We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glacier View Room is worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glacier View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Glacier View Inn to your Saves list
The Glacier View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glacier View Room is worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

It may be pricey during the high season, but the breathtaking view and crisp fresh air is well worth the money!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    76
    49
    28
    14
See reviews for
68
99
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on a trip - Banff to Jasper.
Great location, views unbelievable. Make sure you pay a bit extra for a glacier view, its well worth it. The hotel is in a visitor centre. Food not cheap, but considering where you are reasonable. My one tip, take some drinks with you as there is no bar or shop to buy alohcol. Go on the Icebus, its not cheap but well worth it. We stayed at the end of the season and got a room for £60. Unbelievable bargain, room slept 4 easily. Ideal for a family. Rooms very modern and clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just into the low season so we obtained a good rate for our rooms. Nice meals and good service in the restaurant although pricier than we paid elsewhere but we did not want to have to rush the Icefields Parkway trip and did not want to have to retrace our steps to complete it, so we were prepared for the higher prices.

Enjoyed visiting the exhibition during the evening after the place had closed and not having to join queues for the Glacier trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We read lots of mixed reviews about this hotel. I imagine in the peak of summer it may be as others have described -busy, noisy and no options but to pay ridiculous prices at the restaurant. However, in the off season (ie. the last week it is open) it was a delight. The room was large enough for five of us. It didn't have a fridge, but luckily it was cold enough for us to leave the milk out in the car!! We borrowed bowls and spoons from the kitchen and had cereal with us to have breakfast in our room. We ate in the Restaurant one night, and we were offered such a cheap rate, we stayed a second night but drove up to Jasper and had dinner there. The view of the Glacier from the room is stunning (albeit the window a bit small). We loved the isolation and quiet after the tour buses had gone. We bundled up warmly and did a walk up to the bottom part of the glacier which was wild, windy, icy and good fun. And the bus trip was good -blizzardly cold but fun and novel for the kids. My husband did say however he heard a mouse like creature in the room the first night (he didn't tell the rest of us till after we'd left!!).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mts NSW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed here last year as well as this year. Last year we stayed first day of cheaper time- half price in September so if on a budget do this( a lot colder though) Excellent food in the restaurant. Great to be there when all the other tourists have gone. Terrific view so if you'll only go once make sure you get the glacier view. It is an expensive place to stay but certainly memorial.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Glacier View Inn for one night in early August. We decided to stay at this Inn basically for the convenience of being next to the Columbia Icefield area, with a great view of the glacier from the room and also as a strategic location close to some great hiking trails. The Glacier View Inn occupies the third floor of the Icefield Center. The Front Desk, gift shop, Glacier Experience Terminal and Jasper National Park Information Desk occupy the main floor. On the lower level, the Jasper National Park operates "The Glacier Gallery", this is an interpretive center with information on the Columbia icefield area.

We booked a room with a view to the glacier (how many times will we get to have this opportunity again anyway?). We booked through Expedia, got a fairly good deal considering the high season (183 USD including taxes). We were pleasantly surprised to get a large room with a den area that includes two twin beds, the room can easily host 6 people (pictures attached)... certainly more space than what we really needed but it was still nice. The room had no radio and a TV that was not operational, no remote control and the ON/OFF switch had been removed. We decided not to make a big deal of it but we wondered why they had that skeleton TV at the room in the first place. The room was clean and decently furnished. The nicest thing about the room was the view to the glacier and the Columbia Icefield area, it is a truly special sight (see pictures of the glacier taken in the early evening and in the early morning).

The Inn offers a full dining room and a cafeteria. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was actually better than expected (given all the reviews we read). My husband ordered fish as the main course which was quite tasty and portion was the right size. I ordered two appetizers (soup and fried calamari), both of them really good and plentiful. The wait staff was friendly, cordial and offered fairly good service. Overall we got a nice impression of the restaurant and service.

Parking for hotel guests was located in the south side of the Inn (close to where the buses come in and out); there is a footbridge that connects the parking area to the south side Inn entrance. The Inn offers service to pick your luggage at your vehicle if you request it at the lobby area, but it is a short walking distance from the parking area to the Inn if you are bringing carry on luggage.

We recommend to stay at this Inn for the convenience of being close to the Columbia Icefield area, especially if you plan to take one of the morning tours to the Glacier, either the icewalk or the Snocoach Tour. This place is also close to the Parker Ridge trail which is a must-do for hikers, with spectacular views of the Saskatchewan Glacier from the ridge top trail. Don't expect a five-star hotel service, but overall it is a decent Inn in a great location and with many services for tourists visiting the Icefield Center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed here in mid August as we wanted to be on the first Icefield tour then away. I got a reasonable rate booking early on expedia. If this hotel were anywhere else then not many would stay here. As previously mentioned the only place to eat is the on site restaurant, the food is average and expensive.
The cleaniness of the rooms left a lot to be desired, on opening the pullout sofa bed I found some grapes left by the previous occupier and there were cotton buds on the floor next to the double bed and hairs in the bathroom.
I could not even turn the tv on because the on switch was missing.
Because this place is self sufficient and they generate their own electricity we got very little sleep due to constant noise of the generators.
Because they have no competition at all in the area it seems they can take liberties, luckily we had a very enjoyable trip the following morning on the glacier and an excellent driver but we were glad to have checked out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glacier View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.