We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping Beauty in Winter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maligne Lake

Maligne Lake
Maligne Lake Rd. | 44 km (27 mi) southeast of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$58*
and up
Spirit Island Cruise on Jasper's Maligne Lake
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sleeping Beauty in Winter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We took in many spectacular sights in Jasper during a wintery April weekend. Many of the places I had seen before in summer were even more awesome in the winter snow and ice. However unfortunately this was not true of Maligne Lake. The place was completely deserted. The lake was frozen and all of the amazing color was hidden. If you were there for snowshoeing or cross country skiing, I'm sure you would love it here. For people like us, with children in tow, we would save this for the summer months.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    104
    19
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Maligne Lake & Spirit Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Maligne Lake is located in the Maligne Valley in Jasper National Park, Alberta. Maligne Lake is the second largest glacier-fed lake in the world, stretching 22km (14mi). Maligne Lake and its natural beauty with pristine blue water, breathtaking views and undisturbed wildlife attracts many visitors every year. This beautiful lake and surrounding area is also a great place for hiking with a variety of trails, there is a trail for everyone. Maligne Lake even has a 44km (27.5mi) trail, the Skyline Trail, which is by far the most popular. All of the trails have great views of the lake and surrounding area, so pick one that seems right for you. Personally I haven't done any of the trails at Maligne Lake yet, so I can't offer my opinion on which one is that best. You can rent canoes at Maligne Lake as well and there are guided fishing tours as well.

One thing I can give my opinion on is the Maligne Lake cruise to Spirit Island...the most photographed spot in Jasper National Park. The Maligne Lake Cruise is a 90 minute boat cruise that will take you on the blue waters of the lake with amazing mountain views to Spirit Island. Here you get off the boat for about 15-20 minutes to walk to the Spirit Island viewpoint. The view is fantastic and if you go in the summer time, later afternoon is the best for photos as the sun is behind you. On the way the guide will tell you some things about the history of Maligne Lake with some interesting facts. The boat ride is fun and the views along the way are beautiful as well, but the best views are at Spirit Island of course. Quite pricey, but definitely worth the money in my opinion!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Gorgeous in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Few people seem to take the time to drive up to Maligne Lake during winter and they have no idea what they are missing out on. We spent 4 nights at Jasper Park Lodge over Christmas and 2 of the days we spent snowshoeing around Maligne Lake. The views were absolutely spectacular, the snowshoeing was good-very good and, most importantly, it was almost devoid of people. The few who do make the drive up there just seem to park, get out and take photos and leave. Do the lake some justice and at least do one of the two short loops and you'll be rewarded with even better views as well as the chance to see some wildlife. We didn't see much wildlife while snowshoeing, but there were plenty of fox, fisher and snowshoe hare tracks and a small family group of mountain sheep were busy feeding on the edge of Medicine Lake on the drive up and back. So, avoid the crowds in town and on the ski hill for one morning or afternoon and take the drive up to Maligne Lake if you can.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceduna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Canada's a beautiful place to holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

There's nothing like the rockies! We stay in Jasper for two night, and the first evening there a herd of Elk came into town. The bull was bugling it was so cool, the next day we went for a drive up to maligne lake. On the way there we saw a bighorn sheep a wolf a moose and a grizzly. And maligne lake was amazing, with snow capped mountains and lots of wildlife. So many lakes though Canada and their all beautiful! We traveled down though the rockies down to baniff and stayed there for a few night, just beautiful. Will never get sick of going two Canada! This has been our second trip there and i will go again....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice and beautiful lake with good hikings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The lake is one of the best around Jasper National park and is bigger than others. There are some nice trails to practice hiking. We did "The bald trail", about 3 hours return. It was quite hard at the begin but when you get the top you can forget the bad moments. There were some attractions as boat rents and more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Lake also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Maligne Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maligne Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.