We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Packrat Louie

Packrat Louie
10335 83 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Strathcona)
(780) 433-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Packrat Louie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 1,885 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Strathcona
Cross street: 104 Street
Transit: One block south on Whyte avenue.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Old standby of quality food and nice atmosphere. Not a big menu...but what they do ..they do well. Never have had a bad meal here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and good ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent restaurant and good ambiance. I don't know if they still do, they used to make their own chocolates as well, that you can buy "to go", and are delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still good after all these years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located in the heart of Old Strathcona across from the Farmer's Market, Gazebo Park, and next to Whyte Ave there is plenty of street and lot parking, and the occasional 2 hour free spot, available for your visit to Packrat Louie.
We were three people celebrating a birthday using a Groupon. The service was attentive and friendly. We decided to split one of the entrees and the thoughtful server suggested that for a small extra charge we could each have a full portion of the veg. It was perfect! Just the right amount of food and the potatoes were SO good.
The restaurant is filled with lots of natural light, it wasn't overly noisy, and there are black tablecloths under the butcher paper covers. They have a nifty way of presenting the desert menu (hint: it's why the tables have the paper covers.)

We had the Scallop and Crab cake, the Ribeye, the Porkchop, and the Warm Toffee cake (free for the birthday girl - nice!). All plates were practically licked clean.

1 appetizer & 2 entrees (including the $4 split fee) came to $88 with tax; no beverages. When I pay this much for an entree it had better be good, and it was.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“my favourite restaurant in the west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have gone to this restaurant since it's inception. Great food and staff. What an amazing choice for for any occasion. Great salads and main courses. Lemon pizza as an appetizer is great. Good list of wines at reasonable prices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
359 helpful votes 359 helpful votes
“In the heart of Old Strathcona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a great place to meet friends for lunch on a Saturday afternoon in Old Strathcona. Once you secure a parking spot all is well. Five of us enjoyed lunch at Packrat Louie's. I was pleased with the Salmon Filet while my friends enjoyed the seafood special, the soup of the day and pizza, the blackened chicken sandwich and the beet salad. Service was excellent. The menu is varied and priced appropriately for the quality of food. I look forward to coming back here for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Packrat Louie also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Packrat Louie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Packrat Louie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.