We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed here many times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tekarra Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We have stayed here many times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Tekarra is a wonderful, tranquil place. Elk and deer a plenty. The cabins are slowly being updated and this year wifi is now available. The cabins are quaint and quiet and yep they are rustic. No matter, that is what we go for. Over the past ten years we have never seen a mouse or a bed bug so don't worry about that. The staff are A-1 and go out of their way to please guests. It is a bit pricey but you can prepare simple meals in the cabins so we factor that into the overall costs of staying in this marvelous setting. We have already booked for next year and that will be our eleventh year. And the best part, Tekarra is pet friendly so the whole family can enjoy a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    63
    27
    23
    24
See reviews for
49
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Tekarra Lodge was built more than a half century ago. Marilyn Monro stayed at the lodge during the filming of "River of No Return" in 1954. The cabins are small, cosy and clean, the bathrooms updated, and environment delightful. It is located walking distance to the Jasper townsite along the river bank where the Athabasca and Meitte River merge. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and focused on ensuring your stay with them is very pleasant. The dining room is first class, from the knowledgable serving staff to the menu and chef.

We enjoyed sitting by the riverbank, glass of wine in hand and reading, as well as walking along the river bank watching and listening to nature at its best.

NO television (a blessing), free WiFi, great restaurant, magnificent setting....what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a Columbia cabin for 4 nights in early September. The cabin was as cute and as quiet as could be. We were very pleased to find there was no television in the room. Elk were roaming only feet from our door. Meals and presentation at the dining room were world class. The fireplace tended to be smoky but we learned to keep fires small. Staff was very friendly and helpful. So happy that we could have our dog with us. The walk to the town was the perfect length.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked an Alberta cabin about 3 months ahead of our family hiking trip, and although I requested a river view, we were given a cabin that faced a road and the back of the lodge on one side and the back of another cabin on the other. Here we were in Jasper and we could have been at a roadside motel anywhere. In addition, the pictures on the website were unbelievably deceptive. The cabin was TINY. We had to move the coffee table each time the four of us wanted to sit down at the tiny table space. There is more room in a 2 queen bed standard hotel room. The cabin was overwhelmingly dark as there was almost no natural light. We could not have been more underwhelmed.
In addition when we showed up the lock to the door was broken so we got locked in the room and then locked out. While the mechanics did their best to fix the problem as fast as they could, we were 1.5 hours standing around on the front step over dinner time with our two children. We eventually asked the front desk to move us, as we couldn't leave the cabin since it wouldn't lock with all our possessions inside it and we needed to go eat. They refused to move us and their solution was to have someone sit on our porch while we went into Jasper for dinner. What?! Needless to say we stayed and ate crackers and snacks we brought with us.
Finally, for this dark, crowded shoebox with a view of cars and roads we paid the most we paid for ANY hotel or condominium on our entire 16 day trip through the Rockies - including hotels in Vancouver and Victoria. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We booked a small two bed room above the restaurant.
The room was clean, but very old, it was freezing in there and we couldn't turn on the heat! And you don't get warm blankets or anything. It's very noisy and you can hear everything the neighbours do or say. And for this experience you pay A LOT!
So we do not recommend The Tekarra Lodge at all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in August - wish we had stayed longer. Felt like we were in a remote location although Jasper is very close. We had a one bedroom Columbia cabin. The bedroom had a comfortable king bed. My daughter slept in the double bed in the alcove and my son was on the sleeper sofa. I liked being able to cook to save on meals (though the kitchen could have used some baking dishes). We had a package that included 2 full breakfasts at the restaurant - very good food and friendly wait staff. At one edge of the property the view overlooks the Athabasca River. You can sit in chairs and read or watch rafters going by. There are also laundrey facilities which is a plus. Additionally, we borrowed some games from the front desk to play in the evening. We would definately go back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in a Lodge B&B Room for one night while driving thru Rockies. The Lodge was in a beautiful location with a spectacular view over the rivers. The rooms were clean and comfortable just a bit small - especially the bathroom. However I would recommend it as a scenic alternative to staying in a hotel in town. The restaurant served excellent food and we had the pleasure of seeing some elk wander past while dining. Would love to stay in cabins for an extended holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the towering pines, Tekarra Lodge sits atop a ridge overlooking the convergence of the Miette and Athabasca Rivers in Jasper National Park. Tekarra Lodge is located just two kilometers south from the town of Jasper, Alberta.Tekarra Lodge's guest cabins are quaint and unique in design, offering privacy and relaxation as well as a compliment of amenities and the plush comforts of home. The rustic charm of the Canadian wilderness, keeps guests returning year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tekarra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.