We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating but beautiful property . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs updating but beautiful property . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After reading many reviews, my husband and I decided to pay for what we were told was the most recently renovated room (the deluxe lakeview suite) and were willing to pay the price which was steep. When we arrived, however, they attempted to charge us an additional $200/night. Fortunately, we had our confirmation and they agreed to honor the price.

We absolutely loved the grounds of the hotel and enjoyed the ambiance of the rustic lodge. However, our "upgraded" room had no air conditioning, very old doors and windows (lots of bugs) and we had to carry our bags up the two flights of stairs ourselves when we arrived!

After staying at the Fairmont Lake Louise and Banff Springs Hotel, I can honestly say this property is not maintained or serviced in the same manner. Upon check-out instead of completing the on-line form, I went inside to the front desk as I was concerned about the charges and was glad I did! They were still attempting to charge me an additional $200 a night. Changes were made but I highly suggest checking your bills multiple times.

Highlight? The beautiful grounds and Mr. Oka and the sushi! Service and front dest? Not so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear MVKMom, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the grounds and Main Lodge - our teams work hard to keep these beautiful year round. We do however want to apologize for the challenges you faced with your room and with billing. Our Bell Team is happy to assist with luggage and we're very sorry this wasn't communicated to you when you checked in. We hope you have the chance to visit us again in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    457
    406
    307
    155
See reviews for
505
909
41
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staying at Jasper Park Lodge was a dream. Within only minutes of arriving, a friendly young man directed us where to check in and offered us help with parking, luggage, and direction. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Being only 18, we feared the staff would treat us like children and not take us seriously but they were very respectful and had the utmost greatest service I have ever had. Upon receiving detailed directions we made it to our room. Although slightly outdated there was still the high quality towels, shower gels, shampoo etc. The room had a Keurig with delicious coffee options to choose from, and an assortment of over 7 teas. Lac Beauvert has a beautiful walking path all around the entire lake that takes about one hour to completely walk around. We had diner at the Emerald Lounge, everything was absolutely delicious. Well worth the money. Beds were comfortable, and checkout was only at noon so there was plenty of time in the morning to enjoy the mountain scene and have a cup of coffee on the deck. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Krista Y, thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the resort again soon! Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arriving from the big city likes Vancouver, i just jump into the air when arriving at the fairmont Jasper lodge.Look at the mountain, look at the lake, look at the room we will stay for 2 nights, everything make us so exciting.We left the luggage un-opened, walk along the lake, take a lot of photo, the sun is still there until 10 pm.sit on the colourful chair along the lake and watch the snow capped mountain, the blue water lake, the pine trees , it is a heaven on earth.Having a cup of coffee or dinner or breakfast at the Cavell restaurant and terrace is a must, do not miss it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello vera00756, Thank you for your comments! We are happy that you had such an amazing time with us. You will have to be sure to let us know the next time you stay with us on Facebook: /FairmontJasperParkLodge and Twitter: @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Positives
- Natural setting is stupendous, with majestic views of snow-capped peaks, and a tranquil lake. Magnificent.
- Town is five minutes away by car, close enough that one does not feel imprisoned, far enough that one feels peacefully removed from hubbub
- Staff is attentive and tries hard
- Excellent spa experience
- Superior boat and bike rentals

Negatives
- The rooms do not meet the standard set by the other Fairmont properties we have visited in Hawaii and Banff. Room was small, cluttered, worn
- Focused on the tour bus industry rather than individual guests. At the restaurants, tour guests go right in, and individual guests wait.
- Did not properly clean bathrooms (hair accumulated in corners, no shampoo one day)
- Did not provide clean tea pot or replace tea
- Management offered to change our room, but then emphasized what "a pain" that would be, only made offer toward end of stay
- Staff is young and unprofessional, more like camp counselors than professionals
- The rooms were swelteringly hot, without air conditioning (admittedly, there was a heat wave)
- Did not change sheets even though coffee had been spilled on them

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Doctor_EK, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate the positive aspects you mentioned - you're right, the scenery on property is second to none and we're thrilled you were able to enjoy it. Being just outside of the Jasper townsite really does give you that "vacation within a vacation" feeling and we're happy you experienced that. However...we are of course very disappointed to hear about the not-so positive aspects, and apologize for these shortfalls. There is no excuse for a lack of housekeeping and your comments have been shared with our Operations Teams. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here after staying in Fairmont Banff Springs, and the Chateau lake Louise. Slightly different to those, but actually we really liked it. Its set back from the town, in quite a few acres of pretty countryside. We arrived and the bellman took us to our Chalet. We couldn't stop directly outside as the road was too narrow, so we had to go round again, then managed to stop. My first thoughts were it wasn't quite as expected, but it was actually really nice. We could see the lake from our cabin, we had a big seating area, with a table and chairs, and a big bathroom and closet. Parking the car was a little tricky, but we managed to get quite close by. We were near by the main part of the hotel, which has a lovely bar area, and is nice inside. We managed each day a little run around the lake which is stunning, with beautiful views of the mountains. Also we hired push bikes too. Breakfast was tasty but slow service. We would recommend it, just don't expect it to be like the other Fairmont's!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments suzy6626. We are definitely a unique Fairmont property and we’re glad you enjoyed the property, the activities and the views. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to our Rocky Mountain properties again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, W. Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On paper, this would rank in the top two of seven hotels we stayed in on this trip. In reality, this was the worst. That doesn't mean it was terrible, but the other hotels were far nicer for the price and location etc. The JPL has alot of promise and it looks fantastic in photos, but I can see what others mean in the other negative reviews. On arrival the receptionist was lovely (I can't fault the staff) and gave us directions to our room. After a confused wrong turn or two we found it, in a lovely location on top of a hill near a gorgeous lake, with the sun setting. After unloading bags parking was an issue, but I appreciate when this hotel was built cars weren't so commonplace. They also offer free valet parking but I'm not a fan of having everything done for me, so i found a parking spot a minute or two walk away. Keen to explore the area in the setting sun, I made my way down to the lake to find the pathways closed off because of mothering Elk. This wasn't an issue as I'd rather skip a short stroll and put up with the fleeting disappointment than be mauled by psychotic maternal Elk. Making my way back to the room, it was fairly dark and dingy, with an odd smell of talcum powder and something else. The room appeared clean but I couldn't shake the smell. Bathroom was old and needs an update (which is a recurring theme throughout the place) but the bed was comfortable. Sleep was nothing short of terrible. As someone else mentioned, a porch light was on all night, which shone through the pathetic net curtain over the door window, right into our faces all night. Hanging a couple of towels over the window was no use either. Wifi was $15, which is a joke considering what you get in other hotels. In summary, beautiful location (If you have a car) but very tired and needs an overhaul, save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Shortbread1015 - thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you experienced top notch service and enjoyed the beautiful views that surround us. However, we are sorry to hear that your room was not what you expected and that you had issues sleeping. We have passed your comments on to our Operations Team so they can investigate further and fix the problem with the light shining into the cabin (thank you for including photos of the exterior). As for WiFi, we do encourage our guests to sign up for the Fairmont Presidents Club which is free to join and offers many benefits including complimentary WiFi at all of our hotels and resorts. We hope to see you back again one day. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My extended family stayed in 2 rooms for one night while travelling through to Banff. We had to change our original reservation due to the road closures through Canmore, and subsequently were quoted a higher rate for the rooms when the booking was pushed out by a couple of days.
We arrived after 4pm after a long, long drive and our rooms were not ready. We were offered an upgrade (these rooms were also not ready) so that our rooms would adjoin and offer a lake view. This was not a free upgrade by any means but I thought it would help make it special since our plans had been turned upside down all week.

Weary, tired and with cranky (adult) kids in tow, we were offered complimentary beverages (cocktails), told to leave our cars, go have a drink and they would bring us our keys. Although the view from the outdoor patio is beautiful, when you are grimy from travelling and wanting to freshen up, it wasn't really what we were looking for. The drinks were just OK and everyone was getting impatient.

After about 20 minutes, I went back to the reception desk and waited in line again for about 10 minutes to get the rooms keys. First failed promise.

At check in, we had also asked about the sleeping arrangements as there were 4 in one room. Mom/Dad and adult daughter/son. We were looking for either a pull out sofa or a cot, to make the sleeping a little more comfortable. Housekeeping was called while I stood at the desk and confirmed there was a pullout couch in our room.

The rooms are spread throughout the resort in various types of buildings and configurations. We were in what I could best describe as a quad cabin. We were in 101 and my sister and her family were booked into 102.
When we entered the rooms, we found that we could adjoin with room 100 and room 103 but NOT 102. Minor inconvience, but one of several that could have been avoided. No chance to change rooms as the others were occupied.

So finally into the rooms and it's now about 5:30 - 6pm and we need to be fed. We wanted to watch a baseball game so were excited to see there was a pub in the hotel. Wrong - closed for the summer....If it's a seasonal establishment, it should be indicated in the hotel information that is in the rooms.
We headed into Jasper for dinner and were not disappointed. Found a great place (Jasper Brewing Company) and they put on the ball game for us! My sister & family decided that they would go canoeing on the lake (closed at 7pm/not complimentary) and meet us in town later.

When we returned from dinner it was after 9pm and we thought we would all go for a dip in the pool. By the time everyone got changed and to the pool it was about 9:30 and we found out the pool was only open until 10pm so we had very little time to enjoy the nice pool overlooking the lake.
So after our short swim, we did enjoy the rest of the evening sitting on the Muskoka chairs at the lake and watching the stars!

Bed time arrives and we go to pull out the couch - except it's not a pull out. Call the front desk again, they send over a cot in a reasonable timeframe.

So next morning - we ask for a later check out and can keep one room until 2pm which was decent. So next morning, grab some breakfast, go for a walk etc and return to our rooms to shower etc. My sister's room has no power in the bathroom. Maintenance comes and fixes something and gets them lights temporarily.
When we prepared to take our showers, we find that there is no hot water. I call the front desk and they tell us that there is a unforseen problem (there was construction in the sidewalk fairly close to our room so likely a pipe was damaged there). So now we have to trek over to the main lodge with our toiletries etc to take showers at the pool locker rooms.

By this time it's almost noon and so we just pack up and go. We've been there for a total of about 20 hours and have had too many issues to make it a nice stay. I appreciate that some things are beyond the control of the resort, but I think that they also can appreciate that folks are paying hard earned money for a premium resort and when it falls short, they have to make adjustments - drinks don't cut it anymore and seem to be the "go to" solution when a guest is inconvenienced. I don't even drink alcohol so it's a bit useless to me.
I've still to follw up about my bill with the hotel as when I went back and checked my emails etc, it seems that they have overcharged me for the room.

Personally, I don't think it's worth the money to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello ctr040, thank you for sharing your comments. We understand the frustration you must have felt during your stay, and for that we sincerely apologize. It's disappointing to us that we were unable to make you comfortable after your long trek especially when your plans changed unexpectedly. We very much hope that we have a chance to welcome you back in the future and give you the high quality experience that we so strive for. Please reach out to us directly at jasperparklodge@fairmont.com about any billing issues you have and we will fix these right away. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.