We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country cabins family atmosphere, close to Miette Hot Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pocahontas Cabins to your Saves list
Pocahontas Cabins
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Jct Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Country cabins family atmosphere, close to Miette Hot Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked a package deal that included breakfast and Miette Hot Springs which was very reasonable, especially considering how pricy lodging can be in the Jasper area. Their breakfast was excellent! Very tasty and generous portions. We enjoyed playing ping pong in their rec. room. The accomodations were decent for cabin style, but we did not book a newer cabin which looked better. Staff was friendly and helpful. Everything worked in the cabin.
We chose these cabins since they are close to Miette and would also book the same package again if it is available when we come back out this way.
Just remember to bring mosquito spray since the outdoors here do have mosquitos.

Room Tip: Choose a newer cabin in you prefer nicer accomodations, but if fancy is your preference you might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    35
    15
    38
See reviews for
63
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Booked this because of the hot springs close by. These are a must - spent a fab afternoon there & recommend it. Desk clerk very friendly and helpful, offering us free ice - nice on a hot day...but understood why when we got to the cabin. There are some new cabins at the front of the property that look fab....ours was one of the old cabins, which was dated and very hot, even after we'd managed to turn off the heating! Couldn't open the windows as even with fly screens the mossies got in - a new sport in our family is now mossie-squatting and deet spraying! Room was probably not regularly used as surfaces covered in dust but bathroom clean and the ice and fridge a Godsend! Ok for a night but recommend asking for one of the new cabins as these seem fine. Good facilities, so I expect there are plans to continue updating.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lothian, scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Mossie-ridden and very dirty (fly/insect excrement and human hairs lurking in bathroom and on skirting boards- and many dead /swatted mossies on walls and ceilings). No kettle provided and the uncleaned coffee perculator/filter remained so through our two night stay. Very dated furnishings /linen and very, very basic cabins with no air-conditioning in 30 degree plus heat. Best avoided if at all possible. Also avoid the 'buffet' breakfast complete with rubbery eggs, cheap cereals, hard potatoes and burnt, greasy bacon at an extortionate price ($15). We booked this as recommended accommodation via UK based Canadian Affair who obviously have a 'deal' with this chain. Described as 'Jasper' it is in fact a good 45 minute drive from the town, just off a major truck road- with significant traffic noise thoughout the night.

Room Tip: Avoid the old cabins at the back of the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

New cabins are very clean-spotless!! They are a little expensive and a little noisy being close to highway.The restaurant was also very good. Pool was clean and very warm, hot tub was clean as well. The bedding was clean and fluffy. Very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get cabins futher away from highway to the south up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Another quick weekend getaway with the family. We chose to stay at Pocohontas, as it's only about 20 minutes out of Jasper, and we figured it wouldn't be as hectic or busy as the hotels in Jasper usually are in July. And we were right!

We hadn't stayed here in quite some time, but it was as good as we remember. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin. The cabin was very clean, with all amenities. The bed was comfortable, and the kids thought sleeping on a hide-a-bed was fun. Our cabin had a full kitchen, with all dinnerware provided. We didn't use it, but it was there all the same.

The pool was excellent. Very clean, not over-chlorinated like some pools are.

Restaurant was good too. We had dinner and breakfast there. The dinner was good, with excellent service. The breakfast was really good too, again with excellent service.

When you go though, bring bug spray! Mosquitos in Jasper National Park seem particularily bad this year!

No complaints at all. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and stay in the Deluxe Cabins. They're newer, and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked a deluxe log cabin and stayed two days recently. It is outside of the Town of Jasper but was very nice and relaxing. We had a one bed room cabin with a queen bed, with pullout in the living room. Very nice an bright and clean.

The pool was very warm and the hot tub was great. Our kids had fun in both. There is a restaurant and store on site so handy.

A short drive to the Miette Hot Springs, alittle longer to Jasper but we were able to see lots of wild life on the roads, curly horned sheep and mountain goats.

Staff were very nice and accomodating. There is a coupon book they were giving out with discounts to the restaurants, shop at the site and others, Ice Fields, etc. Ice was free to guests.

We had a lovely time and would head back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the road and book the deluxe or executive log cabins. Worth it compared t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Dark dingy dirty discusting dispicable sheds. The cabins displayed on the website look nothing like the settlers cabin that we were booked into. The cabin was made for pigmys. Definately worth paying a bit extra to get the cabins that are shown on the website.

Room Tip: These ratings are based on the settlers cabin that i stayed in due to there being no more rooms avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Address: Jct Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocahontas Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.