We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price. Excellent quality bedding...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Grande Prairie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Grande Prairie to your Saves list
Super 8 Grande Prairie
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10050 116th Ave., Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 7N6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    43
    32
    14
See reviews for
49
19
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I called to the front desk last night to arrange a seat on the shuttle bus to the airport. I was told it left at 5:30. The next morning while getting ready I received a call at 5:10 asking if I could come downstairs right now because the shuttle actually leaves at 5:10. I rushed quickly and made it, but there isn't much benefit of a great free breakfast if you're told the wrong time and can't get any. The lady at the front desk was apologetic and said she would have gotten me a cab, but I've already missed one first thing in the morning flight due to late cabs and I'd prefer not to risk it again.

Overall a generally poor experience from a hotel I used to enjoy.

Also note, the Internet is slow to the point where it is basically unusable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Good day,

I hope that the discussion and rectification you received with Sherry was adequate. As mentioned the hotel uses PCO to ensure we have no issues at the hotel and to date we have been completely free of any mice in any of the guest rooms. I again apologize for the issue.

Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I come to GP for work quite often and was looking for a hotel to make my regular.

I've stayed here a couple times at Super 8 and thought it was great. I came today and discovered the hot tub was down. Not a huge deal.. Then I found mouse poop in my room (pics added). I called the front desk to let them know. They asked if I wanted to change rooms, I said no there isn't much point. And that was the end of the convo. Didn't even ask my name or room or let me know they would look into it.

I love this hotel because of great breakfasts and the hotel shuttle, but having mouse poop and the staff not seeming to mind is probably a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
My sincere apologizes on this incident that took place. We are contacting you directly to discuss the situation and the rectification of this event. Again we apologize.

Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location, mall right across the street, plenty of restaurants to chose from. The first room we received smelled like smoke so they gave us the family suite. It was a great room, bigger than apartments I've lived in across the country. My daughter loved the pool, the slide was great. My only complaint is the hot tub wasn't working. The staff was excellent, pleasant housekeepers as well. Will stay here next time I'm in town for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. I am glad the team was able to rectify the situation for you and I hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in a Queen suite that could accomodate 6 people. The queen bed was in a large separate bedroom, twin bunk beds in a separate bedroom for the kids, queen sofa bed with fireplace in the living room and full kitchen. The suite was a comfortable size for the 5 of us. We were in town for a wedding and other guests that were staying in the hotel with us also requested a queen suite. Not all the suites are the same! Their "queen suite" was extremely cramped and they were very unhappy! Their bathroom was tiny, small living room, did not have a full kitchen, easily half the size of ours. In order to get to the kids separate room, you had to walk through the parent's room and there was barely enough room to walk around the bed. Make sure to specify the suite with the fireplace for the larger room.

We had requested a non-smoking room which it was, however, you had to walk through the smoking area to get to the suite. The first half of the hallway was filled with smoking rooms and the entire hallway smelled strongly of smoke. The hotel could use some renos, as the carpets were stained and rooms were showing wear. The free buffet breakfast had many options, was hot and well stocked. The kids loved the water slide and pool, however, while we stayed here the hot tub remained drained and not available for guests to use. The hotel is close to the shopping mall, movie theater, and several restaurants. This hotel is a good choice for a short stay for the budget conscious traveller.

Room Tip: If requesting the queen suite with bunk beds and sofa bed, make sure to ask for the suite with the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are currently working on many upgrades to the property this past year and are continuing on into the next year. We are working towards having the original wing that was built upgraded with new carpeting, paint and furniture along with the construction of the pool area for a new hot tub and many more updates at the property.

Thanks again,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Comfortable beds and pillows; nice pool with playroom and water slide for the kids (ask for towels for the pool at the front desk); small but efficient fitness centre with towels, water cooler, wall mirrors and TV; good simple breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, make-your-own waffles, toast, pastries, muffins, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee); front desk staff very helpful; tea and coffee maker in the rooms; mini-fridge in the room; room is very dark when the curtain is closed all the way; good location and easy to find. There is a shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: If there is a long line for breakfast, skip that line and go to the other side of the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate when our guests take the time to write a review. We appreciate all comments as they aid us in growth.

Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Grande Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grande Prairie

Address: 10050 116th Ave., Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 7N6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grande Prairie 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find many motels in and around Grande Prairie, AB, but only Super 8 Motel offers outstanding value for your travel dollar. We’re conveniently located minutes away from all of the main attractions of Grande Prairie, Alberta. Our 149 attractive guest rooms set standards for outstanding comfort and value among Grande Prairie motels. And Super 8 Motel Grande Prairie’'s hard-working staff is always ready to serve you, whenever you need us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Grande Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Prairie Super Eight
Grande Prairie Super 8
Super Eight Grande Prairie
Super 8 Grande Prairie Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Grande Prairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.