We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Jasper

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Jasper to your Saves list
HI-Jasper
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

My gf and I stayed here for four nights and what a great time we had! Below are my PRO's and cons of our stay:

Pros:
Staff were friendly and very helpful!

Kitchen and living area link works really well, very social!

Great views from the hostel

The rooms surpassed our expectations of a 40+ bed dorm, privacy is fine

A great positive, cool vibe about the place

Enjoyed the outdoor space for eating and chilling out
LOADS of helpful information everywhere! :).

I personally like the informative signs used throughout as they let you know 'what's what' straight away without having to ask

Very clean :)

Location was fine, it wasn't at from jasper but we had a car. Not great otherwise

Cons:
Our Beds (34 + 35) where lacking light to read - if was difficult to even find clothes and was a pain!

Female showers were poor, shower head not working, also no lock on the toilet doors!

Ended up buying our own coffee as we had to pay for it here, a little disappointing as other Hi Hostels offer either free breakfast or coffee - wasn't a major problem tho.


All in all this was an awesome stay, very happy and will be reccomending it!!



  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    21
    20
    10
See reviews for
6
19
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

It wasn't terrible to spend the night here but if you have other options go for it.

It's a ways out of town. The bunk beds are old and rickety. You could smell the woodsmoke in the dorms when you woke up and my friend and I developed a cough because of sleeping while breathing it in. The bathrooms are really cold and there were two out of three stalls in the women's bathroom out of service.
The kitchen has lots of stoves but is poorly designed so it's hard to fit with other people.

The good thing was that we were able to get a Maligne canyon ice walk tour combined with the dorm room for a discounted price.

Overall this hostel felt like it needed updating and was just getting by because there aren't many affordable options for places to stay in Jasper.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Staying at this particular HI hostel was like staying in an orphanage or refugee camp.

Cons;
- biggest issue was the rooms. There is one female dorm which sleeps up to 30 people. And one mixed dorm which sleeps up to 40! It's one big room, like a hall, with heaps of bunk beds. The photos they show on their website are misleading because there is no blocker (for privacy) between bunk beds at all. Having this many people in the one room, you can imagine what goes down, it's horrible. Don't expect sleep.

- '11pm lights out' and 'quite time' rule is not enforced by staff. The walls are paper thin, so you can hear people in lounge talking past midnight.

- the hostel is a longgggggggg way out of town if you don't have a car. over an hour walk to downtown. There is a shared taxi that comes every morning at 8.30am and another coming back to the hostel at 5.30am - so you really need to be in downtown jasper area for the solid day. I'm told a taxi is almost $20 one way.

- didn't find staff to be overly welcoming and friendly. Honestly seemed like one particular girl (dark brown hair, from the UK?) hated her job with a passion? Couldn't crack a smile from the poor girl in the 2 days I was there :(

Pros;
- share taxi to and from town was reasonable price, $3 each way

- hostel was clean

- free wifi

-the feeling of freedom checking out of this hostel :p


Look into anything but this hostel!! Cheap hotel, b&b, sleep in the car, couch surfing. Just not here - you've been warned ;)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hello! Hello! Hello!
This is the review of HI Hostel jasper in you guessed it Jasper!
We arrived November 15th, the guest clerk was somewhat grumpy, which I learned after staying there for two weeks is just his demeanour but it is not a great first impression.

The Kitchen is what you first walk into. I like the layout, the kitchen stoves are separated into blocks and in between are work surfaces and also loads of cutlery, pots and pans and anything you could want!
The fridge is large which is necessary *especially in summer* The free food shelf is ace!

The sofas need a revamp, the cushions are plumped with bin bags or garbage bags to make them seem more comfortable, this doesn't work, they are just odd on your bottom

There is a huge fire and myself and friends got to create many over our two week stay!
the rates were cheaper this time of year and they also had a stay 2 nights get one free deal which was a much needed bonus!

We enjoyed the laid back attitude of the staff here.
The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of blankets if you get chilly!

The shower facilities are fine, there is a mini changing area with a curtain as they are open in the main area. the toilets are fine.
The internet was incredibly sloooooow, but you are int he mountains and it is costly.
they could offer free tea, hot chocolate and coffee.

The managers are friendly and just simply down to earth.
The mountain view is worth the walk up to the hostel.
They have a taxi shuttle that operates around 8am to town and from town at night. it only costs $3 per person.

The hostel could do with some revamping in the decoration area, and have a little more character in the building. Pictures, artwork. quotes from people.
It can get cold in winter there but with a nice fire then you are fine.
They rent out Snowshoes, and sleds!

They have BBQ'S outside so you can use them for a lean mean steak.

I would recommend staying here!
The laid back attitude of the staff and how they just chit and chat with travellers rubs off on you and everyone ends up chatting away and everybody feels at ease! :)

The lights do go on at 8am and off at 11pm!
this is not great for people who like to sleep in, but just take a face mask and use the blankets to make a den over your bunk bed and you will be fine and dandy!

It is thoroughly cleaned everyday and night! The most cleanliness hostel I have been to. well done staff!

The dorms are either mixed sex, private or girls only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

- great and nice Location in the nature
- good and clean facilities
- amazing bonfire in a beautiful forest
- jummy barbeque
- awesome, crazy and funny staff!!! Thanks for all the insider Information and the guided cave tour

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Awesome staff, has a barbecue and a fire place. Definitely a good experience ! Having already been to several backpackers, i can tell that this one is one of my favorite. The staff will always be happy to share a conversation about anything you would and advise you about what you can do around (hiking, sightseeing, etc). Plus, the hostel is only 5min from Jasper by car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location of the hostel is uphill and far from Jasper town, you can pay for a $5 ride with the Jasper Tramway shuttle but it stops running around 5pm. Taxis are expensive, about $18 one-way!

If you're a female, try your best to get a bed in the female dorm, which is 28-beds in one big huge room with very few power outlets. Leave the windows open for some much needed fresh air. There's 3 toilets and 3 showers for all the female in the hostel, so there can be a line-up at times. I started with a bed in the female dorm, the first night was okay with just 2 people making weird noises while they slept. While talking to another girl that I had just met, she found out someone didn't show for one of the private room. So we asked to take it over. The next 2 nights was a lot more private and peaceful.

The mixed dorm room is downstairs and about 50 beds or more, it smells and very stuffy. Some of the plumbing needs work, so their statement about being environmentally friendly is misleading. There are multiple stove tops for cooking in the kitchen however, a few on the burners doesn't work. So check first.

There is a BBQ that can be used to cook your meals. The backyard is the start of the trail straight up to the Whistlers Mountain with a pitstop at the Tramway station. Extra bedding is available downstairs outside the mixed dorm room. Towels are available at the reception desk, just ask for them.

The best thing about this hostel is that because there's so little space for privacy, everyone is more friendly. The common area has sofas and communal tables, there are picnic table outside. I met a lot of fun and interesting fellow travellers at HI Jasper! :)

Room Tip: If travelling with a few friends, try your best to book one of the 3 private rooms. They're only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Jasper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.