We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for sushi and sashimi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikado

Mikado
1903-98 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T6N 1L5, Canada
7804324500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mikado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,979 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 98 street
Transit: bus route 59 and 74
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great choice for sushi and sashimi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The assortment of sake has been reduced but the fish is always excellent. The Hamachi collar and Alaskan Black cod are my favorites. The oysters are excellent but phone first to reserve a dozen! :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow Lake, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stop here everytime we visit Edmonton. The food is always fresh and tastes great. We have tried just about everything on the menu. Our favorites are still the Spider roll and the California Roll. The Bento boxes are great for someone wanting to try a little of everything. Atmosphere is busy but not so much that you can't have a conversation between yourselves.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

There are a couple locations for this restaurant so I was suspect at the quality when I decided to give the location in South Edmonton Commons a try for lunch before making my 20 minute drive to Edmonton International airport. However this sushi experience was an absolute delight and I will return to experience some of the freshest and artistic sushi I have ever eaten for a very reasonable price, hopefully again soon. Well done and keep up the great inspirations for sushi art.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I love Dragon Eyes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my go-to Japanese restaurant. There are 3 branches in Edmonton and it's great that one of them is near where I live. You cannot go wrong with this restaurant. The menu choices have everything and they are all good. But my favourite and one I never fail to order when I'm dining: dragon eyes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fab! Respectful! Excellent! Opulent! Exquisite! Delightful! Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

All of the above words of our party, perfectly describes our first-time dining experience at Mikado. We all loved the spotless décor, and despite being very busy, our delicious fresh food was delivered to our table in a very timely manner. Everything was prepared the way we requested and without exception, easily exceeded our expectations. If you love Japanese cuisine, be sure to visit this Mikado location in South Edmonton Common.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.