We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Lodge

Save Saved
You added Amethyst Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amethyst Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Connaught Dr, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 hotels in Jasper
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tired but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The main reason for staying here was because we were traveling with a little dog. The place was rather old and tired looking but it was satisfactory for our purposes. Probably wouldn't stay here again without a dog, but it was OK.

Room Tip: Good place if you have a pet with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    49
    38
    25
See reviews for
26
70
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This accommodation was included in a Trans-Rockies coach trip arranged by Key West Travel & Tours. It was the last drop-off on the route around town and the accommodation appearances were getting worse as time went on. We did pass some great looking hotels in Jasper but our hearts dropped a bit when the driver called out our names. However, inside is not as bad as it looks from outside but its a basic 1950's style North American motel. Rooms sizes are OK but its all a bit tired and faded.
Our room faced the road and railway which runs parallel. When we were there, Canadian Pacific workers were on strike so it may have been quieter than normal, but there were a few trains running and they were long and noisy !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Aug 26/12. This hotel is in the ideal location - main street in Jasper, awesome view of mountains. Problem was the seal was broken in the window and the window was a mess, so much for the awesome view from room. The hotel was very old and the room showed it. No microwave, no fridge, there was an ice bucket in room but no ice available, no vending machines. For one night I could easily have done without these perks if the price of the room was half decent, you get what you pay for right??? There was no senior discount, no AMA discount - we paid $220/night - with taxes the room came to $244.42 - bit much don't you think? Next time I go through the Rocky Mountains, I will make it a point not stay there .

Room Tip: When travelling, ask to see the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We agree with Coldtoez, whose wife remarked "They don't try very hard in Jasper." And they don't have to with a captive audience. This place needs an overhaul. The A/C appears to have been non-functioning for over a month. Flickering lights and fuse blowing brought an unsolicited repairman but he appeared to be clueless as to how to fix. Loud party down the hall - could hear everything through paper thin walls. The decor is tired and dingy. We were given a "deal" - instead of $225 we could pay $183. We paid the same in Banff for a Best Western Plus that was totally updated. If we return to Jasper, we'd definitely not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We walked in from the street and booked a room for the night.Mosr other Hotels were booked out.
For the price, you dont get much.Like others have said,'Its just a Motel' Asking over $200/night for this standard of room is not fair
That could be why the Vacancy sign was still out!

.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

As a place to sleep goes, it was clean and relatively comfortable. As my wife said, "They don't try very hard in Jasper, do they?" And they don't - the hotel (or like someone else said - really it is a motel) needs updating. The trains across the street were noisy most of the night, and interrupted sleep because you had to have the window open to keep the window open to keep the room cool-ish.

We lucked into parking when we first arrived, and then couldn't move the car again because every other spot was full.

Buffet in the restaurant was overpriced and uninspired. Next time I would walk down the street to one of the restaurants on the strip that was offering a standard breakfast for half what the buffet cost.

Oh, and some sites have pictures of a pool with this property - don't be fooled. The pool is a picture from their "sister" hotel, several blocks away. This unit had no pool - although it did have a pair of hot tubs.

The only upside - it was very close to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The check in was good and staff pleasant but this is a two star motel, we literally just slept there. I think I have given it2 stars because we actually stayed in worse places through our fly drive holiday! Location is good, apart from the train track...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Lodge

Address: 200 Connaught Dr, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amethyst Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Amethyst Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Hotel Jasper
Amethyst Lodge Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.