We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best reasons to come to Jasper!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear's Paw

The Bear's Paw
4 Pyramid Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
780-852-3233
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 77 Restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Georgetown, Guyana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“One of the best reasons to come to Jasper!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place is just one of life's great things!!! So many times I've driven to Marmot Basin for a day trip from Edmonton and we stop at the Bear's Paw every time coming and going. It's money!!! So much to choose from.

My family was staying in Jasper over Christmas and we went there for a couple of breakfasts and for a warmup after walking through Malign Canyon. The muffins, scones, buns, buns, bear paws, croissants, pain o chocolates ... its so hard to choose which one, or three to have!!! They also have egg sandwiches, sausage rolls and other savory delights for more protein.

Their soups and fresh bread are a truly great lunch. And don't forget a chocolate chip cookie, piece of cheesecake or brownie for a sweet taste for the road, of course.

Day old breads, cookies, buns, on the left wall when you get in are just the best deal in town!!! It's just a great place to have something to eat!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    145
    40
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went here for coffee and breakfast, very friendly staff, great coffee and tasty food. Can't ask for better.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“scrummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Had the vegetarian pocket and a sausage roll. Both were delicious. Also had a slice of choc chip cookie cheesecake - scrummy. Busy but were still served very quickly - took longer to decide what to have!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Cache, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Love it each time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Best place for a quick bite in Jasper - will never get enough of the cheesecake lollipops or rum balls from this joint! Tried their spicy sausage rolls on the weekend - outta this world - a great snack! And the coffee is always fresh too.... For the easy crowd and the casual tourist, always a great score with our family for snacks on the go and take-home food for the next day! Hats off!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very average, not really sure what they hype is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I love visiting local cafes and bakeries when I'm travelling, so I made a point to visit both this location and the Other Paw location during our visit. Went to the Other Paw for breakfast, and the mocha was pretty good, but the breakfast sandwich was uninspiring, and there was virtually no GF option other than a brownie, which really wasn't an ideal breakfast food. When I asked if there were any other GF options (for my wife, who is sensitive, but not fully allergic) I got the run-around that the GF goods were at the main location.

We then went to the main Bear's Paw location for lunch. It wasn't exactly late, maybe 12:45, but they were already out of the soup, and all of their sandwiches were pre-wrapped (i.e. soggy bread), and when I asked for GF options, I got the run-around that the GF bread for sandwiches were at the other location. I had a veggie pocket with a very under baked crust, and a bear's paw with raisins, which is sort of their "signature" item, which was quite doughy without much cinnamon or raisins for flavour.

I'd say that if you are very hungry and just want a quick bite or coffee, stop in, but don't go expecting some sort of a high end bakery/café experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear's Paw also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear's Paw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.