We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute title” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moose's Nook Northern Grill

The Moose's Nook Northern Grill
1 Old Lodge Rd | Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta AB T0E 1E0, Canada
+1 780-852-6052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 79 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $99
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our heritage is nowhere more evident than in The Moose's Nook's rustic style. Featuring Canadian art from Mountain Galleries, a large, stone fireplace, and unsurpassed hospitality, it is the perfect place for an authentic Canadian experience. The Moose's Nook features only the best cuts of locally raised Albertan meats and farm grown produce. An outstanding wine selection will round up your Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience.
Glengarry, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute title”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Excellent food, staff are very attentive, atmosphere is pleasant. Had breakfast in the nook each morning and great choices of dishes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing but what we've come to expect from Moose's Nook”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Disappointing but what we've come to expect from Moose's Nook

We've stayed at JPL several times and love it. On prior trips we've however been left disappointed by the dinner menus in the restaurants, particularly the Moose's Nook. As such we normally settle for room service which has a much better selection of meals with prompt and better service!

This stay included our 20th wedding anniversary and we'd booked on the romance package which included dinner here. Our table was pre-booked when the package was booked (so several months in advance) but on arrival there was no sign of our booking. The restaurant was however quiet and we were able to get a table.

As we knew it would be, there was a very limited choice of vegetarian meals. Initially the Caesar Salad was asked as a starter but it turns out the dressing is pre-made with anchovies so was not suitable.

There were no vegetarian options for the main and we asked to order from the room service menu but were told that this was not possible. After some debate we were advised that the chef would put something together (vegetarian curry). The meat meal then arrived but we were told that the vegetarian curry would be delayed as it was being made in another kitchen. By this time my wife had left the table crying/upset.

The duty manager had been over several times but then seemed to avoid us. She eventually did come over to apologise and offered to "comp" our meal. Advising that it was pre-booked, being part of the room package, she then said she would comp our drinks - this amounted to 1 drink as the main drinks had been ordered before entering at the bar!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Was it outstanding? No. However, it is a lovely restaurant with very good food, excellent service and we enjoyed ourselves very much. We found the ribeye and trout both a little boring. The potato leek and scallop soup was excellent, as was the vegetable succotash, and sticky toffee pudding. Good wine and cocktails. Katrina was our excellent server.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice grill steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Quite pricey but good food and service. Very nice local wines. Booking recommended. No windows so no views.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Bison Ever plus Piano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Tried bison for the first time; it was excellent. So were the side dishes. Kudos to Alex our server who was very personable, efficient, and knowledgable about the menu.
Also kudos to Morley Fleming who played piano requests throughout the meal which made for a
very special memory to take home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moose's Nook Northern Grill also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Moose's Nook Northern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moose's Nook Northern Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.