We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views with excellent accomodations and proximity to glacier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glacier View Inn

Save Saved
You added The Glacier View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Glacier View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Stunning views with excellent accomodations and proximity to glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You cannot possibly get much closer to the Athabasca Glacier.

I called to reserve a room and asked for a "mountain view" as it was cheaper than the "glacier view". As I reserved in advance and had a pleasant and informative call with the attendant she said she would try to give me the best "mountain view" room possible... and she did.

We had the corner room of the hotel (right side if facing it from the highway). This room not only provided gorgeous views of the mountainous valley but also had a window facing the glacier!

The price we paid included admission up the glacier as well as breakfast. Our room had 2 queen beds even though we didn't ask for that. It was living in luxury. The only downside is there was no wifi but that was to be expected being in the middle of nowhere.

The customer service was spectacular.

As someone who usually does hostels and budget accomodations, this was DEFINITELY worth the splurge!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner mountain view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sjaf_xo:

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at the Glacier View Inn. We are glad that our staff were able to assign you a mountain view room that also had views of the Athabasca Glacier and that you felt that your whole experience was “living in luxury”. Our top priority is to ensure that our guests have a pleasant visit with us and it definitely seems that we succeeded in your case.

We very much appreciate your kind words and we look forward to serving you again on your next trip through the Columbia Icefield.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    24
    15
    11
See reviews for
43
72
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We found it somewhat difficult to find this hotel as we did not see the sign on the Icefield Centre. We thought it might have been somewhere close by, not literally in the centre.

Regardless, we were very excited when we found out we had a glacier view room. It was a breathtaking view, and let us relax while all the tour buses of people left.

Apparently the water is drawn from the icefields, and it sure tastes like it. The beds were very comfortable.

There is no wifi in this hotel, the only access is through their pay computers. If I remember correctly, the cost was about $8 an hour. But really who would want to use the internet here anyway!

We paid about $180 for this hotel, and it was well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Gzajay:

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Glacier View Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your glacier view room, great tasting water and comfortable beds. Unfortunately, all road signage is controlled by Parks Canada and we are unable to change anything without their consent. It is, however, clearly indicated on the Inn website that the hotel is located on the third floor of the Discovery Centre. Your comment regarding the lack of wifi is absolutely correct. Due to the isolated location of the hotel, we are unable to provide this service however, there are two guest computers on site that allow people to access internet should they feel the need.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions and look forward to your return when you are next driving through the Icefields Parkway.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Isn't it strange how much our expectations rule our experiences! This time we did nor expect much from the hotel. But we got a dream room: huge with two queen beds, beautiful, clean, big bathroom and the best - the view! A view to die for!
I am so astonished to read that room number 335 is the best room. That cannot be, because number 316 is! I wonder who chose that room for us - I would like to say Thank you! But let me add: Book well in advance!
The day we arrived the weather was bad, no sight at all. But next morning we woke up at 06 am. The sun was shining and the sky was blue. AND from our window the glacier was icy white in the sunshine. Thank you God!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is a good value for its location and price , except that I found that if I book with the hotel directly , the price for my night will be $185 (tax included ) but because I booked through a booking agency on the internet which required me to pay upfront on internet (not at hotel) , I had to pay $245 , which is $ 60 more than if I booked through the hotel directly . This makes me feel unfair as the mark up is too high , Otherwise, this hotel is very good value

Room Tip: pick a glacier view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Wcwl_13:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Glacier View Inn. The prices charged for the hotel, similar to an airline, are based on supply and demand. Thus, depending on when the booking is made, the rate may be different to booking it at an earlier or a later date. In general, it is always a good idea to look at the hotel website as specials may be promoted on there that are not listed on other online booking engines.

We appreciate being made aware of your experience and look forward to welcoming you back on your next drive through the Columbia Icefield.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place was absolutely awesome! We had room 335 and were told that room is the best one there. Without a doubt. The views of the icefield and glacier area from the room, including the bathroom, are unbelievable. The windows are spotless and large so one can take pictures right through the window at sunset, sunrise, etc. with no crowds. I am a scapbooker and our pictures are something else. I found no better pictures in any book, postcard than the ones I took. The water comes directly from the glacier at the hotel and its the best water I ever drank. While there go to the Glacier Inn dining room. The food is fabulous and the waiters - cooks are the BEST!!!!! I had halibut and my husband had steak and scallops. The breakfast is fabulous as well. Everyone there is so nice, friendly and helpful. We are from the USA (Wisconsin) and this was truly a trip of a lifetime. We have travelled extensively and I would put this at the #1 SPOT!!!!

Room Tip: get room 335. its the best!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Donna B:

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Glacier View Inn. Our top priority is to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and it definitely seems like we succeeded in your case. We are glad to read that you took some incredible photos from the windows in your room and that you found both the food and the wait staff fabulous at the onsite restaurant.

We very much appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next drive through the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Inn earlier in June. We enjoyed exporing the ice fields and had great weather. We had a great room with a view of the glacier. Main level had queen size bed and the loft had 2 twins - worked out great for us. Very clean and comfortable.

We had a very nice dinner in the dining room. It did not seem too expensive for what we had, but we would have liked a less expensive option. There is a cafeteria style option, but it wasn't open when we were going for dinner. Might have closed at 6, not certain.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful, but of particular note were Megan at the front desk who gave us a great room, Kate from housekeeping who we talked to in the morning, and Alam our server in the dining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Beachlovernow:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Glacier View Inn. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your spacious, clean and comfortable glacier view room. It is also pleasing to read that you had a nice dinner at the onsite restaurant and that you found all of our employees to be friendly and helpful. I have passed on your compliments to the particular staff members that had an extra positive impact on your stay with us.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return when you are next driving through the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is located across the road from a beautiful glacier landscape. It is a good half way stop over point between Banff and Jasper. The Columbia Icefields business operates out of the bottom floor of the hotel, so it is very convenient to buy a ticket to walk on the glacier late in the afternoon or early in the morning when the crowds are not too large. The next floor up has a café (open till 6pm) and a restaurant (open till 9pm). Both are reasonably expensive, but supply and demand of such an isolated place would explain this. I didn't enjoy the Chinese food or service at the restaurant, but the view helped make up for the lack of taste in the food.The top floor has the hotel rooms, serviced by a lift. Our room was very comfortable and had a fantastic view of the glacier, well worth the money to wake up looking at the majestic glacier first thing in the morning. The bathroom was fully equipped with toiletries. The room was large and comfortable, but didn't have a fridge or any wifi/internet connection at all in the room. You could access the internet desk/business centre for a fee if you need to. Parking was difficult to find initially for check in, but we were told to park up with the buses. We moved the car after the buses finished for the day.

Room Tip: Room facing the glacier, towards the Jasper end is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sydaus3:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Glacier View Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful location of the hotel, right at the base of the Athabasca Glacier. We were also pleased to read that you found your room spacious and comfortable and very much appreciated the fantastic views.

We value your comments and suggestions and will use them to even better our service standards in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Columbia Icefield.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
The Glacier View Hotel
Glacier View Hotel
Columbia Icefield Chalet
Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glacier View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.