We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maligne Lake

Maligne Lake
Maligne Lake Rd. | 44 km (27 mi) southeast of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Jasper City Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

One of the prettiest spots in the Jasper area. It is a bit of a drive to get there but there is plenty to see on the way. The road there is one of the best chances to spot wildlife in the area including bears.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    132
    22
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Maligne Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A must see in the Canadian Rockies. My husband and grandson rented a canoe and thoroughly enjoyed themselves, while I sat on a bench in the sunshine, taking in the beauty of this tranquil lake. What I love about Maligne Lake is, that it is not overrun with tourists like Lake Louise, but is just as beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hiking Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One should really do some extensive hiking to enjoy this area. We only spent one day here, but it would be a great place to camp and explore. There are plenty of bears so bring your spray and bells. The boat trip to Spirit Island would probably be advisable as well. There are plenty of accomodations in Jasper if you are not campers. This place should be on everyone's bucket list.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Lovely walk through the forest which leads back to the lake with the most stunning views when the weather is good! Also saw bear cups on the road from jasper, so drive slowly and keep looking!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Majestic Maligne Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We wanted to rent a canoe that day & try out our lifejacket for our little dog. But dan wasn't feeling good that day. We went for a walkabout, bought a book of Jasper's history in the gift shop. The lake was beautiful and it was a lovely day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Lake also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Maligne Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maligne Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.