We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPENSIVE, RIDICULOUSLY HOT, BUT A NEAT PLACE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Glacier View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Glacier View Inn to your Saves list
The Glacier View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXPENSIVE, RIDICULOUSLY HOT, BUT A NEAT PLACE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The weather there was completely bipolar. That coupled with the fact that there was no air conditioning and only two tiny window in each room, made for a miserable night. Because there was no grocery store or restaurant for 90 km, they charged ridiculous prices. If you want dinner after the snack bar closes (like 7:00), you must either not eat or pay some ridiculous price, like $30 for a plate of spaghetti. Other than the ridiculous temperature and the outrageous prices, the scenery was cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    50
    28
    14
See reviews for
68
101
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, because of its location between Banff and Jasper. We realized that was not a smart choice. For $150-200 per night, we got plenty of room, but nothing more than that. There essentially were no services. There were no options for dinning except the Icefield Center cafe and restaurant where the food was horrible and overpriced. The museum in the lower level is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

The reason I am giving the Glacier View Inn an average rating is that the rooms were not soundproof. We could hear a baby crying and the plumbing being used next door for several hours into the night. Other than that, we really liked the inn. We had a glacier view room with an open loft, which was quite adequate for 4 adults. There was a double bed below and two twins above. The queen size sofa bed, which we did not use for a bed, made for a good sitting area with 3 easy chairs and a coffee table. Even the coffee provided was better than average.

Since I love a bargain, I was especially pleased that we stayed on the last night of the off-season. The next day, our room would have been more than double the price.

A special surprise was the quality of the food at the restaurant. It was not cheap, but the food and service were excellent. Try the salmon in Thai curry sauce, the trout in Bernaise sauce, and the prawns with broccoli and garlic.

We thought that the most scenic part of the Ice Fields Parkway was north of the Icefields Chalet. We went as far as Athabasca Falls. A stop at the restaurant at Sunwapta Falls resort was well worth it for breakfast. Try the muffins.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

The best thing about this hotel is its fantastic location. It is expensive for a motel type of room but you get what you pay for with the view (see the wonderful view from our bedroom window). The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. The water saving taps were a bit awkward but we managed. The restaurant was very quiet, the food reasonably priced, good sized portions but no gastronomic experience.

We stayed for 1 night on our trip up the Icefields Parkway from Banff to Jasper. Stopping off overnight meant that we didn't have to rush our trip and we made the first snow coach trip of the day onto the glacier.

I would recommend this hotel for its location above all else, if you want a 5 star experience stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

If you can only travel the Icefield Parkway once you have to do it justice and that means taking at least two days to travel between Jasper and Lake Louise and that excludes any sightseeing in or around either town. That means an overnight stop and the Icefield Chalet is the ideal stopping off point. OK, the hotel is not a 5 star luxury hotel but it is adequate and has fantastic views of the glacier. We found our room to be large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was on the small size but, hey, who lives in the bathroom.
One frustration was the bedside table which couldn't be moved next to the bed because the cable to the table lamp was too short! It was also difficult to enter the rooms because of the electronic keys that they use; a lot of people had this problem. However, both are minor complaints. If you decide to stay here make sure you get a glacier view room from which you will be able to take lots of photos...the view is worth the little extra cost. Breakfast at the chalet is ok but I wouldn't personally go for the buffet which seems to cater for the large number of Asian tourists. We had dinner in the restaurant and this was very good; I had their Chinese version of Beef Curry and it was the best curry I have ever had (sorry Indian curry fans). We did not find the restaurant expensive particularly when compared to other hotels & restaurants in the Rockies. If you think the hotel is expensive bare in mind that it is only open for a very short season and is in a unique position to charge substantially more.
The big advantage of staying overnight is that it gives you two chances of catching decent weather. We arrived late afternoon in a near blizzard but the next morning awoke to glorious sunshine. It would be extremely frustrating to travel thousands of miles to be prevented from seeing anything because of a white-out.
I would love to go back and would stay at the centre again.
For photos search "Columbia Icefield".

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Buffet breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We booked a Glacier room in this hotel primarily because of its location and were not disappointed. It was also great to be able to beat the crowds of tourists, by taking the last (quieter)Snocoach of the day up to the Athabasca Glacier itself, enjoying beautiful sunshine. We ate in the restaurant (not brilliant - but no alternative!), and then had the museum in the basement to ourselves!
We ate in the cafe next morning - good sandwiches - and then made for the Willcox trail just up the road. Amazing alpine meadows complete with a brief snowfall and Rocky Mt. sheep.
The sun came out again on our way down, so we ventured to the toe of the glacier, (but not beyond the barrier). This walk is strongly recommended if you have the time as it gives a different perspective to the Snocoach trip, better illustrating the huge size of the glacier.
To complete all this within a few hours we needed to be 'on the spot' and the Glacier Chalet provided this neatly. The room was excellent in terms of size, but our only gripe was the toe clippings on the floor in front of the sofa. To be fair, we were quickly moved to another room - but this should not have occurred in any decent hotel, let alone one charging these prices.

  • Liked — location and views
  • Disliked — Room cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

Chalet is not an accurate name for this facility. Brewsters Icefield Terminal is a more accurate description. The building is primarily a large bus company (Brewsters) terminal for tours onto the glacier. The 2nd floor has a subsistence level cafeteria and a dining room that opens for breakfast and dinner. The dining room fare is unremarkable except for the steep price. The rooms are on the 3rd floor and they are Spartan / Minimalist / 2.5 star quality with some strange twists like a TINY bathroom with sandpaper-like TP and water control that discourages washing. There is no sense of cleanliness or class about the place and for the price it is very dissapointing.

Keep in mind that the landscape is evocative of the moon with just barren rock, gravel and ice and a tiny bit of greenery. The whole (and only) reason to be there is the glacier, which is impressive. Make it a day trip and stay elsewhere. I wish we had.

  • Liked — The Glacier
  • Disliked — Overpriced Bus Terminal Hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glacier View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.