We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, we'd stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Jasper

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Jasper to your Saves list
HI-Jasper
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great, we'd stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Check in was fast which was great as we arrived late after a long drive from Whistler.

All linen/pillows are provided (as with HI Whistler, Banff & Penticton that I know of and probably more but not all) and they prefer you don't bring sleeping bags/pillows. I went to scrounge for some towels for us as other HI's say they also provide these (as did this one). It had been busy though and there were only a few small one's left - that's ok though, does the job.

This is really a lovely hostel. It's a few km's out of town which is the draw card for us in the scenic mountain foothills. There are some great walks from here as well.

The kitchen and common dining and lounge area are all big areas and aside from only the 1 toaster which is temperamental at best, we have no complaints!

The bathroom is cleaned well by whoever does it which is nice as it's not always the case with hostels!! Our room (we are a couple so booked a private room) also felt very clean so the staff really do have pride in their work. The staff are all lovely too and there is a very cool little fish on the reception desk that you'll meet at check in. The dorm rooms are interesting as they must have a dozen bunks in each for both the female and male/coed rooms. There is a really good mix of ages here - we are in our 30's and are not the oldest here by far! That's great I think and there is a friendly vibe here too.

I'd recommend you have your own hire car if you're staying here as the best bits of Jasper are really out and about and you need a car - or a lot of time to explore on foot, some of what this area has to cover. The area is vast so it's nice to be able to drive to the different walks then spend a few hours on the walk.

Bear Paws Bakery in town is fantastic. It's not on the main drag (although there is a brilliant similar sounding cafe) but just off it - you'll see it. Drink at the De'd Dog Inn on the main drag, great staff and interesting beers and a few tv's on the sports channels.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    21
    20
    10
See reviews for
6
19
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Stayed for one night last week. Enjoyed my stay as bedding satisfactory and bathroom clean. Was not crowded as 'off peak' season. Not sure how this place would be in the height of the ski season.....think there would be a line up for the bathroom and showers however for the price I don't think you could complain. Hostel was warm....a definite bonus as a bit chilly outside. Nice big open fire in the lounge area and big windows to see the scenery.
I stayed in the dorm, there are private rooms available.
I would stay here again and I would recommend it to my friends.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Note that this hostel is a few kilometres out of town however it did not bother me as I had a car. There is a shuttle to pick you up and drop you off in Jasper.

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

We went to see if the hostel had any private rooms available. They did not (on that day). We are Hostelling International members, and, to be honest, were not impressed with the little we experienced at the front desk. The guy there made some comment about the female he just spoke with on the phone (inner part of her clothing). We were not impressed and made me feel uncomfortable. He said they had a mixed dorm behind the desk with beds available, but that was it. The place was old, dishevelled, and isolated away from Jasper itself. As lifetime Hostelling Hnternational members, we were not impressed with what we saw. The bedsheet strewn across the front desk made my skin crawl.

We hear they may be building a new hostel in Jasper itself. We'll check it out when this happens.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I travelled up to the HI Jasper after spending time in HI hostels in British Columbia, Banff and Lake Louise and was surprised at the difference in quality in Jasper. In the female dorm the beds are squashed together with hardly any space between beds, any bed you were on you could reach out and touch the person next to you. There were only 3 ladies toilets and 3 ladies showers.

This is without a doubt the worst hostel I have stayed in. I moved to the HI Athabasca Falls after staying just one night, and even though it was a wilderness hostel with no running water it was much better than the HI Jasper.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Cramped accomodation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed here whilst touring Canada last year. We arrived for a four night stay having travelled up from HI Banff. We were very disappointed. We've stayed in quite a few YHA's between us in both Canada and Australia, without doubt this is the worst I've ever seen.

We had a "private" room which was unfortunately next to the main enterance, I say unfortunately as the curtains were ill fitting and completely see through! This gave everybody a good idea of what we were doing at any given moment!

We checked out after a night to find a B and B, I have to say the staff were fine and helpful, just a shame about the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2004

Hi, I loved my experience at the hostel. It was very cozy and had a community atmosphere to it. I really liked that it had a nice big fireplace and lots of room to lounge about. Having dishes and toaster and fridge and all that already there was a surprise to me and a defininte bonus. The best factor was it only cost $25 a night. I plan to go again in February and I will definatly stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Jasper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.