We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For that price you would expect more care...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Packrat Louie

Packrat Louie
10335 83 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Strathcona)
(780) 433-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Packrat Louie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,979 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Strathcona
Cross street: 104 Street
Transit: One block south on Whyte avenue.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For that price you would expect more care...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been many times with my family to eat at the restaurant, in particular for lunch. Actually Packrat was one of my wife's favourite restaurant. However last time was ... My last time ever.
The waitress was very kind as usual and everything went well untill the fish I order (the snapper) arrived. It smelled horribly like a sewer. When we called the waitress and she smelled it she turned pale. It is impossible that the chef has not noticed it when he was cooking the fish. My family was not able to eat their fish (they order salmon and halibut).
We asked the bill and the waitress came with a smile saying they were not charging us for the putrid snapper... Too kind... All the rest was charged without a single cent discounted.
I

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really liked this place, had a delicious soup before my meal and the portions were good. Surprisingly not as expensive as the atmosphere would make you believe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few times and I'm always blown away by the flavour and service! I have not tried one bad dish so far at Packrat Louis, will be going back many times.. a favorite in Edmonton!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pre-wedding dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Eight of us gathered for a pre-wedding meet and celebrate event. The food was tasty and the service and ambience were good. We would go again to this pleasant restaurant

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Glad we popped in for lunch and we'll certainly return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Packrats has an old historic feel with modern elegance. We reviewed the menu before coming and had already decided what to have but once my fiancée saw their wood fire stove for their pizza he ordered that instead. I added a small serving of their daily soup (pork sausage and shrimp-simply delicious) as well as the blackened chicken burger. Our server was very nice. Lunch attire can be casual. I would probably not come for dinner in a t-shirt. We really enjoyed the well prepared food and found it to be reasonably priced. Try it out. I doubt you'd be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Packrat Louie also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Packrat Louie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Packrat Louie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.