We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim sum !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Tan Tan

New Tan Tan
10133 97 Street NW | Edmonton, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0L2, Canada
(780) 420-1838
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 2,020 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Szechuan, Dim Sum
Restaurant details
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dim sum !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After errands, close by to this neighborhood, we both were hungry and went in TANTAN for some foods.

To my surprise, this place is a lot roomier than outlook. We were greed by a cheerful server, as soon as we be seated and looked around... The whole restaurant filled with non Asian for Dim-sum that would be fun.
We had: Shrimp dumpling; meat dumpling; chicken feet: curry squid: beef stripe with ginger and deep fry shrimp.

Beside the squid is a bit too hard in overall, our food was very good but the price for the same dishes is China town would be lower and also more parking available. The advantage of this place is just cross street from Canada Place, close by to the Convention center...when you are in the area like me, and give it a try...

We had a good time chat away, if I am in the area I do not mind to come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Traditional Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Saturday morning and was happy to find New Tan Tan, close to both the Fairmont and Westin hotels downtown. Traditional dim sum cart service with all the usual offerings. Fresh, hot, and tasty. Apparently no MSG as I didn't get the headache later in the day. Popular with the locals, as the restaraunt filled up quickly. I highly recommend this place for downtown dim sum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fresh & Flavourful Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Went with some colleagues for lunch today. Good to see the traditional cart service. The offerings that were made were fresh and flavourful. The offerings were somewhat limited in variety but no complaints with the items tried. I would try it again with the hope that there would be a larger variety of items. Pricing is a little high but is not a major impediment to visiting. This is one of a few restaurants that offers Dim Sum service beyond what most would consider "normal" Dim Sum hours of service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Dim Sum...Yum Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is one of my favourite lunch-time restaurants close to China Town and the service is always fast and friendly.The restaurant is located across from the Pink Federal Gov't Building on 97st and near the corner of Jasper Avenue It's not fancy inside, but clean and brightly lit. When you sit down at the table a waitress will bring you a big pot of green tea to start. Then the ladies pushing the food carts will start rolling by. Sticky rice, pork dumplings, shrimp cakes are great. My favourites are the flattened chicken breast on a stick with a honey garlic sauce, and the flattened beef on a stick in a a mild bar-b-q sauce. To finish get the coconut buns, as they are yummy too. If you don't see what you want on the carts going by, just ask the ladies, and they will have it made for you. The only problem with Dim Sum is your eyes are bigger than your stomach, and you take too much, just ask for a doggy to take the rest home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Dim Sum is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Had not visited this place for several years. Looked like it had had some work done so was nice and bright. As we sat down, a pot of tea was delivered which was a nice touch. Dim sun trolleys at our table right away - nice selection. The food was hot and delicious. Prices are a bit on the high side but we didn't mind as the quality was there to support it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Tan Tan also viewed

 

Been to New Tan Tan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Tan Tan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.