We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can one come to Jasper & not visit the Bear's Paw?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear's Paw

The Bear's Paw
4 Pyramid Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
780-852-3233
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 77 restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Sandakan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“How can one come to Jasper & not visit the Bear's Paw?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I visited the Bear's Paw Bakery (and also its sister, The Other Paw Bakery) on the basis of great reviews and opinions of it. And having done so, I'm indeed glad I had done so - it was like a personal achievement that I would have rued had I missed it! The food on display sure looked yummy, and it was a great pity my appetite just isn't big nowadays, coupled with the fact that the serving sizes are quite big indeed!

I was there at around 7.30 am, and the place had only a few people, although a number of people came here for takeaway rather than sit-in. Ambience was very relaxed - well, it's Jasper and the Canadian Rockies after all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    286
    114
    35
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper National Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went to The Bear's Paw yesterday and stood at the back of a longish queue and was pleasantly surprized at the speed and friendliness of the service.
We enjoyed our sandwiches later in the day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!! All made by scratch and sooo good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I am sooo pleasantly surprised by the Bear paw bakery!!
All items made by scratch,huge portions and so inexspensive!!! There bread is also made by scratch which just adds to the goodness of their sandwiches. I always have amazing food and customer service. Also there Latte's are amazing!!!
This is definately the go to place in Jasper!
Carrie-lynn Gauchier

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's a bakery!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Reading the reports we had high expectations. However, these were not entirely met. First of all, they placed their slowest trainee at the counter on mid day rush hour, while at least 3 others were waiting to process the orders. Our sandwich was spiced up with so much dijon mustard that we had to blow our nose for the rest of the afternoon. Overall it seems a good bakery albeit not that great as one might expect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNP1973, Owner at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate your feedback and will take it in to consideration. We also do appreciate our customers understanding that everyone must learn and this includes our new trainees. We try our best to relieve them when the line becomes significant however we believe in giving these young people a chance to not only gain work force skills but also life skills that will help them better perform under pressure and become more rounded individuals in general. Working the till is a complex multitasking assignment that once mastered results in an extensive skill set applicable to innumerable aspects of life and work. We thank you for your understanding that often in a seasonable destination such as Jasper, there are many new employees undertaking the daunting task of learning in the public eye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We unfortunately tried this place twice, we could not believe trip advisor had got it so wrong, wandered if it was under new management. We went for breakfast one morning. The coffee was good. I had a cranberry and apple muffin which if it weren't for the fruit would have been quite dry. My husband had a bear claw pastry which was as solid as a rock. He tried to warm it in the microwave which they have in the shop and put butter on but eventually gave up, it was inedible. He bought a chocolate chip muffin which was as dry as anything and then gave up. The next day we had been a walk and fancied a coffee and the bear claw seemed to be the only coffee shop in town ( we were even hoping for a tim Horton!). My husband saw the large cranberry and white chocolate scones and decided to buy one to share....still hoping we had just picked the wrong things the day before....we cut it open and it was raw and uncooked inside. I thought it was the melted chocolate but closer examination proved me wrong. We gave up again. I have never wanted to write a bad review on trip advisor, this is my first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear's Paw also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear's Paw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.