We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for one person!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for one person!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here on a train layover and it was great. The staff was friendly, the room clean , the bed was very comfy, and it's location is amazing! The room was small but for one or two people it's ideal. I got a king room with spa tub and mountain views which did face the train tracks but it wasn't a problem for me. I will defiantly
be staying here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    54
    30
    45
See reviews for
30
81
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night and cannot really fault the hotel. Asides from the tiny shower that I had to crouch to fit under (I'm 5ft11), the room was fine. If you are coming to Jasper to spend a long time in your bedroom, then you're here for the wrong reasons! The location is great and the staff at the desk were very friendly and helped us with a couple of issues which we had. The hotel is attached to a bar which is great for a short and warm walk home at the end of the day. We didn't try breakfast at the place as we wanted to try out other places in Jasper. If I was to come back to Jasper, I would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I'm not very picky when it comes to hotels, I mean, it's a place to sleep, but wow. The bathroom was terrible, no sink, the sink is beside the bed...The door didn't lock properly, and thermometer was hidden. The bed was okay, but basic cable and you can hear right through the walls. You get what you pay for, but we will not be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Ok yes the rooms are small ... I have to say though that if you need a place to stay for the night (or several) at a reasonable cost, this is the place for Jasper. The rooms were very clean and the staff were amazing and extremely helpful and hospitable. I have stayed there 3 times now and the last two times were with my son(s). We were mountain biking locally and in Kamloops. The great thing about this place for people with outdoor gear is that there is a lock-up in the basement. I stored our bikes there and slept well knowing that I didn't have to worry about them being stolen out from my truck. They even helped my son out with advice on how to find work for the summer in Jasper. They went above an beyond. Bottom line - if you want an inexpensive room in Jasper that is clean and to be greeted by friendly, helpful staff, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Loved this charming little hotel. One of the older hotels that has all the old charm of Jasper.
The staff where incredible. So friendly and helpful. A big shout out to Blair and Ricco. The rooms are clean, small but have what you need. Free Wifi. The king size bed was so comfortable. Centrally located downtown so we could walk everywhere. Free parking just across the street. Ski rentals just next door if you need them.
Great pub, de'd dog with lots of TVs for sports and on some nights they have local talent. Although we did not eat the food looked really good.
We did however have breakfast at the restaurant just to the left of the hotel, great coffee and breakfast. Great prices too. Only 6.95 for 2 eggs, bacon, hash-browns and toast. Staff very friendly and efficient.
My husband and I will be back and will stay at the Astoria hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good for the money, rooms with dated decor and furniture but clean, bathroom small with awkward sink in the room actually not in the bathroom. Friendly and helpful personnel, helped with all questions we had about Jasper and area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Admittedly, the decor is very 1980's, the bathrooms are small and the hotel needs a few updates. However, the price is right, especially amid the high priced selections in Jasper. If you are looking for a clean place to rest your head with friendly staff it is perfect. There was a fantastic place to have a pint before bed, the De'd Dog Bar and Grill, and a great place for breakfast, Papa George's. The two establishments book-end the Astoria with adjoining doors so you don't even have to go outside (which was nice in -34 weather). Also great was that you can park right in front if you are only staying the night because the 2 hour only parking goes into effect at 9 am and checkout is 11 am. It looked popular with the ski crowd and empties out fairly early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is an historic Jasper hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies since 1925. This small hotel features Jasper National Park lodging with character and charm. Perfect for a Canadian Rockies vacation, the Astoria Hotel features an excellent restaurant, as well as a lively pub. At The De'd Dog bar&grill, you can find a wide selection of domestic and imported refreshments, all in lively atmosphere. A great place to watch sports or ski & bike videos. No matter what time of year you choose to stay at our Jasper hotel, you will be able to truly enjoy everything the Canadian Rockies has to offer. In winter, skiing, snowboarding, and ice climbing are all popular activities. In the summer months, the Canadian Rockies provide excellent opportunities for fishing, hiking, mountain biking, and much more. Built for a different traveler in its day, the Astoria offers a quaint abode with rooms situated on the second floor. Although there is no elevator, our staircase is short and manageable for everyone. In our classic setting, you will find that our beds will be comfortable. We have many return guests week after week, month after month, and so on. For your next Jasper vacation, stay with us at the Astoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.