We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my family and I had stayed at the JPL for over 20 years. the attention to detail is excellent. They even allow dogs. Each visit we would come to our room and there would be bones sent from the kitchen awaiting.
It's a must do once in your life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Rosie6969, thank you for your review and for staying with us over the years. We love dogs here at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, and always do everything we can to make them feel right at home. They are, after all, part of the family! Looking forward to having you back again. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    457
    406
    307
    155
See reviews for
505
909
41
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The only good thing a out staying here was that I was with my beautiful wife. The room we stayed in was $550/night not too bad if they were nice rooms and not run down cabins with shotty heaters and old lighting. That only kinda worked sometimes. The staff are nice and helpful but that isn't enough to make up for the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, had a king suite with fireplace, the room was a good size but is dated. The railings on the outdoor deck were rotten beyond repair, amazing you pay that much for the room and the upkept is lacking so bad. Restaurants had great food and the views and pool were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My now husband and I got married here along with another couple. This well planned double wedding was a small affair that did not require anything extra from the Fairmont as we had done all the planning, including the food. For the first night, we were told "Stefanie" would be there to greet us and show us the rooms and layout. We had a cabin, the Heritage House booked as well as two suites just for us couples for privacy. The plan was all the "inlaws" could have the cabin for the first night, the newly weds in the suites and the remainder of the time we spent there we (the newly-weds would have the cabin). Upon arrival, they gave us the wrong cabin and once everyone was settled in, they informed us of the problem. So the mad rush was on to switch to the other cabin and prepare for the weddings. Once that was accomplished and we were all in our rooms, the other half of our double wedding figured out that they had also been given the wrong room and that some of the in laws and the children had been given their room. During the transition, someone had dropped the wedding dresses in one of the large potholes in the road and they were stained with dirt and mud. Not ideal for pictures I must say. If wedding day isnt stressful enough, this definately wasnt very helpful. Stefanie still was no where to be found after several attempts to contact her. She eventually got around to calling our room minutes prior to the wedding and seemed to be irritated that we needed anything from her. She stated it was their "Christmas in November" and she didnt have time for this. We were also pressed for time. Not very impressed. I can get by the bugs on the carpet and window ledges as well as the dank smell in the room(window open) but I cant get past the lack of customer service for the price we payed. Once we moved to the cabin for the rest of the celebration, it was our first time seeing it, I was shocked. We payed a pretty penny for this per night. It stunk like mold, the bedrooms were small and the tiny kitchen had an apartment size fridge. This was not the cabin we had seen in the pictures. The coffee maker didnt work and I am not kidding, had to be replaced 3 times before we got one that worked. It actually took them until the next afternoon to get one in there that worked. We asked for the garbage to be hauled away countless times and it still hadnt been taken away upon check out. We spoke to the manager and the illusive "Stefanie" prior to leaving and they saw nothing wrong with our stay. Again they both blamed "Christmas in November" and how busy they were. My suggestion....tell people prior to them attending that you are not going to be able to accomodate them because you are busy with other things. We even told them we would have had a better stay at the Super 8 Motel then we had there. All we got was an "I am sorry to hear that, hopefully your next stay will be better". Needless to say that another stay there was not going to happen.
Once my husband and I were back at our room, we lit a fire. We found 3 small logs for the fire place and nothing to start it with. We called to the front and they told us we could attend to the front desk and get newspaper and matches....Hmmmm, shoudnt this come with a room that has a fireplace???? We said that we were prepared for bed and we would like this brought to us. Over one half an hour later, there was a knock at the door and upon ansering found no one there but ONE piece of paper crumpled into a ball. We borrowed a lighter from one of the neighboring rooms and burned our 3 small logs. First thing in the morning we asked for more wood and were told that the staff were busy and it would take a while. About 2 hours later we again received a knock at the door to find no one there. Instead there was a rolled up newspaper. I assume this it what they consider firewood now. The only thing that was wonderful about the lodgings for the night was the bathroom. It was new and spacious. We did have to wait to fill the tub for the hot water to come back on but if you are patient it will come.
For the billing....That was the most embarrassing part. We had family from California to Ireland. Every single one of our guests said that they were over billed. I was standing in the lobby when one of our guests questioned the billing. He showed them a confirmation email that he was smart enough to have printed off and they still refused to honor it. He was told that the rate in the email was mis quoted from "out of season" even though the dates were clearly stated in the confirmation. We could not wait to leave and never come back out of emarrassment alone.
After reading the reviews from this site, we decided that we should add our experience. I have noticed that what few responses that are made in defense to the complaints, they seem disngenuous and carbon copied. As my husband and I spoke to management directly, this seems to be the standard. One of the responses even references an email sent after a couple had left the lodging. I am sorry but customer service is sooo important and doing this is seriously appalling!
The unfortunate thing is that my husband and I can not return to the place that we got married as it has such bad memories of our actual marriage. We chose this location due to the reputation of the Fairmont and we have to find another place to go to anually to celebrate our joining. Repeat business is really not the goal for this location, unless you want to spend the entire time in a cold bathtub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Kory12345 - thank you for your review. Please accept our apology for the delay in response - we have been looking into your comments trying to find more information. Unfortunately, because we don't have your name or stay dates, we are unable to find anything. Please contact us directly at jasperparklodge@fairmont.com so we may investigate your comments further and hopefully resolve the issues you had. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We loved our visit at the lodge. The views surrounding the lodge are gorgeous. We were upgraded to a suite with a fireplace which was nice since it started to get cold at night. The rooms were nice but a little dated. We enjoyed our dinner at Cavell's and our lunch and drinks at the Emerald Lounge. We loved the environment in the lodge area. The food was very good. We went into town one night, but no advantage over staying at the lodge and eating. There are plenty things to do around the lodge. My only negative would be the lodge is a little pricey compared to othe Fairmonts that we have stayed, but we really enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was fantastic! The facility was top notch, the room was spacious, pool was great, Elk and Grizzly bears were right outside. Service was incredible from front desk staff, to valet, to restaurants. Only tiny complaint would be the small, old tube TV in the room but we didn't come to Jasper to watch TV so that wasn't a big deal to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My first stay was about 18 months ago and the room was was quite rustic as previously mentioned in other reviews, BUT this stay was a cabin close to the "outlook" area and I was gobsmaked! Fireplace and LCD TV...little patio and great to sit outside for a beverage. I am mobility challenged BUT again the JPL came through by offering "pick up" service. Awesome views and ambience. What a great weekend retreat! Thank you JPL and you really impressed a friend from Ontario!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you 10sAce52 for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic weekend with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.