We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 'to go' breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear's Paw

The Bear's Paw
4 Pyramid Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
780-852-3233
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 77 restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great 'to go' breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here every morning on our way to the rink. Between the 5 of us I think we tried almost every menu item and our favorites were the breakfast sandwiches, raspberry Choc scone, spicy sausage roll and the sticky buns! London Fog was my choice be enrage but my husband loved the coffee choices. Employees weren't overly friendly but still definitely worth the stop.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    255
    101
    30
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice soup.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The place overall was so-so for atmosphere. But we had the soup of the day and it was delicious! I had seen reviews for the Bears Paw as a must-visit place. But to be honest there are plenty of other coffee shops that match it in town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“I love the buzz in this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everytime we come through Jasper on Via, we b-line it straight for this café to find the best baked treats. They are soooo good. This location is the larger of the two (their other store, "The Other Paw" is on Connaught Drive) and carries a large selection of baked fare, our favorites being the cheesecake and tarts. Good eats at both places. One of the few places that still sells my favorite flavored coffee, Irish cream. A tradition every time we visit Jasper. If the train arrives late and you're short on time, "The Other Paw" is a better bet since it's closer to the train station.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh Baking Great Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great coffee and fresh baking. Tough to make decisions looking at that selection of fresh baking in the window. The cinnamon roll was amazing

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Rustic cosy bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent baked goods and service, perfect start to-go or for a quick morning grab. Danishes, scones, really filled with chocolate chocolate croissants, savory pastries and buns, great loaves ( I tried the French Herb and it was great toasted at home for days with a hot bowl of soup. Decent prices too. Appreciate the free refill of coffee when you stay and order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear's Paw also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear's Paw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.