We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid Restaurant

Thai Orchid Restaurant
4009 Gateway Boulevard Northwest, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Calgary Trail South)
780-438-3344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 1,885 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Calgary Trail South
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Last night we were there for our Wedding Anniversary dinner. The food and service was par excellence.The waitress was very sweet and charming. The food quality was good. The portion has scope for improvement. Overall satisfaction was higher than average.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor value, cigarette smoke in the dinning room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I like Thai food very much but was disappointed in this meal. The dish was #26 it had much too much oil in it and much to little of everything else except rice which was an extra charge. The room smelled of smoke and I left hungry rather than to fill up on plain rice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt baldy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I'd go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We did take-out from here and the food was delicious. The staff was friendly, food was ready in good time and the prices were good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was surprised at the quality of the food since it was attached to an undesirable budget motel. The food saved my stay! I would go back again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta , canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went back to this restaraunt knowing that it had changed owners. We hoped to have as good a meal as last time but unfortunately we were disappointed with our experience.
We had reservations and although we were a few minutes late, were seated at our table without any trouble. Water was served to us and we received menus - all fairly soon after being seated.
And that was the end of any "promptness". After 15 minutes a waitress came and took our order which included soup, rice, salad and a curry dish. The soup arrived 20 minutes later and then the rest of our order took another 45 minutes to get to the table - over an hour after arriving at the restaraunt! The soup, rice and curry were very good, altho the beef was chewy/tough in the curry dish. I couldn't tell what the salad tasted like because it was so spicy we were unable to eat more than a few bites. The restaraunt should change the "hot " rating system ( one chili pepper!) to a two or even three pepper rating for that salad (btw, I can eat hot and spicy but this was just too hot!)!
Hopefully it was just an off night but I will likely not go back to this restaraunt because of the lengthy time spent waiting for our food to arrive, there are just too many other Thai places to try. out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.