We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Grande Prairie

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Grande Prairie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15402 - 101 Street | Exit off Highway #2 at 154 Ave. Intersection, Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V0P7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Grande Prairie
Yellowknife, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The motel was better than expected-I decided to give it another try, staying for 2 nights.
The good:
Check in/out easy
AC fantastic with the recent heat wave
TV in room modern (flat screen)
Bed feels "springy", but surprisingly comfortable
The motel offers the internet cord and an iron if requested
Price was great on special (summer sale)
Truly pet friendly, which is great for me
Offer faxing service if necessary, which was a great perk
Room very clean
Plentiful parking

The semi-bad, from 5 to 4 star:
Carpets (mainly hallway) is quite dirty/stained, looks like it needs a good steam clean
No hairdryer in the bathroom (realized too late)-although they do have them downstairs to borrow if needed
Location is good for drivers, bad for delivery people...called around for supper and local places wanted nearly $10 for a single meal as it was "outside delivery route"
Business still advertises paying in various forms outside credit card, but this location requires one-unlike most motel 6's. If you have one, great/no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the M6 Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am pleased to see you took the time to tell us how we went from a 5 star to a 4 in your opinion. At Motel 6 -Grande Prairie we believe pets are family and are always happy to accommodate them too! I am please to also hear that you were able to take advantage of the "Summer Sale" and were satisfied with the savings!

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Blue
Front Desk Manager
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
7
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gatton, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay in GP, booked the motel using the WiFi at McDonald's & turned up 15 minutes later. When we checked in, we were then given a "Summer Sale" rate, which saved us another $12 for the night (it all adds up) Great service, no complaints at all, would be quite happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the M6 Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our `Summer Sale` and were satisfied with the savings! We strive to provide our guests with exceptional service and are pleased to hear your expectations were met.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Blue
Front Desk Manager
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thinking of relocating to Grande Prairie and used trip advisor to search hotels. Warm greeting and great rate. Free Internet but did have to ask for the Internet cord as I forgot mine. No wireless Internet. A great place to stay. Just what we were looking for. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the M6 Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and are pleased to hear that your expectations were met.

Thank you for bringing up that you weren't able to find our hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. I will be sure to make up direction charts for our Front Desk Agents to further assist our guests with directions to our location. I will also have Maintenance look into all our exterior lighting to make sure our property is fully lit accordingly.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Blue
Front Desk Manager
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had to have surgery and they gave us the medical rate! Most places will not do this, I was very grateful as we travelled over four hours to do the operation and with the expense of gas, food and hotel and missing work, I was very relieved to have them offer this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the M6 Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We Strive to provide exceptional customer service and are pleased to hear that your expectations were met!

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Blue
Front Desk Manager
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My first trip to Grand Prairie, and it was nice after 100+ miles of dark, snow, and watching for MOOSE to see the familiar blue sign with the red 6.
The staff was more than friendly and helpful. Happy to give a Florida boy some extra blankets.

I only gave "value" a lower rating because ALL hotels in Canada are double the price of the same property in the states. Makes no sense when our dollars have been almost even for a few years now. In any event, it won't keep me from going back!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the M6 Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and are happy to hear that your expectations were met!

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Blue
Front Desk Manager
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice room for under a hundred. Heater kept cycling on and off throughout the night (every 2 minutes)...called front desk that night and they said that this wasn't normal (obviously)...front desk said they would have maintenance look at it in the morning. They offered a different room for the night if i wanted to move...i declined as i was settled in and comfortable. I was informed the next morning that unplugging the unit and plugging it back in will reset the unit and fix this problem. Would have been nice if front desk had suggested this as a fix that night...or in hindsight...i had tried this myself...live and learn. Heater issue aside...If i find myself in Grand Prairie needing a place to stay again...I will not hesitate to book myself into Motel 6.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, General Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We strive for excellent customer service and customer satisfaction. I am sorry that the front desk staff was unable to help you immediately, however I am glad that this isssue regarding the heater was solved. I am happy to hear that on your future trips to Grande Prairie you will be staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Nicole Prediger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It's a budget motel. Probably the lowest rate in GP.
Room was clean and quiet, however it was ver small almost claustrophobic.
If you need soap etc, you need to ask for it at the front desk.
If simply want to safe money, it's the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, General Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests.

I have reviewed your comments and concerns, and I want to assure you that I take them very seriously. Our relationship with our guests is extremely important to us. We are looking forward to seeing you gain.

Sincerely,

Nicole Prediger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Grande Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Grande Prairie

Address: 15402 - 101 Street | Exit off Highway #2 at 154 Ave. Intersection, Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V0P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grande Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Grande Prairie 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 Grande Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Grande Prairie Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Grande Prairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.