We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Diner

Urban Diner
12427 - 102 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5N 0M2, Canada (Westmount)
780-488-7274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 1,885 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $15 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westmount
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“mmm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

good soup, more than decent mac&cheese for kids, i find it more than decent for edmonton, where u cant really expect the same tastes/quality as vancouver etc

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    52
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I took my family to Urban Diner for supper before the hockey game. We like the area and I like the basic and simple ambiance of the restaurant. The menu selection was not quite what I was expecting. It had a good assortment of sandwiches and some general comfort foods for main courses - Shepard's Pie, Meatloaf, Steak Sandwich, etc. The food was good, the service was OK, but it wasn't anything that would make me want to go back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch yesterday at the Urban Diner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a lovely place to go with family, kids, friends, anyone!
3 of us went for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The menu is quite simple, reasonable in price and delicious.What more could you ask for?
I chose the fish and chips, but noticed sandwiches and salads and mac and cheese and hotdogs and burgers going by.. they all looked and smelled yummy.
My friends had a steak sandwich and a reuben sandwich.
They said theirs were really good too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great quality food amazing deserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We had supper here not long ago. The service was average, but the place was busy so that was understandable. The food was great! Very flavourful. Reasonably priced. Nice portion. Relaxed casual atmosphere. The desert was superb, we had difficulty deciding which of those on offer we would have. We ended up choosing the banoffee pie. Mmmmmmm amazing! Will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta,Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch at the Urban Diner having heard it was very good from You Gotta Eat Here. It was quite busy but we were seated fairly quickly. We ordered the New England clam chowder and the split pea soup to start. For mains we ordered the poutine and the Mac and cheese with the hamburger mix. The clam chowder was very watery,almost a Manhattan clam chowder and tasted bland. The split pea soup was no better. The poutine was good as was the Mac and cheese but when you charge $4 for the hamburger mix I expect a little more than an extra ounce of burger. Our vanilla milkshake was very good. Service was adequate, prices high for ehat you get. I'll pass this restaurant next time I'm in the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Diner also viewed

 

Been to Urban Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.