We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glacier View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Glacier View Inn to your Saves list
The Glacier View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were a little nervous about this hotel, having read some very mixed reviews. We needn't have worried.

The hotel was easy to find (in the same building as the Colombia Icefield Discovery Centre). We parks in the coach park, so a short walk over a footbridge with our luggage. We found reception without any problems, where Ali was very friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel is fabulous. We had a dual aspect room with 2 large comfortable beds (Room 314). Great value for money - we paid less than £70.

From reading previous reviews, we knew that the food was expensive. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good. We took our own croissants etc for breakfast.

We would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tony P,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn.

I am very pleased that you found the Inn easy to locate. We have recently added signage viewable from the highway to assist our guests.

It is great that Ali made such a positive impression on you. I will pass your comments on to Ali and management.

Bringing your own breakfast is a great way to save on costs gives you the opportunity to eat in the comfort of your glacier view room.

We hope you and your partner are able to visit us from the UK again soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    76
    49
    28
    14
See reviews for
68
99
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Obviously, the scenery is the draw. Our room was ordinary but huge, with windows facing two directions. The heating system took some adjusting. We were there at the end of the season, with sporadic but heavy snowfalls, but the heat was cranked up when we arrived and some of the windows were open. We got things stabilized pretty quickly. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant, but the breakfast was good and reasonably priced, with friendly wait staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Daniel L,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your spacious room and the friendly wait staff.

The weather in September and October is very sporadic as you mentioned. In the span of a couple minutes the weather can turn from sun and blue skies to a powerful snow storm. The Icefield receives, on average, 33 feet of snowfall a year.

We hope you enjoyed your stay and were able to warm up with the hot chocolate we provide in our guest rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Glacier View Inn on September 21, 2013. This hotel is located on the third floor of the Columbia Icefields Centre. I believe the check-in was on the first floor. The staff were extremely helpful. We booked a package, which included the Scenic Ice Walk, Ice Explorer ride, and breakfast. The room had a mountain view overlooking the back area of the building. We were in the room next to housekeeping and near the ice machine, so there was a bit of noise. We could also hear the generator throughout the night, but that was minimal as we had the windows closed. The room had a queen size bed and a loft overhead with two twin or double beds. It was quite spacious. There was no WIfi, but we knew and expected this. We initially parked where all the main visitors parked, but eventually moved the car closer to the building to where the buses parked.

Before and after the tour buses come and go, this place gets nice and quiet.

This was a really nice stop between Banff and Jasper. We'd stay here again, but in a glacier view room instead.

Room Tip: Chose a glacier view room as I've read that there is less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear yellowbuggie,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to returning and staying in a glacier view room. As you mentioned, opting for glacier view room guarantees a room away from the generator and facing the largest icefield in the Rocky Mountains.

It is great that you were able to move your vehicle closer to the building after the tour bus parking lot cleared up for the evening.

Thank you again for your review and we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a package through Brewster that included: stay at the hotel in a glacier view room, breakfast and trip to the Athabasca Glacier. The room was lovely and very spacious, the food was very good, but also very pricey.... We arrived on Friday so we had to buy dinner from the Dinning Room - it cost around $90 for just 3 main courses, no drinks.... So pretty expensive in my opinion. The next day we had our breakfast which would have cost $76 for all 3 of us... thank goodness it was included in the package! Best thing we did was get the package, instead of paying separate for room, breakfast & trip to glacier.

Room Tip: Book your trip through Brewster and get a package - it's more efficient, money wise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Claudia T,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Brewster package and found great value in it! We are very happy that we were able to partner with the Dining Room and create a money saving package for our guests.

As Brewster Hospitality does not own or operate the Food and Beverage facilities at the Columbia Icefield, it is difficult for us to control the pricing. For lunch I often suggest packing a fun picnic and eating at one of our outdoor picnic tables or going on a nice hike (such as Parker Ridge) for some incredible views. For dinner, if the Dining Room prices are too expensive the Cafeteria across the hall is a less expensive option.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back next season!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Basic, but OK rooms. No WiFi but understand in middle of nowhere. Nice receptionists.
We parked in main coach park because we had read up on here. There is also a free guided walk at 7.30pm and my husband went on that. Luckily the others didn't turn up so he got a one to one guide and probalby saw more than usual. Great ice cave.
No breakfast included and restaurant on site very expensive. We were prepared and took food and cup a soups for dinner but did have breakfast. $9 is a bit much for Oatmeal!
Double bed, sofa bed and another one upstairs. Small window but get a great view of stars at 4am. First time since whole of Orion and not just his belt!
As you are at foot of glacier you get chance to get on first bus out in the morning which is a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Wildpoppy,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn. It is a real treat when our guests use TripAdvisor to help maximize their experience with us.

The lack of internet is something Brewster Hospitality is currently looking at fixing. We are in the process of securing the funding to jump start this big project.

It is definitely hard to beat the view you get from your window at night when you are in the Rockies.

Thank you again for your review and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the Inn should you return to the Rockies.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is in a terrific location, right opposite the Athabasca Glacier. Hotel guests can park in the coach park rather than the general car park, which means that you don’t have to carry your luggage up a mountain of steps – but the hotel receptionist didn’t volunteer this information; we had to ask. Our room was large and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is quite expensive – we ate there for dinner and breakfast – but the quality was exceptionally good, as was the standard of service (quick, helpful and friendly). If you’re on a tight budget, there’s the café, though that is not a particularly cheap option so, if you’re on a tight budget, buy some supplies in Banff or Jasper. There’s no wifi connection and you have to pay to use the hotel’s computers (one of which was out of order). So this is not a cheap place to stay, but for quality of food, service and – above all – those fantastic views – I’d say that it is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear KWD_11,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

We at Brewster Hospitality are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Reviews like yours lets us know that we are doing something right!

We do recognize the need for internet in our hotel and we are looking into securing the funding to be able to provide our guests with an internet connection in their room.

If our guests ask, we are sometimes able to provide parking in the Bus parking lot, but it depends on quite a few factors (if there are many bus arrivals early the next morning we might not be able to offer this service). We do, however, allow our guests to pull up to the rear of the Icefield's Centre and unload their vehicle at the Inn before parking for the night.

Thank you very much for your business and recommendation.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. On the positive side. The bed was very comfy and the room a good size with 2 more single beds in the loft. We stayed as part of a deal with going on they glacier the following morning (which I highly recommend ) , but in hindsight I would have driven t Jasper for the night and come back to do the glacier trip.
The walls were horribly thin and you could hear every time someone turned a shower or tap on. Some child ran up and down the hallway as his money was jammed in the coke machine and as we tried to get to sleep (it was 11pm) all we could hear were foot steps, banging doors etc. the fact that all water stopped flowing in the morning with no ETA for water didn't help matters.
The worst part to be aware of is the food. As you are a captive audience, no shops or other establishments nearby, you are held to ransom. The restaurant is separate to the hotel, so make sure you take your credit card to pay. The food was well below average and prices well above. For example 2 average sized spring rolls $10 plus tax ( we didn't have those... opted for pasta which had the wateriest sauce i have ever seen and no taste) breakfast 2 bowls of cereal and 4 slices of toast was $24 with taxes.
Go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Mountain view = looking at the mountain right up at the back of the hotel, no real view, also genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear DrPlodtravels,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you were kept awake by our other guests.

The morning the water stopped working we had maintenance issues that needed to tended to before we could turn the water back on. We continue to take preventative measures to ensure this does not happen in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable and spacious rooms.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip through the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glacier View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.