We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the buzz in this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear's Paw

The Bear's Paw
4 Pyramid Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
780-852-3233
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“I love the buzz in this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everytime we come through Jasper on Via, we b-line it straight for this café to find the best baked treats. They are soooo good. This location is the larger of the two (their other store, "The Other Paw" is on Connaught Drive) and carries a large selection of baked fare, our favorites being the cheesecake and tarts. Good eats at both places. One of the few places that still sells my favorite flavored coffee, Irish cream. A tradition every time we visit Jasper. If the train arrives late and you're short on time, "The Other Paw" is a better bet since it's closer to the train station.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    303
    124
    38
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Baking Great Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great coffee and fresh baking. Tough to make decisions looking at that selection of fresh baking in the window. The cinnamon roll was amazing

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rustic cosy bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent baked goods and service, perfect start to-go or for a quick morning grab. Danishes, scones, really filled with chocolate chocolate croissants, savory pastries and buns, great loaves ( I tried the French Herb and it was great toasted at home for days with a hot bowl of soup. Decent prices too. Appreciate the free refill of coffee when you stay and order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We always stop at The Bear Paw bakery for breakfast en route to Marmot. The coffee is great, my son swears it is the best hot chocolate, my wife loves the strudel, and I think the breakfast sandwiches are outstanding (but don't over heat!).

We have tried virtually all of the pastries and have no issues recommending this as a must stop by and try to anyone.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed with the baked goods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Maybe we just ended up with the day old scones or something but they were kind of dry and didn't live up to the hype of previous reviews. The staff was pleasant but not overly helpful or anything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear's Paw also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear's Paw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.