We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dadeo Diner and Bar

Dadeo Diner and Bar
10548A 82ave, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 2A4, Canada (Strathcona)
(780) 433-0930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,978 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Strathcona
Description: A unique dining experience serving Cajun and Creole cuisine. The sweet potato fries come highly recommended.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Small place...great food...very busy, can be a challenge to get a seat but hang in there. Interesting selection of beers....YUM! Best Yam Fries ever!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    83
    17
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best "date" place in Edmonton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Dadeo has been #1 Whyte Avenue choice for me for many years. It has a relaxing atmosphere, jazzy and full of fun art and things to look at. It is so much fun to introduce new people to, as I have never taken anyone there that hasn't loved it.
The staff a upbeat and friendly. Service is always good.
The food, in which there are many choices is excellent. Try different things each time you go, but don't forget to try the sweet potato fries, they are the BEST in the city.
If you are going there on Sat. or Sun. for lunch, make reservastions. Same goes for date nights of Friday and Saturday. Please remember that Dadeo is closed on Wednesday, which is more than fair as staff need days off too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Super cute and fun place to eat. I had the oyster po' boy and my friend had the blackened catfish po' boy. Both good but the oyster one was much better. Also had the blackened shrimp and scallops, worth going just for those. So good. Pretty casual and the service is OK. Will go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“We love it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We only moved to Edmonton three months ago and we've already been to Dadeo multiple times. The food is consistently fresh and delicious! We've had a great mac & cheese special before and Mondays are $9 po-boy days, which are all fabulous. Don't miss out on their sweet potato fries, they are incredible. They also have a chili beer that has a great kick to it. Make a reservation so you don't end up disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Orleans food at -20 degrees C.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Love this little restaurant on Whyte Ave. seating is limited so make a reservation. We had the fritters to start - corn, jalapeño cheddar, crab Parmesan and sweet potato. My favourite is the corn but all were delicious. I had the tiger shrimp po boy which I really enjoyed. My friend had the pulled pork which was also good. The sauce was flavorful and we were trying to guess the spices in it. For sure there were cloves and pretty sure there was cinnamon. The bill was $43 included two ice teas each. All in all a good meal before heading back on the snow filled streets of Edmonton.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadeo Diner and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dadeo Diner and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadeo Diner and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.