We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glorious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Glacier

Angel Glacier
Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“glorious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When people ask me what my favorite place in the rockies is I always say angel glacier. It really is awe inspiring. The afternoon we were there it started to snow & that seemed to make it all the more wild. Maybe the bad weather stopped some because it was quiet when we were there. I could see that the road up to it could be dangerous if you've never driven on snow and ice. But if you are a northerner it's no big deal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is one of my favourite walks and if you're up for it you can walk right up to the glacier and be daring and go inside of the caves, that's a tad nerve racking though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Best easy hike in the Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Excellent mountain scenery. Usually you have to hike far to have these views. Go early - this place can become a zoo.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a must see. We loved the walk to the lake and glacier, it was a hot day, the views were breathtaking, the streams running down the mountain were very inviting, I had to soak my feet for a few minutes, it was so cold, what a way to get refreshed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've seen glacier in Alaska, but this one was unique. I do wish I would have known that there were 2 trails leading to it and I would have taken the one without the inclines. The lake holds all the ice chunks and it is COLD!! Great place!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Glacier also viewed

Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Angel Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.