We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous in winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maligne Lake

Maligne Lake
Maligne Lake Rd. | 44 km (27 mi) southeast of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Maligne Lake like an insider
Top Rated
$53*
and up
Jasper City Sightseeing Tour
Attraction details
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Gorgeous in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Few people seem to take the time to drive up to Maligne Lake during winter and they have no idea what they are missing out on. We spent 4 nights at Jasper Park Lodge over Christmas and 2 of the days we spent snowshoeing around Maligne Lake. The views were absolutely spectacular, the snowshoeing was good-very good and, most importantly, it was almost devoid of people. The few who do make the drive up there just seem to park, get out and take photos and leave. Do the lake some justice and at least do one of the two short loops and you'll be rewarded with even better views as well as the chance to see some wildlife. We didn't see much wildlife while snowshoeing, but there were plenty of fox, fisher and snowshoe hare tracks and a small family group of mountain sheep were busy feeding on the edge of Medicine Lake on the drive up and back. So, avoid the crowds in town and on the ski hill for one morning or afternoon and take the drive up to Maligne Lake if you can.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    110
    19
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ceduna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Canada's a beautiful place to holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

There's nothing like the rockies! We stay in Jasper for two night, and the first evening there a herd of Elk came into town. The bull was bugling it was so cool, the next day we went for a drive up to maligne lake. On the way there we saw a bighorn sheep a wolf a moose and a grizzly. And maligne lake was amazing, with snow capped mountains and lots of wildlife. So many lakes though Canada and their all beautiful! We traveled down though the rockies down to baniff and stayed there for a few night, just beautiful. Will never get sick of going two Canada! This has been our second trip there and i will go again....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice and beautiful lake with good hikings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The lake is one of the best around Jasper National park and is bigger than others. There are some nice trails to practice hiking. We did "The bald trail", about 3 hours return. It was quite hard at the begin but when you get the top you can forget the bad moments. There were some attractions as boat rents and more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My paradise place, Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friend and i did a month,s tour of the Rockies , Vancouver [and island] and a cruise to Alaska,and although we saw some fantastic sights for me the highlight of my tour had to be Maligne lake and the road to it. We did the lake cruise to Spirit island-I felt it was quite expensive, but glad I did it- the sky was cloudless and the day was perfect-{I now have the famous picture as my FB Timeline banner} When returning at night to see the sunset we saw a big Grizzly bear right by the side of the road. Needless to say we missed the sunset!! but did see the wonderful 'Alpenglow' on the mountains.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“World Famous View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We did the boat ride to Spirit Island. This was a lovely attraction with a view you will not soon forget, and an absolute paradise if you fancy yourself a photographer.

Likes: price was reasonable. You can get a bit of a discount if you book through one of the adventure tour places in Jasper and bundle it with some other activities like rafting or the tramway. It was raining when we got there, and even though our tickets were for 3pm, we were told we could wait it out and take one of the later boats to see if it would stop raining. That is just what we did, and we ended up going at 5pm instead and had amazing weather and photos, so that was great. While we waited, we did the short hike along the lakeshore. It was an easy walk and provided a few photo opportunities of the mountain, lake and wildlife.

The guide on the boat was friendly and informative and it made the boat ride very nice. The view of Spirit Island was simply breathtaking and worth every penny.

Dislikes:
1. Biggest dislike was that the boat only stops for about 30 minutes to get the pictures of Spirit Island. Do yourself a favour and sit near the back of the boat so you can be the first one off, and book it to the viewing platform as quick as you can.
2. Other drivers on the road that were going way too fast. Slow down! This is a national park and if you run over all the wildlife there won't be any left! In my opinion Parks Canada should totally install photo radar along these drives and ticket the hell out of people with no respect.

Keep in Mind: It was a bit of a drive ( I think about 2-3 hours) from Jasper. We were slowed down by stopping a few times to see wildlife on the sides of the road (some elk and bears). There are a few look off points to see along the way as well, so give yourself some time to take it slow and really enjoy all there is to see.

There is a cafeteria/restaurant at Maligne Lake, although I found it pricey. So I would pack some snacks, especially since there isn't really anywhere to stop and grab a snack along the drive to/from Jasper.

There is a canoe/kayak rental place so you can go explore out on the lak youself. I don't know the price of this as it was raining the day we went, although had it been nicer we totally would have done it. There are also some other, longer hikes you can do in the area, although again we were rained out of going on these.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Lake also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Maligne Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maligne Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.