We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tekarra Lodge to your Saves list
Tekarra Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Fareham, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

Tekarra lodge is in a very nice location overlooking a river yet just 1 mile from Jasper. The wooden lodges are very charming. We staying in an 'Athabasca cabin' which was large enough for our family of 4, but would have been very cramped with the maximum of 7. There's no TV, but you can hire DVDs with a portable player. On Tuesday and Saturday evening there is a free wildlife talk that is well worth going to. It's not cheap, but generally comparable with other places in Jasper and much better than an hotel room. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    77
    36
    25
    24
See reviews for
67
109
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

If you are looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it. It doesn't have a T.V, Phone or alarmclock, but that's exactley what we were looking for. My girlfriend and I stayed in the athabasca cabin which is about 10 steps away from a perfect view of the athabasca river. Other cabins may not be independent and will not be as secluded as the athabascan. I had read some reviews written prior to going and there were alot of comments made about rodents etc. i never saw one mouse the 3 days we were there. I would definately go back again. Check out horseshoe lake if you go for a swim!!

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — the smell of smoke in the cabin
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your own small BBQ. The cabin and beds are small
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

After reading other reviews we were skeptical but the cabins are wonderful and rustic. This place may not be for everyone but it was definitely our style and we loved it. Our cabin was clean and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurant is the best we have ever eaten in and the view from the bluff is fantastic, watching the full moon come up over the mountains was breathtaking. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful trip but unfortunately, the low point was the Tekarra Lodge. We are a family of 4 who were greatly disappointed upon opening the door. The room was small and that's ok, but it was not what the web site promised nor was it clean. (A cleaning rag was left on the kitchen table, a coffee cup was dirty, food was baked onto the stovetop, coffee grounds were still on the counter and not enough forks or chairs for the four of us.) We fortunately were granted a check out in the am although we were told there was a two night minimum.
Would not recommend this place nor do we plan to visit there again.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Canada, originally from UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

We originally booked for 4 nights but upon reading negative Tripadvisor reviews AFTER we booked we suspected a problem and reduced this to 2 nights. 2 nights was still too long in the tiny Miette cabin with the unexplicably large fireplace that 'must not be used for heating' ??
Being in such a tiny cabin made the mouse problem all the worse with the little creatures running freely through the cabins and on the bed whilst we slept. Sleep was at a premium such is the noise they make all night.
We left our cabin to sleep in the car at 2am in the morning such was the nuisance caused in the cabin.
We couldn't leave quickly enough but had to wait until 8am for reception to open. The young assistant was unable to get a manager as I requested and was totally un-moved and un-apologetic on hearing my complaint. Instead she went into what was clearly a well rehearsed and often used response which blamed me for not using the emergency number (although no phones or TV's in the cabins), infomed me that it was a wilderness area (it isn't), informed me the mice only come inside when it rains and asked me what I expected from a 50 year old cabin ? Without prompting I was offered a discount which I refused saying nothing less than a full refund was acceptable. A full refund was given.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

Overpriced and under kept. A dump with basic amenities.
The staff were indifferent.
However, the food at the Tekerra Lodge was very good.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of Jonview's fly drive package tour of Canada's western lodges and ranches.

It is set in a superb location with excellent views and we had a cabin adjacent to the river although unfortunately the weather was pretty grim for our stay.

The cabins are clean, basic but comfortable and the beds were the most comfortable we slept on for our whole tour. If you are looking for 4 or 5 star treatment then this is not the place for you. There is no tv, radio, clocks or phone in the cabin - pure bliss !!!

We found the staff helpful and friendly and the restaurant was very good for both the evening meal and breakfast and reasonably priced.

We had no problems with mice but as it is set in a National Park, you can’t expect all wildlife to avoid the cabins!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the towering pines, Tekarra Lodge sits atop a ridge overlooking the convergence of the Miette and Athabasca Rivers in Jasper National Park. Tekarra Lodge is located just two kilometers south from the town of Jasper, Alberta.Tekarra Lodge's guest cabins are quaint and unique in design, offering privacy and relaxation as well as a compliment of amenities and the plush comforts of home. The rustic charm of the Canadian wilderness, keeps guests returning year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tekarra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.