We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance and Housekeeping require improvement!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
spruce grove
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Maintenance and Housekeeping require improvement!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

First time to JPL and was excited to spend a couple of days in what I thought was Jasper National Park's most luxurious accommodations.
We were greeted by staff upon driving up to the front entrance..and check in was quick. Our room was a bit smaller than expected and in need of some "TLC". Doors and windows were worn and sadly needed a new coat of paint, as well as the chairs on the deck. Tiles in the room were worn and chipped..closet door track was embedded with dirt and grime. Bathtub and surround needed a good scrubbing. Windows were filthy. Rug had remnants of some sort of crumbs..was it even vacuumed before we arrived? Table was so wobbly that we had to call to have it repaired. Staff promptly came to pick it up and promised to bring another. Still did not have the table replaced the next morning ... which would have been nice to put our cups of coffee on .... had the coffee maker been working! Dust bunnies hanging from the ceiling..remote control for the TV was full of grime and while the duvets were lovely, the sheets were old and pilled. OMG..I know we were paying over $300/night ... but were we really at a "Fairmont"??
While some cabins and lodges with lake views displayed lovely landscaping, others had empty flower beds infested with weeds and untrimmed hedges. Seriously...if this was the type of landscaping I was looking to enjoy I could have just stayed home!
On a positive note, our concerns were addressed immediately and we were moved to another room which was cleaner and had a stable table and working coffee maker!
The JPL grounds are spacious and views of the lake and mountains are spectacular.
Be prepared to dish out $15/day for internet service unless you are a "Fairmont President's Club" member. TV's in your room only offer movies to rent from $4.99 to $18.00 for new releases. Large outdoor pool and various other activities to participate in for a fee. Restaurants we dined at were good but expensive. ($25 for a burger..$4.50 for coffee)

Room Tip: Rooms with a "lake" view appear to be maintained a bit better than those nearer the main l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello bieder, thank you for your review. We're extremely disappointed to hear about the condition of your room - this is certainly not up to our standards and we hope you will reach out to us directly (email jasperparklodge@fairmont.com) with your name and stay dates so we can take a close look at it and ensure everything is fixed. We're happy that we were able to move you into a room that was more comfortable and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Our Fairmont Presidents Club is free to join and comes with all sorts of benefits such as complimentary WiFi, access to Fairmont Fit workout gear, preferred newspaper delivery and so much more. Our outdoor heated pool is complimentary to all of our hotel guests, and we apologize that this wasn't communicated to you while you were here. We certainly hope we're able to welcome you back again in the future so we can WOW you with an incredible stay. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    453
    400
    307
    154
See reviews for
501
899
41
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our third visit to the property. I made reservations less than 48 hours to our arrival and was surprised to be able to get a room.

Being a member of the Fairmont Presidents Club, my keys were available right at the valet as you drive up. Didn't even have to get out of my vehicle. Checkout was accomplished in the same manner and we were even handed two bottles of chilled water for our drive home.

Yes, the facilities are a little more rustic than some might expect, but our Lakeview Suite was very comfortable with a fabulous view of the lake and mountains beyond. Could not have asked for a better view. Room was large and spacious and was apparently renovated in the last couple of years. As it was a very hot day by Jasper standards, it was a welcome addition to see a portable air conditioner in the room. We only used it for about 3 hours, but it did bring welcome relief to the heat.

The service at the hotel was outstanding. We were waiting at the restaurant for the hostess to return from seating a party ahead of us. A manager saw us standing there, asked if we had been helped, and promptly set about helping us. The waiters were extremely service oriented and helpful.

When leaving the next morning we saw what we assumed several managers (dressed in suits) arriving for work and walking to the lodge. Each one waved to us as we drove by. From check in to check out to the restaurant to the valets, the service was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Jclassvan, we’re so glad you had a pleasant stay with us and we’re glad happy to have been able to welcome you back for a third visit. We hope to see you again soon – please let us know the next time you’re planning a visit on Facebook: /FairmontJasperParkLodge or Twitter: @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you personally. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Have just returned from a holiday in the Canadian Rockies. On July 5th, 2013, we stayed at the wonderful and beautiful Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. Without a doubt, this is a wonderful lodge with excellent customer service. Every staff member treated us as "rock stars and royalty." Everyone always greeted us with an enthusiastic welcome and appeared to genuinely be interested in our care and stay. We were in Cabin #512, a Junior Suite Lakeview with Fireplace and Jacuzzi. This room was located only a short walk, 5 min., from the main lodge, and located on the bottom level of a two level building. This room offered ground floor access through the back door to a patio with table and chairs and onto the property grounds, easy access to take a walk along the lake, or to the main lodge. The view of the lake was spectacular from this room, as well as from any location along the lake. Bottled water was provided at our bedside. Bedding was a large sized King bed which was ever so comfortable. Coffee was available in the room with a Keurig coffee maker, and individual coffee k-cups. The bathroom was large, as well as the bedroom, and separate living room with TV, Sofa, sofa table, leather chair. and a round table with chairs. The fireplace was wonderful with wood provided to burn. We enjoyed the crackling of the wood as it burned. The Jasper Park Lodge is situated along a scenic lake, in a forested area, adjacent to a beautiful golf course, located about 10 min. outside of the Jasper townsite. The property grounds are immaculate, with elk often seen on the property. Flowers were blooming everywhere from petunias in hanging boxes and baskets to snap dragons planted in flower beds outside each building. Inside the main lodge is a beautiful building with restaurants, shops, and a bar/lounge area with outside seating overlooking the stunning wilderness lake with forest and mountains in the background. The buffet breakfast was also excellent with a great variety of cold and hot offerings. During our Canadian Rockies holiday, we also stayed at the Fairmont Banff, and Fairmont Lake Louise hotels, both are indeed very beautiful, also with wonderful and amazing scenery. But for me, the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge was my favorite as I personally prefer the rustic forested wilderness lodge style setting along a beautiful lake with Loons and Geese, surrounded by wildlife. There is absolutely no doubt as to where to say if in Jasper. I am sure Jasper has many great properties for lodging, but without a doubt, the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is indeed the best! Additionally, the Jasper Park Lodge is only about a five minute drive to Maligne Canyon which offers a great walk in a forest along a steep narrow canyon over several bridges, a must see while in Jasper. I also recommend the boat tour on Maligne Lake to Spirit Island, as well as the drive up to view the glacier at Mt. Edith Cavell. All in all, our beautiful room, and the Lodge's excellent customer service made for one spectacular and wonderfully memorable stay. I wish to compliment the hotel staff on their excellent service and all that everyone did to provide us with a fantastic visit at the Fairmont Jasper Lake Lodge. What a wonderful lodge!

Room Tip: I highly recommend room #512, a Junior Suite Lakeview with Fireplace and Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi swdke – thank you for your wonderful review and recommendations for future guests. We’re so happy you were able to experience the beauty and magic of our surroundings. We will be sure to pass your review on to our executive team so they can share it with their teams. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort again soon. Warm regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

All other rviews sum it up pretty much: outdated facilities, no air conditioning, small bathroom, looks like low cost housing. great surroundings. Sadly, there are not too many other options in Jasper as it seems to be a gathering place for trailer trash people on noisy harleys.

Room Tip: have low expectations and get a discount during low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After reading many reviews, my husband and I decided to pay for what we were told was the most recently renovated room (the deluxe lakeview suite) and were willing to pay the price which was steep. When we arrived, however, they attempted to charge us an additional $200/night. Fortunately, we had our confirmation and they agreed to honor the price.

We absolutely loved the grounds of the hotel and enjoyed the ambiance of the rustic lodge. However, our "upgraded" room had no air conditioning, very old doors and windows (lots of bugs) and we had to carry our bags up the two flights of stairs ourselves when we arrived!

After staying at the Fairmont Lake Louise and Banff Springs Hotel, I can honestly say this property is not maintained or serviced in the same manner. Upon check-out instead of completing the on-line form, I went inside to the front desk as I was concerned about the charges and was glad I did! They were still attempting to charge me an additional $200 a night. Changes were made but I highly suggest checking your bills multiple times.

Highlight? The beautiful grounds and Mr. Oka and the sushi! Service and front dest? Not so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear MVKMom, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the grounds and Main Lodge - our teams work hard to keep these beautiful year round. We do however want to apologize for the challenges you faced with your room and with billing. Our Bell Team is happy to assist with luggage and we're very sorry this wasn't communicated to you when you checked in. We hope you have the chance to visit us again in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staying at Jasper Park Lodge was a dream. Within only minutes of arriving, a friendly young man directed us where to check in and offered us help with parking, luggage, and direction. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Being only 18, we feared the staff would treat us like children and not take us seriously but they were very respectful and had the utmost greatest service I have ever had. Upon receiving detailed directions we made it to our room. Although slightly outdated there was still the high quality towels, shower gels, shampoo etc. The room had a Keurig with delicious coffee options to choose from, and an assortment of over 7 teas. Lac Beauvert has a beautiful walking path all around the entire lake that takes about one hour to completely walk around. We had diner at the Emerald Lounge, everything was absolutely delicious. Well worth the money. Beds were comfortable, and checkout was only at noon so there was plenty of time in the morning to enjoy the mountain scene and have a cup of coffee on the deck. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Krista Y, thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the resort again soon! Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arriving from the big city likes Vancouver, i just jump into the air when arriving at the fairmont Jasper lodge.Look at the mountain, look at the lake, look at the room we will stay for 2 nights, everything make us so exciting.We left the luggage un-opened, walk along the lake, take a lot of photo, the sun is still there until 10 pm.sit on the colourful chair along the lake and watch the snow capped mountain, the blue water lake, the pine trees , it is a heaven on earth.Having a cup of coffee or dinner or breakfast at the Cavell restaurant and terrace is a must, do not miss it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello vera00756, Thank you for your comments! We are happy that you had such an amazing time with us. You will have to be sure to let us know the next time you stay with us on Facebook: /FairmontJasperParkLodge and Twitter: @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.