We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wapiti Campground

Wapiti Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wapiti Campground
Save
You added Wapiti Campground to your Saves list
3.8 km from Jasper on Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Manitou Springs CO
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice place to camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We spent three nights here while visiting Jasper National Park. We camped right by the creek so it was quiet. It is a very large campground and it was busy on the weekend. The road is near but if you camp by the creek you don't hear the road noise.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We arrived to our campsite after dark, but before the 11PM fire curfew. It was nice having a pile of firewood waiting for us at our site! The bathhouse was not far and was as clean as one would expect at a campsite. We didn't get to enjoy the views until the morning, but we camped right next to the Athabasca River and had a very nice view of it. I only learned the day before we visited that Wapiti meant elk and the name did not lie. We saw about 4 on our way out of the campground!

Room Tip: The website to book campsites online includes pictures of the sites to help you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My wife and I tented at the Wapiti Campground for three nights in August 2014. We used this campground as a jumping off point for day hiking in the Jasper area.

The campsites are slightly wooded, but more open than you might expect in the area. However, the Jasper area isn’t nearly as busy as its neighbor to the south in Banff. So, it’s likely the campground isn’t quite as busy either.

The washrooms were satisfactory for camping however, they were dirtied pretty quickly and from the best of our knowledge, only cleaned and restocked once a day. The one nice perk is that there was an outdoor wash basin for your dishes.

The shower room was large, but like other campgrounds in the national parks – the only one on site, so plan your shower times appropriately to avoid the crowds.

There’s a large wood pile near the front of the park that requires you to buy a daily permit, but you can burn as much as you want.

Overall, the campground was adequate for tent camping, very convenient to downtown Jasper and within 30-40 minutes by car (60 minutes if you want to drive slow and enjoy the scenery) of all the major sites in the Jasper area.

Room Tip: Chose a site near the corner of the loops and you'll get a little more room. By loop R, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Real pleasure to spend some days here. The Wapitis really walk around in the evening, fires allowed, wood for free with a nice fire pit. Great place from where to visit Jasper and surroundings.
Bathrooms relatively clean, sani dump for free on the site.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Love, love, love this campground!! Was there second week in July 2014 but reserved my campsite online back in May. Campsite was quite large, private and sat on top of a cliff overlooking the Athabasca River. HEAVEN! Had only booked for 2 nights but decided to stay another 2. Couldn't get the same campsite again so stayed in 2 others, each in a different section of the campground. One, again, sat on cliff above and overlooking the Athabasca River and the other was beside a beautiful, fast-flowing creek where the Elk wandered through daily. All sites I stayed in were quite private, large and amazingly scenic. There are also excellent walking/biking trails throughout the campground and beyond.

Each section of the campground has its' own 'bathroom house' with flush toilets, hot & cold running water in sinks and a large outdoor dishwashing sink/station. There is one large 'shower house' for the whole campground with free hot showers. I never had to wait for a shower and the shower house was always clean. Excellent facilities.

Loved the location - close to town, lakes, hiking trails, etc. - and super nice staff!!! Can't wait to go back again next summer!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Although we had not booked we managed to get a powered walk in site in the car parking area. After touring Canada and staying on expensive crowded city sites this was not an issue to us at this point, just be prepared to be close to your neighbours.
The staff we found to be professional and friendly unlike the Lake Louise wardens who need sending on a customer training course.
However, the toilet and shower facilities are very good, although it was a first for me to have to brush my teeth in hot water. Uck... Why no cold water. ...?
Also remember to take your own sink plug.
Enjoy Jasper as we did so much.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights this July. The site was nice, nothing fancy but had elk come through our site almost everyday! Biking/walking trails are nice.
Tips:
- Look at the site online before booking. We drive around and glad we looked at our site. We have a 24' 5th wheel and there were sites that it would of been very difficult to back in.
- Find a site close to the River. It will help cool your camper off later in the day, especially when it got to be 36C highs.
- Take shoes for the camp showers (a given)
- My brother and his family stayed at Whistlers, we visited over there a few times and it was sardines. Way, way too many sites in there. We found that their campground was riddled with bugs. We left our door wide open no problem! Barely any bugs!

Now for the 'unsatisfactory'
- Allowed generator run times, 8-9am and 5-7pm. Is stupid when it's 32+ degrees out. I felt sorry for those with babies and elderly. We ran ours during the allotted times just to have the AC running a little bit to cool it off. Sometimes we ran it later with no complaints as the battery wasn't charged enough to let the AC run.
- Showers are gross, closed for cleaning from 2:30-3 pm. Shower then if you can. Not a staff issue, but a patron issue.
- firewood is free! Do not bring your own wood in.

Tips:
- bring shoes for the showers
- pick a site by the River to help keep cool
- fire permits are sold on day-day basis.
- keep a camera handy for the wildlife
- keep your site 'bare' do not leave food, food scraps, food appliances (BBQ/toaster/etc) out. Do not leave garbage or recyclables out. The warden/a does drive around and will confiscate anything that can attract bears.
- take comfy walking/hiking shoes with you everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wapiti Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Campground

Address: 3.8 km from Jasper on Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shore of the Athabasca River, Wapiti campground has nice private sites for tenting and electrical hook up spots for RVs. However, what makes Wapiti unique is that it operates year-round, offering 362 sites in the summer, and 93 winter camping spots with amenities like hot showers, electricity and fire rings. Wapiti is a great campsite for family outings at any time of year. It’s close to town for supply runs or rainy day movies, and in the winter campers often get first crack at the slopes and cross country trails (because to really appreciate a campfire, you have to use it to thaw your ski boots!) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wapiti Campground Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wapiti Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.