or two. The room, although not brand shiny new, was clean and roomy with a very comfortable bed and good quality toiletries in the bathroom. The weather was hot (30C) during our stay but the windows (with mesh to keep insects out) and ceiling fan cooled the room well and were, in our opinion, much more comfortable than the icy air-conditioning we experienced in other hotels. We were rather 'toured-out' so we spent a lovely relaxing day wandering around the lake, gazing at the scenery from the lake sundecks, and also took a lazy pedalo ride and drifted for a while just soaking up the view of Whistler Mountain. Another high point was our dinner on the terrace of Cavell's restaurant. Our young waiter was very professional and attentive, the food the best we had during our whole holiday, and the setting second to none. We then returned to our room and watched the sunset over the mountain from the chairs outside our back door - perfect. I think it would be a real shame to stay at this hotel and not take a day out from touring to take advantage of what the location has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Enjoyinglife44, we're so happy to hear about your recent stay with us. We're glad that the food and service was exceptional and we appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the rockies again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Absolutely breathtaking setting on a lake surrounded by mountains, the main lodge and public spaces are impressive. They have the perfect lodge feel. Service was friendly and attentive (most of the staff seemed very young). The town of Jasper is only a 10 minute drive away.
The rooms were average at best, located in small lodge buildings throughout the property. Small bathrooms with aged fixtures, spartan furniture and worn carpet. The bed was comfortable, and linens high quality. It should be noted there is no a/c, which shouldn't be too much of a problem in most seasons, but be forewarned if it is summer. It was in the mid 70's with beautiful sunshine during our visit, and even with the windows and doors opened for the breeze, it was pretty darn warm in the room. It cooled off sufficiently at night to sleep however.
Elk roam the property and seem fearless of humans, and we were warned to stay clear of the males, which can be aggressive. The staff seemed to be on the lookout for any issues.
Kayaks, canoes and bikes are available on site, and were a little pricey. The hike around the lake right out front takes about 30 minutes, and is well worth the adventure. Lots of other options just a short drive away as well. The property needs some TLC and room renovations, which would bring it up to the standards you would expect with the prices we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you AndyTravel1 for your review. It sounds like you had a great time exploring Jasper - you certainly picked a wonderful time to visit! We are of course disappointed to hear that you didn't find your guest room as enjoyable as the surroundings, and for that we apologize. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future to give you an amazing Lodge experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 269 cities Reviews in 269 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrival 3 - the hotel is located a few km east of Jasper off 16 overlooking Lake Beauvert. Well signed from highway 93. Check in was friendly and efficient, though parking was chaotic. There is so much space in the grounds, but very little at reception.The majority of the rooms are in lodges away from the main building, many with lake views (including our room 255). The roads around the lodges are narrow. We had to drive around a few times to find our lodge. The signs are not good. There is limited parking outside of the lodges and many have no parking space at all - awful at this price level.

Room 3 - typical lodge style. I'm not quite sure why lodges tend to be very dark? We were on the first floor. This meant lugging heavy cases up steps, but we preferred a balcony to a ground floor patio and the lake views are better. It would have been tough for elderly people, but I'm sure reception would have helped.

A comfy queen bed and nice pillows. Large tv. Kettle and Keurig machine which made nice coffee. Large wardrobe, iron and board, hair dryer & digital safe.

Thin walls - you can easily hear your neighbors both sides.

Bathroom 3 - smallish, but with a good size bath and shower above. Nice quality towels and toiletries.

Hotel main building 4 - lots of eating choices, shops etc. Pleasant, very spacious lounge areas with log fires and stunning lake and mountain views. There is a spa and a nice looking outdoor pool. You can hire canoes, kayaks for a gentle paddle around the lake. There is a famous golf course too. We didn't use any of the hotel's facilities. We ate in Jasper town each evening, where there are lots of restaurants and bars.

Other 2 - we had to ask for our room to be serviced one day at 16.30!! Poor at this level. The balcony was filthy and looked like it had not been swept in months. Cobwebs everywhere.I know it's a forest lodge, but a quick 2 minute sweep each day is all it takes.

We asked for some ice one evening - it never arrived, but it didn't surprise us somehow!!

Location 5 - Lovely lake and mountain views from virtually every part of the hotel. We had a lovely walk around lake Beauvert - approx 2.5 miles. Plenty of wildlife in the grounds and fine pine trees everywhere. Well maintained gardens and superb hanging baskets everywhere.

Overall 3 at best - the location and the history of the place is wonderful. 5 out of 5 for location, but only 3 out of 5 as a hotel. Definitely resting on it's history and past name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello NeilandBarbara. Thank you for your feedback - your comments are very important to us. We're thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the the great outdoors while you were here - a walk around Lac Beauvert is simply stunning any time of year. We are of course disappointed to hear about the lack of service you experienced as well as the challenges with your guest room and parking. We do offer valet parking services and regret that we failed to let you know this when you checked in. We hope you are able to come back and visit us from the UK one day in the future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The grounds and overall location of the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge are incredible, that is a given fact and cannot change. The main lodge building with the restaurants and public spaces are also classic and fit the overall style of the property. Service is still quite good overall at the property.
Unfortunately the rooms are in bad need of a complete tear down and reno if this is truly to be kept as a Fairmont property. Rooms can only be described as 3 star, from the old faucets, bathrooms, flooring and heating systems.
Beware of using the business centres for checking your email, they are extremely old and nobody has updated the windows software. Due to the lack of updates and probably security patches, the computer I used had spyware on it that allowed someone to gain access to my password that was entered on that computer for my Gmail - beware!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello jerrycti - thank you for posting your review. We're so sorry - as well as surprised - to hear about your email being compromised as we have never had an issue like this before. Our Business Centre is run by a third party and we have provided them with this information so they can look into it further. As for computer usage in the hotel, we now have complimentary computer, internet and printer use for our guests - these new (and very secure) computers are located on the lower promenade of the hotel. We're very sorry that this wasn't communicated to you during your stay. Again, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the Business Centre. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This lodge is in the most beautiful area! The walk around the property is breathtaking. DO not miss the view from the 14th hole of the golf course!! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We stayed in a room that was only one second from the main lodge! The main lodge was a wonderful retreat on a cold day for part of one morning. We were able to cozy up on a sofa and quietly read and stay warm while looking out at the magnificent mountains!
We ate in the main restaurant, expensive but great service and quality food. We loved the shops and returned for brunch, which was wonderful!!
We did not take advantage of the games around the property...however my husband and son swam in the heated pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments bonniebenson1404. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.