We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - nice experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Overall - nice experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The room was crowded for two people. I guess we were a bit spoiled from our previous hotel in Harvie Heights - Banff Boundary Lodge is so much bigger and cheaper than this place. On a positive note, the staff were frienldy. It is close to restaurants and other attractions in Jasper.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    57
    30
    48
See reviews for
31
87
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed one night at this tiny hotel in Jasper National Park just a few days ago and were very happy with it! Jasper is a tightly packed town and this hotel fits neatly into one of the main streets. My traveling daughter says that European charm means "small rooms"; indeed, the room was small but clean and the beds very comfortable. We had two twin beds, all that was left when we called, and it was just fine. The shower was adequate and there was a coffee maker in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a good restaurant right next door that we tried and many more within walking distance. This little place will make you feel like a local right away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found our room to be comfortable and clean with all the necessities. It was compact but for the two of us, that was fine! It was conveniently located right in the town centre with a nice pub and restaurant right next door. This hotel was cheaper than others in town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I think this was one of my worst hotel experiences. Room was small and cramped, double bed was 2 singles pushed together, fridge rumbled in the middle of the night had to wrestle it out of the unit to unplug it. Could not open curtains as the window looks directly into another room, no nets. Rips in carpet held together with duct tape. Sink in the bedroom and toilet to small to move in, bathroom dirty, lobby smelt of meat. noise from corridor and neighbouring rooms. Light bulb in room not working. Truly dreadful hotel that smacks of a hotel that gets busy as it is in a popular destination so doesn't need to make any effort. Complained in the morning, staff member told me 'he thought the hotel was OK and didn't see the problem" - didn't care less, couldn't even manage an apology. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTORIAJASPER, Owner at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The bathrooms are small because they were built into a room that originally did not have a bathroom. The sink is outside the toilet/shower unit to make efficient use of space and so a guest can use the sink while another is in the toilet or shower.
The two single beds connected is a common European concept and they are joined by a zipper under the pillow-top, they cost $3800 each and are high quality beds. They are configured like this so we can offer two single beds or a king in the same room.
The rooms have small guest fridges that shudder briefly when the compressor cuts off. The hall carpet is scheduled for replacement and the worn seams are taped for safety.
The lobby definitely does not smell like meat! May have been something from the restaurant but momentary and should not have been a permanent accusation.
It is an old historical hotel and it is not unusual to have some noise from the halls but the rooms are reasonably well insulated.
The Astoria is one of the least expensive hotels in Jasper and priced appropriately in respect to the standard of accommodation of other hotels in the area. We are proud of the quality of our housekeeping and the rooms are not dirty!
George Andrew - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is in the centre of Jasper, close to shops, bars and restaurant. Parking is opposite the road, but you can park for loading/unloading for about 15 minutes in front of the hotel. The rooms are small and outdates as is the whole hotel. But its location and price compensate for this. Staff is friendly. A restaurant is associated with the hotel which also serves breakfast. Close to all local shops and restaurants. The hotel is noisy and very warm when we stayed here. You have a small airco unit in your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I agree with many others mentioned here... the hotel is old. But I guess we really paid for the location! There are many nice bakeries and restaurants nearby. The tourist centre is right next to the hotel. We had a 2 twin beds room but I hoped they would give me a queen bed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

old is ok ,dirty is not ,location is perfect , restaurant is excellent ,taking a shower is impossible do to extreme fluctuations in water temps ,torn couch pillows bed skirt ,hallway carpets torn ,lots of room to room noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#13 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is an historic Jasper hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies since 1925. This small hotel features Jasper National Park lodging with character and charm. Perfect for a Canadian Rockies vacation, the Astoria Hotel features an excellent restaurant, as well as a lively pub. At The De'd Dog bar&grill, you can find a wide selection of domestic and imported refreshments, all in lively atmosphere. A great place to watch sports or ski & bike videos. No matter what time of year you choose to stay at our Jasper hotel, you will be able to truly enjoy everything the Canadian Rockies has to offer. In winter, skiing, snowboarding, and ice climbing are all popular activities. In the summer months, the Canadian Rockies provide excellent opportunities for fishing, hiking, mountain biking, and much more. Built for a different traveler in its day, the Astoria offers a quaint abode with rooms situated on the second floor. Although there is no elevator, our staircase is short and manageable for everyone. In our classic setting, you will find that our beds will be comfortable. We have many return guests week after week, month after month, and so on. For your next Jasper vacation, stay with us at the Astoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.