We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matrix Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Matrix Hotel to your Saves list
Matrix Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10640 100 Avenue NW | 107th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3N8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay & Save Special
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
1 review
“Great Hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I frequently travel to Edmonton for business and I always stay at the Matrix. Not only is this a great, clean hotel and is just a couple of blocks from our Edmonton office, but they have consistently displayed excellent customer service. This is isn't my first review of this hotel but I feel that another review is in order.
The Room is very clean, with clean carpet and enough living space to not make you feel all cooped up. My only issue with the room was the A/C system. It would shut off every 5 mins (it seemed) and then kick back in 5 mins later. When you're a light sleeper (as I am) this is going to be a problem.
Their beds are still one of the best hotel beds I have slept on with the conziest linen and pillows. I have stayed in so many of the Matrix's rooms to say that their beds are consistent in all/most rooms.
The Bathrooms are also clean. However, I have noticed in my most recent stays that the towels are getting old and worn. On a few occasions I have seen floor towels that were frayed at the edges.

Staff at the Matrixare awesome! They are very friendly and they remember you if you stay there enough times, I guess. I particularly love the evening wine and cheese socials (yes, they're free!) where you can easily unwind after a long day at work.

However...in one of my previous stays I was given a room that, unfortunately, had a busted thermostat and no matter how much you adjusted the temp to it's lowest setting the room remained at a warm 25degC. On my first night I woke up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat so I called front desk and they sent up a fan. On my second day, I asked and was moved to a different room and the rest of my stay was the usual great experience that I have come to know with the Matrix. Until I checked out. When I checked out the front desk manager asked me how my stay went and I pretty much told him. He then asked me "what can I do to make it up to you?". This is where the BUT comes in. First of all, this is not the question that you should ask your customers as it makes them look like they demand/expect something in return. Then he gave me his card and told me to email him before my next stay for an upgrade. This is another customer service NO NO. Again, making it seem that the customer is expecting something and will hold you to it. In customer service, you proactively offer. A nice touch would be to put a note in the customer's profile that the next stay would have some perks.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    272
    73
    25
    21
See reviews for
72
196
58
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent one night at the Matrix hotel in Edmonton and was blown away with our experience. The staff were very kind and accommodating. Rooms were very spacious and clean upon our arrival. The hotel is perfectly located downtown near many restaurants.

This is a very upscale boutique hotel at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Matrix for one night in April. We got a really great rate compared to other Edmonton hotels. When we checked in, we were notified of the free wine and cheese tasting in the evening. Before our supper reservation at Wildflower Grill we went to the wine and cheese tasting. We were both blown away by the excellent spread and complimentary wine that was available. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant in the hotel. It was a tad expensive, but the portions and presentation were worth it.
The hotel room has been wonderfully updated. They were very clean, with comfortable beds. The only disappointment was the parking at the hotel. Underground or covered parking would be preferred.

Room Tip: Great breakfasts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

First time staying at the Matrix. Great experience! Close proximity to downtown sights and restaurants. The overall decor, furniture and amenities are all very modern and chic. Rooms were super clean and nicely presented. But most of all, the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Will definitely be back!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've been staying here for years for business trips and almost always have a positive experience. Staff are really friendly and rooms are good quality. Great breakfast in the morning and wine night is also great.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a night in April. The facilities were very good and the staff very helpful

The only thing I found confusing was how to switch the lights on in the bedroom - eventually i found the switch!

One bizarre element was when I went for breakfast which I was told was free, I was handed a check slip by the staff which showed me the total as $0 with a discount of $15. Wierd.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've stayed here for many years on business. The location is great, and over time the hotel has improved from good to great. I always enjoy the wine tasting and the great breakfasts. The staff are friendly and efficient

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matrix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matrix Hotel

Address: 10640 100 Avenue NW | 107th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matrix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matrix Hotel’s luxurious surroundings highlight the urban lifestyle of downtown Edmonton. All Matrix guestroom rates are inclusive of Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Evening Wine Tasting, Parking, High Speed and Wireless Internet Access, Business and Fitness Centre Access, Local and Calling Card Telephone Access. The hotel is conveniently situated within walking distance of light rail transit, the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, major corporate office towers, boutiques, restaurants, entertainment and Edmonton’s incredible river valley park system. Naturally inspired by elemental design, Matrix combines the sleek sophistication of custom-designed furnishings with the simplistic beauty of natural materials to produce an environment that is both elegant and serene. The Lobby features rich soft grey and black leather seating and dazzling two story stone fireplace with water feature. A dramatic floating staircase leads you from the Lobby to our Hospitality Suite also featuring a second cozy fireplace and outdoor glass terrace. Interesting artifacts punctuate warm hues of silver, pewter and platinum throughout the Hotel’s public spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Matrix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matrix Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matrix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.