We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icefield's Parkway stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Icefield's Parkway stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good place to stay - interesting site and good chalet room, very good restaurant and friendly helpful staff. Well positioned at north end of Parkway and much better than staying in Jasper (which you can visit anyway) and to see the nearby sights. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulEvUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Lodge is right next to Sunwapta Falls (1km) and along the Icefield's Parkway. You are surrounded by the most beautiful scenery of mountains. Staff is extremely friendly. Cabins have had their good times already and ours was quite small, but ok - the fireplace made up for it. There is no microwave or cooking facilities in the room and just one restaurant attached that we thought to be a bit expensive. I would recommend to stay in this lodge only if you mean to go on to Banff the next day as driving back to Jasper is quite a trip. We didn't mind though doing so as driving along the Icefield's Parkway is definitely one of the most beautiful streets I've ever been on to.

Room Tip: Get one with fireplace as even in summer it can snow in this part of Candada!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flugdrache77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in a Sunwapta 2 bedroom suite. Huge rooms smell from the wood-burning fire-places in the rooms. Bed linen is old and torn in places. Bathrooms are small but functional.
The on-site restaurant is however completely worth the stay. Advance reservations are a requirement. Every dish was a gastronomical masterpiece that required ample preparation time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgentTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room was in need of some major updates and the blinds were filthy. The only place to get any food is the attached restaurant and they were putting on a buffet for $39 a plate. For that kind of money we were naturally expecting a high quality meal but what we got instead was a few cold salads (had to ask for any dressing), inedible turkey and cold supermarket ham at the carvery.Such a huge price tag for such cheap, poor food. We felt totally ripped off. Better drive on and avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsawtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Tsawtravel,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor and for challenging us to the higher level of service and care we normally provide. We are all very sorry that you did not receive the care, quality, value and service we are so highly rated on TripAdvisor for.

It is difficult for me to repair a negative experience after it has occurred, so I would first like to apologize that I was not made aware of the situation immediately. I am confident that our usual level of care and conscientious consideration of our guests' needs would have come across.

There is no doubt we could have worked out a meal option for you that would have been exceptional, and fit into your price expectations. We generally receive high ratings for our evening dining, so your review was quite disheartening. Our Restaurant Manager extends his apologies and we are happy to refund your food and beverage charges.

While we are a 4 circle rating on TripAdvisor, we are a 2 star hotel. Our rooms are basic, however, they are normally exceptionally clean. Our rooms are inspected annually by AAA and the AHLA (Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association) and we have received the AHLA award for housekeeping practices for decades running. The comfort and cleanliness of our rooms are usually highly rated.

Again, it is so unfortunately that I was not made aware of your situation at the time as I would have been more than happy to arrange another room for you, or at least to have it re-done to our usual standards while you joined us for dinner.

Overall Tsawtravel, I feel that we really didn't make our usual caring connection with you and if we would have I believe your experience would have been substantially different. In lieu, if you felt that you wasted your good money here, I would like to make sure you get your good money back. I hope you can take an offer of compensation as a sign that we care, we're sorry, and if you have a chance to come back, we'd love another shot!

Please email me directly at: matthew@sunwapta.com.

Thanks again Tsawtravel!

Matthew Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The lodge is over 20 miles from Jasper but great place to spend a couple of nights. The cabins are quaint with a fireplace but the chairs are not too comfortable. The personnel were fantastic, helpful, and friendly.
The location worked out perfect for us. We made it there mid afternoon from Banff and had time to visit Sunwapta Falls. Next day we went to Athabasca Falls and on to Jasper and took the Maligne Lake boat trip which was beautiful. Then after leaving the Lodge we went to the Columbia Ice Field.
Don't forget to visit Patricia Lake while in Jasper. A great surprise in scenery and picture taking - a favorite spot for artists.
Although the restaurant was a bit expensive it was one of the best meals we had on our trip. Highly recommend eating there (although it is the only place around).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBobofNehalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Found this place as we wanted somewhere to stay between Lake Louise and Jasper from where to explore the Glaciers.
Slightly expensive restaurant prices, but this is the only place for miles around! Good motel accommodation - dodgy Wifi, but again that's the location!
Sunwapta falls are amazing.

Room Tip: Good position to break journey between Jasper and Lake Louise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We tried to get accommodation for Jasper just to find out that this hotel is around 50km from Jasper. Next time I should be more careful in checking the distance from city center when I book my hotels.
When we got there we were a little bit scared of how the resort looks from outside but after a while we started to like it. The resort has a first class look at the peak just next to it and it's within walking distance of Sunwapta falls. The resort is quite close to the highway but there is basically no traffic after night fall. The room was very basic but clean. It has no A/C but you don't need one in that location. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
28.1 mi away
The Glacier View Inn
The Glacier View Inn
#17 of 22 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
29.0 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#7 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
28.0 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#3 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#21 of 31 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
32.5 mi away
Jasper East Cabins
Jasper East Cabins
#16 of 31 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#26 of 31 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Address: Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper National Park
#5 Family Hotel in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recent recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge is an ideal choice if you're looking to unplug from the hectic pace of regular life. Most often chosen for our location, the lodge is a scenic 45-minute drive south of downtown Jasper. We're open from mid-May to early-October.Our location provides a less distracted experience of our natural surroundings. Located just off the Icefields Parkway, our cabin-style accommodation is nestled in the forest between mountains and lakes with just a short walk to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and many major attractions nearby. In the evenings its just us, the stars, the sound of the falls and the scent of wood burning as it crackles in our many fireplaces. There's no cell phone reception and there are no phones in the rooms. Despite our rustic setting, our accommodations are immaculately kept with award wining housekeeping practices, and our evening dining is not to be missed. Satellite internet is provided via WiFi at no charge and satellite TV is also provided at no charge. With only 50 rooms, the service at Sunwapta is exceptionally high. Our front desk commits time to each guest, providing complementary expert advice and daily customized sightseeing agendas to help you experience those WOW moments. We also act as ticketing agents for all the major and minor attractions. During your stay with us, we will take care of all your activity bookings and daily planning. Each and every one of our staff is entirely committed to helping you have a truly memorable experience in Jasper National Park. Prepare to be 'treated like royalty'!A 2 star property, Sunwapta offers a mix of cabin-style accommodations with real wood-burning stone fireplaces (includes complementary wood and service), and contemporary hotel style rooms. Our accommodations are suitable for romantic getaways and family vacations. We look forward to helping you experience the best of Jasper... wonderful by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Hotel Jasper
Sunwapta Falls Hotel
Hotel Sunwapta Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing