We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst meal ever.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Downstream Restaurant & Lounge

Downstream Restaurant & Lounge
620 Connaught Drive | Downstairs, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta AB T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Downstream Bar & Grill)
(780) 852-9449‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst meal ever.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

worst meal ive ever had..I didnt know it was possible to mess up nachos and poutine!!! The nachos were burnt, and the “poutine“ had bread crumbs, no cheese and maybe a teaspoon of something that was supposed to be gravy. Totally embaressing to serve such a traditional canadian treat in such an international hub and make it so horrible! Very dissapointed, will never go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downstream J, Owner at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Megan,

I would like to personally apologize to you for your poor experience at our restaurant. Although most of our reviews are very positive, we are certainly concerned if anyone is dissatisfied with their experience. We are a small, owner operated eatery with a commendable staff whom have worked very hard to earn the great reputation and respect of our customers, most of whom have left their commendations about our products and efforts in glowing reviews on this very site. By and large, both products you had have received many compliments from our customers and I regret that they were not to your standard on this day. Despite our best efforts, we are keenly aware that mistakes can happen and must be acknowledged to better our service. Please know that we take extreme pride in all of our products and make it very clear to our guests that we are accountable for the quality that we advertise by way of having an owner/manager on duty and in person during all business hours. It is unfortunate and regretful that you did not voice your concern with us directly at the time of your visit as we have several protocols in place to resolve these rare mistakes and make sure our customers leave satisfied with all aspects of their experience. Please know that, either myself, Soto Korogonas or my partner Shawn Routledge are almost always available on premise to address your concerns if any and can best hold our staff and products accountable to your standards at the moment of the experience. We invite you to please try us again the next time you are in Jasper and give us the opportunity to give you the experience you deserve, the kind of experience that so many of our very satisfied customers have enjoyed and returned time and time again for. Then, as always, we will be very happy to hear your evaluation in person and apply your recommendations to better our product and ensure the value you expect is exceeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    63
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great relaxed feeling, super food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went as we stayed at the owners b&b and wanted to experience elk and bison.
A lovely relaxed basement feel, suitable for old, young and families.
Great food and good service. Like everything in jasper, not cheap but you do get what you pay for.
The food was superb, we've been away for a while and good fresh cooked veg and meat was spot on. Decent range of beers, but we did not check out dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Be prepared to shell out some money, but worth it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

All four of us had an absolutely delicious meal. It was pricey, but delicious. My husband still talks about the elk dish he had, and my daughter's duck was divine. Atmosphere is fun. We will definitely eat here again if we ever get back to Jasper.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Anniversary Dinner in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking for a new experience for our anniversary dinner. We were not disappointed with our selection of Downstream. My wife and I both ordered the Elk steak. (had to see some elk at some point on our trip) The presentation was great, the food was cooked to perfection, the atmosphere was all we were hoping for. The service was also good. I highly recommend taking the time to enjoy a great meal at the restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had the Wild Salmon as a main..simply devine! The owners of Downstream Bar & Grill also own Miette Guest Lodge & they do a good job of their accommodation aswell!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downstream Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Downstream Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.