We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice setting, staff are lovely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice setting, staff are lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

You pay a five star price and don't get me wrong the views and staff are five star but it was just missing something. We arrived at Jasper onboard the Canadian and saw a number of other passengers being collected by a van fromJasper Park Lodge, by the time we collected our bags the van had gone. Not to worry into a taxi for the short ride to the lodge. Upon arrival only one reservations officer was working so we were the last in line to be checked in, only a 10 minute wait so no issues. Found our room, very high bed and comfortable chairs, the bed tended to want to enshroud my husband and I and we woke numerous times to disentangle ourselves..got us giggling at least. But too soft was the bed. Breakfast was very good, how many times have you just wanted toast and had to pay at least 19 dollars for the privilege well the fairmont has a separate menu so you can elect to just have toast or egg or porridge and at a fair price, so thank you. The bar area with the piano player is very comfortable and very relaxing. So why only a three star and not a four star, well mainly because of the room and check in time as well as those subtle extras that you get as a matter of course at all the other fairmont hotels. I will come back in summer I think just to see the difference.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you african_aussie for your comments. Looks like you came a long way to visit us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer and encourage you to contact us through our social media channels via Facebook/FairmontJasperPark Lodge or Twitter/@FairmontJPL to let us know when you're coming. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    441
    395
    303
    151
See reviews for
490
878
41
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arranged a small wedding here in January during January on Jasper and I have to say Regine from the hotel did the most amazing job, nothing missed, everything so perfect without a flaw. The food was amazing and the service at the dinner 2nd to none. I hadn't been for year but the setting is so beautiful and frankly you are apaered in everyway. The people were so friendly. A great place for a family - you can even take your dog!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Debbiekeat. First off, congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing to spend your special day with us. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. An anniversary retreat perhaps? Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Jasper Park Lodge, we stayed here two years ago and had such a great time that upon coming back to Jasper we just had to check in here again. On both times we have stayed here we have stayed in room 467, the Athabasca cabin (Honeymoon cottage) It is a wonderful cabin, a fireplace, jet bath (big enough for two!) and the biggest bed you have ever seen.

I was really saddened to learn that the resort had received some bad reviews of late, this place really deserves more. The staff are amazing and will cater your every need. It's true to say that some of the park has lost it's fairmont charm and is more shabby chic but I personally think it adds to the charm.

It doesn't matter where your cabin is, the concierge team will come and collect you and take you to the main lodge and back again after, it's all complimentary.
Dont listen to all of the bad reviews on this site and give it a go, it's definitely worth a try!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
AdamCronin – We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us again at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge! The Honeymoon Cabin is definitely a great spot - nice and cozy right next to the Athabasca River. We look forward to seeing you again soon - please let us know when you’re returning on Facebook /FairmontJasperParkLodge or Twitter @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you back! Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Jasper Park Lodge is a Canadian institution. There's the Rockies, then there's Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. Only, don't come on a Monday in February. On a Monday in February, FJPL is dead. Dead and boring. This can or can't be helped. The crowds (and tips) descent on Thursday thru Saturday. However, this is a Canadian institution and has a reputation to live up to. And it's a Fairmont hotel. So - that's double the expectation.

I arrived with my husband and parents in-law on a Monday in February in time for a later lunch. Our waiter had no one else to serve so the failure to take my FIL's entree order was inattentive. MY FIL had to first watch us eat our entree then we had to watch him eat his. No offer was made to pepper our food. My husband called the waiter at one point. He turned, looked at my husband walked on towards the bar. Our suite, Room 514, had a pull out bed that sagged terribly in the middle so we asked for a cot which we had to make up ourselves. It made for a terribly cramped suite as my parents in law had the main bedroom and we had the pull out bed and cot in the living room. There was no garbage bin in the living room and the back of the bathroom door had dark finger prints on it. The round table in living room was dusty and the chairs in the restaurant had not been dusted in ages. MY MIL kept commenting on that and how the place should be better maintained given it was so not busy. The bathrooms off the restaurant were not very clean. The top lock on our suite door did not lock so we only had one lock work, leading to safety and security concerns. Similarly, the window in our room was not properly secured when we checked in and the cleaning products are not allergen free, as I discovered to my chagrin.

Room Tip: You can hear everything from the suites next door in the Fairmont President's Club Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello NannaCar, thank you for your review. We're so sorry to hear that your mid-week stay was not up to our standards and sincerely apologize that you weren't given the attention that we strive to give to all of our guests. I will be sure to forward your comments on to our Food & Beverage and Rooms teams, and we hope that you are able to come back again and experience our property the way it should be. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

You would be hard pressed to find more beautiful scenery than the property surrounding Jasper Park Lodge. The scenery is spectacular - mountains, lakes, trees, and a big black sky at night for star gazing. The main lodge is gorgeous and provides what one would expect from a Fairmont property - oversize fireplace, comfortable seating with seats arranged to optimize the gorgeous view. Attentive staff, pianist in the evening, and delicious food.

For those adventurous, the Rocky Mountains and all they have to offer surround you. For those who are less adventurous, the path between cabins is clear of snow and offer gorgeous views of the lakes and mountains. The outdoor pool is always open, even in February. If you are even less adventurous than that, there is a spa to pamper you.

The rooms, however, are a lot of years past their sell-by date. We had a "deluxe" room, which is a step above the basic Fairmont room level. The best part was the Keurig coffee maker, and separate kettle and tea pot for tea making. The rest, very disappointing. Dirty wall paper, paint peeling on bath, tiles cracked in washroom (floor was heated, THAT was nice). Carpet was worn, linens not the usual Fairmont buttery-smooth, furniture stained, dust bunnies on the ceiling, and a thermostat face plate removed. The room was not pleasing and had an ick factor that I would never expect from a Fairmont property - a road side motel yes. Not at all even close to what we'd expect for the $240 a night that we signed up for (after a $9.00 Alberta resident reduction). To be fair, I called the front desk to share my thoughts, and a remedy was quickly offered. As it was late, there were no rooms to move to, and was advised that even if we could be moved, there was no promise of improvement. Our rate was reduced which offered some satisfaction, but we still paid far more than the room is worth.

We were encouraged to hear that this property has been earmarked for $30 million in upgrades, starting the Fall of 2013. Not a moment too soon.

For the scenery, the food, the service, and the amenities of the main lodge, stay here. But if you are looking for clean, luxurious rooms to sleep in we recommend you look elsewhere - or wait until the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Unless you dish out huge bucks for an unobstructive view of the lake, you would be better to save yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you Walshcooks, for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and your feedback is extremely valuable to us. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and service you received, we are disappointed to read about the challenges you experienced with your room. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate areas and we truly hope we are able to welcome you back again. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Jasper Park Lodge never fails to deliver. The main lodge offers a rustic atmosphere with great food and drink - and shopping. Rooms range from basic (but warmly finished in wood paneling) to spacious (with a price range to match. The outdoor pool, skating oval on the lake, and nearby cross-country ski trails were enjoyable and very well managed and maintained. THe wireless internet connection was a little dodgy at times, but that's not the reason you go.

Room Tip: They are seldom full. Ask for a room that looks out on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Response: Hi Happy_Campers_88 – We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. It’s always great to get back to nature every once in a while! Let us know when you’re coming back through Facebook /FairmontJasperParkLodge or Twitter @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you back. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I went away for a weekend getaway, we had a great time. The scenery can't be beat, our room was spacious and very comfortable bed. We had a fireplace and called in to get more firewood and kindling. The gentleman asked to "set up" our fire, I said sure, it didn't light... Not enough kindling. We ate in the Emerald Lounge as it was included in our package, the food was great, and a good atmosphere, service was wanting at some points. But the food was great and portions were ample. Brunch in the dining room the next day was very good as well. Only drawback was it was very expensive, we used points for the package but had to pay for booze. $38/jug of draft...Ouch

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.