We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Diner

Urban Diner
12427 - 102 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5N 0M2, Canada (Westmount)
780-488-7274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 1,979 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $15 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westmount
canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spotted this on a you gotta eat tv program and thought let's do it and we were not disappointed. Apparently it was quiet most often week then boom Friday lunch happened. We arrived 1205pm and was eating 1250, but the food was great. We opted for the meatloaf diner special, fresh, tasty, light and scrummy fries. Truly lovely food and the place was buzzing. The staff very busy but friendly and we're happy. We will be back and next time we will do the evening menu, you gotta eat there

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    45
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth trying put.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in here after catching an episode of you gotta eat here one the food network. There menu is small and old but i found something i liked and so did my husband. i had mac and cheese and he had the salmon burger. we shared the oreo tiamasu pie. i didnt like the pie it was kinda fatty... We enjoyed the atmosphereand the nice patio. we went for a walk after and the diner definately let in for a nice date night.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best weekend brunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is probably the restaurant I most frequent in Edmonton, probably because it does a swell job of my favourite meal-breakfast!!! Currently breakfast is only served Saturday 9-1 and Sunday 9-3, but there are now a few all-day breakfast options during the week for lunch and dinner. You honestly can't go wrong with anything on the brunch menu, everyone I know has a different favourite, and I could rave about almost every meal, but instead you should just go and try something!! Their diner potatoes and hollandaise sauce are out of this world, and most things come with the potatoes at least, add the hollandiase on the side if you are fan and enjoy! Their coffee is great, and their Banoffee and Lemon Sour Cream pies are so tasty! Their Reuben sandwich is also quite phenomenal. Really great food, great atmosphere, and great service. Love this place!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great place for a lunch on a nice patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The food (brunch) was really good and we had a nice patio table. We enjoyed the place, very much!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
465 helpful votes 465 helpful votes
“== best burger ==”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Best burger in Edmonton; lots of other good food (meatloaf) at good prices. Best fries as well. Try a Dutch delicacy: tiny pancakes called poffertjes.
Funky and friendly service.
Switch from breakfast to lunch around 1 PM on weekends is weird: there is no food for 45 minutes; they suggest you have a drink!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Diner also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Urban Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.