We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moose's Nook Northern Grill

The Moose's Nook Northern Grill
1 Old Lodge Rd | Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta AB T0E 1E0, Canada
+1 780-852-6052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 77 Restaurants in Jasper
Price range: $22 - $103
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our heritage is nowhere more evident than in The Moose's Nook's rustic style. Featuring Canadian art from Mountain Galleries, a large, stone fireplace, and unsurpassed hospitality, it is the perfect place for an authentic Canadian experience. The Moose's Nook features only the best cuts of locally raised Albertan meats and farm grown produce. An outstanding wine selection will round up your Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience.
Ft Worth
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Enjoyed the meal and wine but the prices were outside my pay grade. Service was excellent and quality as well. Glass of wine at $2 for 2 oz. is more than I can handle. In Texas we can eat 3 bottles for. $10.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monte Sereno, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great setting and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This spot in the Jasper Park Lodge is set in a rustic lodge, tastefully done and charming. The Caesar salad is fantastic, while the beef tenderloin could be better. The mushroom ragout on the dish is delicious, but the beef, ordered medium, came well done. For dessert, the chocolate moose was good, nothing special, and the hot chocolate was not good at all. Our waitress, Emma, was exceptional; a real pleasure. The live piano player was a treat, including his asking, table by table, for any selections we preferred. A nice touch. Overall, the atmosphere and service makes this spot a recommended restaurant, now the food just needs more consistency.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Regional Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were 4 couples on a golf trip. Moose's Nook was our best dinner. There is something for everyone. I love game, and found the venison to be outstanding. My husband loved the char, and the salads were very popular at our table. The atmosphere is first rate. The pianist takes requests, and he adds a lot to the overall experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We used this as our breakfast point. Seating was a little slow but otherwise table service was good with juice and coffee and egg station delivery.

The buffet was standard and of good quality, without the range being extensive. Egg station was a little slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Looks can be deceiving and when we booked the Nook I thought it would just be average fare. Not so! Our group of 6 each ordered different entrees and mains and each one was delicious. We all raved about the taste and presentation of each. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful and was very attentive. Desserts were something else too. For me, the Nook served the best meals I tasted anywhere on our holiday through Canada. We asked our waitress to pass on our appreciation to the chef. Relaxing atmosphere, easy to have a conversation with companions and the piano player was excellent too. Perfect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moose's Nook Northern Grill also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Moose's Nook Northern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moose's Nook Northern Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.