We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Spot in Jasper.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit Island

Spirit Island
Maligne Lake, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Spot in Jasper.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Whether you travel by the Tour Boat, canoe, or kayak, Spirit Island is a "Must See" the Legend and history behind the Island add to it's beauty. The surrounding mountains are majestic. We like it so much, we took pictures and had one in particular blown up and framed. It now hangs on our dinning room wall. Not only is Spirit Island "Travel Alberta's" signature photo, it's one of our favorites too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great scenery and time to capture good photos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The boat cruise was informative with plenty of time to capture good photos on board. The scenic views alongside was so terrific and the 15 minutes stay on the Island seemed a serious joke to all passengers but a must.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very glad we didn't skip it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Unless you canoe/kayak there, you have to take the boat tour, which is not cheap and you can't stay on the island very long.

However, I would recommend it! The views on the way there and spirit island are truly amazing. Some of the best sights of the Canadian rockies - as envisioned. And the do give you background info and tell some fun stories while in the boat.

We were very glad we didn't skip it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As a local, my spin...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've gone here by canoe and kayak also by bike(only when the lake is frozen), every time i do go here, it is magical, the scenery is breath taking. Yes, you can get here by electric motor boat, or take the commercial outfit. I'm just partial to the self propel method.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“One of only two lakes you can take a motorized boat trip on in the Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is one of only two lakes (the other being Lake Minnewanka outside of Banff), that you can actually take a motorized boat out on, within a national park. This is a great tour. The boat takes you about 20Km down Maligne Lake, where the boat turns and comes back to Spirit Island. Here you can rest, walk about and use the rest rooms. The rest of the lake is designated a world heritage site and you cannot take any motorized vehicles into it.
The journey up the lake is fantastic for viewing, there are multiple glaciers to see, as well as jagged peaks. The color of the water is also spectacular. Now Spirit Island - your destination on this tour is apparently a world famous picture. A picture of Spirit Island is hanging in New York's Central Station, it was the winnning entry in a photography contest in the early 1900's.
While the boat tours the lake, you can take turns going out on the back deck, the deck is small, that is why people have to take turns.
This is a great trip, and the mountains are nice, they follow the Continental Divide, so they are still quite magnificent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit Island also viewed

Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Spirit Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.