We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maligne Lake & Spirit Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maligne Lake

Maligne Lake
Maligne Lake Rd. | 44 km (27 mi) southeast of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Maligne Lake & Spirit Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Maligne Lake is located in the Maligne Valley in Jasper National Park, Alberta. Maligne Lake is the second largest glacier-fed lake in the world, stretching 22km (14mi). Maligne Lake and its natural beauty with pristine blue water, breathtaking views and undisturbed wildlife attracts many visitors every year. This beautiful lake and surrounding area is also a great place for hiking with a variety of trails, there is a trail for everyone. Maligne Lake even has a 44km (27.5mi) trail, the Skyline Trail, which is by far the most popular. All of the trails have great views of the lake and surrounding area, so pick one that seems right for you. Personally I haven't done any of the trails at Maligne Lake yet, so I can't offer my opinion on which one is that best. You can rent canoes at Maligne Lake as well and there are guided fishing tours as well.

One thing I can give my opinion on is the Maligne Lake cruise to Spirit Island...the most photographed spot in Jasper National Park. The Maligne Lake Cruise is a 90 minute boat cruise that will take you on the blue waters of the lake with amazing mountain views to Spirit Island. Here you get off the boat for about 15-20 minutes to walk to the Spirit Island viewpoint. The view is fantastic and if you go in the summer time, later afternoon is the best for photos as the sun is behind you. On the way the guide will tell you some things about the history of Maligne Lake with some interesting facts. The boat ride is fun and the views along the way are beautiful as well, but the best views are at Spirit Island of course. Quite pricey, but definitely worth the money in my opinion!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    90
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Gorgeous in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Few people seem to take the time to drive up to Maligne Lake during winter and they have no idea what they are missing out on. We spent 4 nights at Jasper Park Lodge over Christmas and 2 of the days we spent snowshoeing around Maligne Lake. The views were absolutely spectacular, the snowshoeing was good-very good and, most importantly, it was almost devoid of people. The few who do make the drive up there just seem to park, get out and take photos and leave. Do the lake some justice and at least do one of the two short loops and you'll be rewarded with even better views as well as the chance to see some wildlife. We didn't see much wildlife while snowshoeing, but there were plenty of fox, fisher and snowshoe hare tracks and a small family group of mountain sheep were busy feeding on the edge of Medicine Lake on the drive up and back. So, avoid the crowds in town and on the ski hill for one morning or afternoon and take the drive up to Maligne Lake if you can.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceduna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Canada's a beautiful place to holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

There's nothing like the rockies! We stay in Jasper for two night, and the first evening there a herd of Elk came into town. The bull was bugling it was so cool, the next day we went for a drive up to maligne lake. On the way there we saw a bighorn sheep a wolf a moose and a grizzly. And maligne lake was amazing, with snow capped mountains and lots of wildlife. So many lakes though Canada and their all beautiful! We traveled down though the rockies down to baniff and stayed there for a few night, just beautiful. Will never get sick of going two Canada! This has been our second trip there and i will go again....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice and beautiful lake with good hikings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The lake is one of the best around Jasper National park and is bigger than others. There are some nice trails to practice hiking. We did "The bald trail", about 3 hours return. It was quite hard at the begin but when you get the top you can forget the bad moments. There were some attractions as boat rents and more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My paradise place, Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friend and i did a month,s tour of the Rockies , Vancouver [and island] and a cruise to Alaska,and although we saw some fantastic sights for me the highlight of my tour had to be Maligne lake and the road to it. We did the lake cruise to Spirit island-I felt it was quite expensive, but glad I did it- the sky was cloudless and the day was perfect-{I now have the famous picture as my FB Timeline banner} When returning at night to see the sunset we saw a big Grizzly bear right by the side of the road. Needless to say we missed the sunset!! but did see the wonderful 'Alpenglow' on the mountains.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Lake also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Maligne Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maligne Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.