We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climatic change is here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athabasca Glacier

Athabasca Glacier
127 km (79 mi) north of Lake Louise | 103 km (64 mi) south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
Activities: Hiking, Walking, Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The snow never melts on this glacier, a major tourist attraction.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Climatic change is here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

In this amazing and beautiful glacier we could see how the pass of the years are finishing with this glacier., We were walking until be beside of him and only 20 years ago the glacier was coming 100 metres down the hill. It was one of my favourite places in this area

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    50
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent ,Awesome sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We drove all day towards the glacier from lake Louise. The sights along the Icefields Parkway were constantly awesome, a neverending vista of peaks and glaciers. Around every corner was another photostop and although the weather deteriorated as the day wore on[our only day of rain in the whole month] we managed to come out of the rain and the skys began to clear as we got to Peto Lake, [do stop here-the colour of the lake is amazing] and then Athabasca glacier. What an awesome visit that was-a must do. We took the ice bus onto the glacier down an 18*slope-so exciting to see a glacier at such close quaters and actually be able to walk on it. Wear good non slip shoes or take a walking stick like i did!! and your camera-I guarentee you will be awed into silence.We paid less by prebooking at Banff Gondola for 3 attractions,[Lake Minnewanka,Banff Gondola and Glacier bus] but i believe you can do the same from the glacier visitor centre if you are doing the Parkway in reverse to Banff. It does save quite a bit as the tickets are not cheap-$57approx for glacier.Food is good at the visitor centre and not that expensive.We did the glacier tour first then did the walk from the bottom of the glacier car park later. Park first in the visitor centre carpark to dothe tour, then you can drive over to the other carpark, otherwise it is a lot of walking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Its something you must tick off on your trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'm so happy I had the opportunity to get this done. We took the bus onto the glacier and it was amazing. We had a small amount of snow cover and had a mini snow fight :) also it was recommended we fill up a water bottle with fresh glacial water and it tasted like so very refreshing and the fact that you're standing on a glacier is a truly memorable experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Raw Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent attraction - worth your time - do no pass it up if you are driving the Ice Fields Parkway!! Full service visitor center (no charge). Allow 1-2 hrs time for the visitor center itself. Another 1 hr for the glacier ride (optional) and well worth the expense. Price for food on the high side - so bring your own snacks. Be sure and use your AAA/CAA/AARP card to get your discount for the glacier excursion which is highly recommended ($45 Canadian with discount). You will need a warm coat and good shoes for the glacier excursion because you will spend 20 minutes walking around the glacier and that is more than enough time to experience the RAW air coming down the glacier from the Columbia Ice Fields. This attraction should be on everybody's "bucket list".

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, walk it if you possibly can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Even if you don't have the kit still go as gloves hats, boots, crampons etc are provided if required. Be prepared for a slight climb to begin, you will puff a bit if you normally live at sea level! Larry, our guide was brilliant, amazing enthusiasm and knowledge, I will never forgot all that I learned on this walk. It is dangerous without a guide, don't even think about going alone. The scenery is beautiful, the streams and mill wells awesome. It was good walking with a group of complete strangers, we all soon started to help each, working as a team. I would highly recommend this trip and drink the glacier water whilst you're up there! Fab

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athabasca Glacier also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Athabasca Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athabasca Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Athabasca Glacier to your Saves list