We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience, even on a rainy day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience, even on a rainy day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We booked two rooms as we had family travelling with us from England. It was a rainy day when we arrived at Sunwapta but once inside, the rooms were very cosy. Front desk staff were very friendy and informative upon arrival. We booked dinner in the restaurant that evening and the food was excellent. Our server was really pleasant and only added to our overall dining experience. Sunwapta Falls were also magnificent, even in the rain! We would thoroughly recommend this truly rustic stopover when travelling between Jasper and Banff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    147
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
91
205
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

A warm welcome on arrival, personally escorted to our lodge, lodge was spotless and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in away from home. Staff very helpful and informative. excellent restaurant service and food to match. A log fire is a must for the full experiance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We visited Jasper for two nights and since we were visiting the Columbia Icefield on the way back to Calgary, we stayed for a night at Sunwapta. We purchased the romance package which included a bottle of sparkling wine (my favorite brand no less) in the cabin on arrival, $60 restaurant credit for dinner, full buffet breakfast and accommodation in a cabin with a fireplace. The staff in the resort were all great and the surroundings were beautiful. Having someone walk you to your room and to light a fire for you were very welcome perks. It was a great ending to our vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms are small but well equipped and the beds are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel's location is along the Icefields Parkway, midway between all the attractions. It is rather remote compared to all the town hotels and pleasantly away from the crowds. The service is excellent, the beds comfortable and clean. They also have a lovely fireplace service where the staff will light a real wood fire in the fireplace for you upon request.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Hi SingaporeSnow!

Thanks for taking time out to leave a review for the TripAdvisor community! Thanks too for choosing us and recommending our property:)

I think you've summarized the few reasons why people choose us and enjoy it: location (the experience of being out of town, and the convenience for sightseeing attractions), the comfort (rooms and beds), and best of all the service!

I also want to take this opportunity to let the TripAdvisor community know that we take all comments seriously have made changes based on reviews. Also, we like a full spectrum of reviewers to leave comments and for this reason, I encourage ALL of our guests to leave TripAdvisor reviews.

Most recently we have taken the advice of our guests regarding the 'Resort' part of our name (see comments below and my responses). WE HAVE NOW CHANGED OUR NAME! While Sunwapta Falls Resort will co-exist for the remainder of our season in order to prevent confusion with current bookings, we are now officially:

Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

We are excited about the change and hope you are too. We feel that it aligns more accurately with who we are and what we do, and feel it will help set the right kind of expectations for future guests.

Thanks again SingaporeSnow, and if anyone should wish to contact us, please don't hesitate!

Ph: 1-888-828-5777 / 1-780-852-4852
e: info@sunwapta.com
Find us on Facebook too!

All the best,

Matthew Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was lovely to have a small sundeck and be able to spread outdoors from our room. Great to be off a main street like many hotels. We saw a bear just before we checked in.
Andrea, from Australia, was an extremely pleasant and helpful receptionist.
We will be back any time we are in the area. Stayed there a few years back and it is still great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Hi Eve_Delta!

Thanks for choosing to stay with us AGAIN, and thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor.

I especially love the title. It really captures what Sunwapta is like. We are 53km south of Jasper, so the only thing beside us is Nature. It's a privilege to be here, and a real pleasure to be able to share it with visitors to the Park.

Andrea is awesome! The other front desk staff, Mick (also Aussie), Lauren, Joey, and our Front Desk Manager, Laura are equally great. Full credit goes to Laura for hiring such exceptional people once again! Andrea was pretty impressed she got a personal mention on TripAdvisor! Big smiles:)

Readers: we have some rooms with balconies, some without. Be sure to give us a call to find out more! It would be our pleasure to make sure you get the room that works best for you and your loved ones you're traveling with.

Ph: 1-888-828-5777 / 780-852-4852
e: info@sunwapta.com

We are on Facebook too! Feel free to contact us through there.

Thanks again!

Matthew Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place was unreal......from the staff to the lighting the fireplace for you. They made our anniversary weekend something really special. We stayed in one of the cabin rooms and did one of the driving tours that the front desk provided us with. Thanks a bunch and we will definately be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cabins.........they are unreal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Hi KeibelKrew!

Congrats on your Anniversary and thanks very much for choosing us to help celebrate the occasion :)

I just wanted to leave a quick response on behalf of all of us at Sunwapta. I read over reviews with staff and everyone was so happy with yours! We're really proud that we were able to help make your anniversary memorable:). Thanks for sharing, it means a lot to us.

For the readers, give us a call or email us for your free copies of our self-drive itineraries mentioned in the review. Of course, it's better once you're here and we can sit with you and discuss your daily plans, book activities at a discount etc:)

Ph: 1-888-828-5777 / 1-780-852-4852
e: info@sunwapta.com

We're looking forward to helping you with your Rocky Mountain vacation planning!

Matthew Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Having read several controverse reviews about this resort in advance, we have been positively surprised by it.
Staff is very nice and already talked to us lots about the park, sightseeing etc. even at check-in.
The room itself is located in a cabin-style wooden bungalow (not a trailer like mentioned in some other reviews here...) which is been shared by 4 rooms.
Unfortunately, we got quite loud neighbours creating noise even after 11pm. That's why we went to the hotel's staff again which then successfully talked to them.

However, walls seem to be quiet thin and the water pipelines do cause quite some noise...

As there is nothing arround the resort, the only option for dinner is to use the restaurant located with the resort. It is pretty expensive and the side dishes seem to being counted by hand (we got a half of a potato - no joke!! - and after having asked for more of them, we got the other half!!)

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Address: Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recent recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge is an ideal choice if you're looking to unplug from the hectic pace of regular life. Most often chosen for our location, the lodge is a scenic 45-minute drive south of downtown Jasper. We're open from mid-May to early-October.Our location provides a less distracted experience of our natural surroundings. Located just off the Icefields Parkway, our cabin-style accommodation is nestled in the forest between mountains and lakes with just a short walk to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and many major attractions nearby. In the evenings its just us, the stars, the sound of the falls and the scent of wood burning as it crackles in our many fireplaces. There's no cell phone reception and there are no phones in the rooms. Despite our rustic setting, our accommodations are immaculately kept with award wining housekeeping practices, and our evening dining is not to be missed. Satellite internet is provided via WiFi at no charge and satellite TV is also provided at no charge. With only 50 rooms, the service at Sunwapta is exceptionally high. Our front desk commits time to each guest, providing complementary expert advice and daily customized sightseeing agendas to help you experience those WOW moments. We also act as ticketing agents for all the major and minor attractions. During your stay with us, we will take care of all your activity bookings and daily planning. Each and every one of our staff is entirely committed to helping you have a truly memorable experience in Jasper National Park. Prepare to be 'treated like royalty'!A 2 star property, Sunwapta offers a mix of cabin-style accommodations with real wood-burning stone fireplaces (includes complementary wood and service), and contemporary hotel style rooms. Our accommodations are suitable for romantic getaways and family vacations. We look forward to helping you experience the best of Jasper... wonderful by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Hotel Jasper
Sunwapta Falls Hotel
Hotel Sunwapta Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.