We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food and experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikado

Mikado
10350 109 St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 4X9, Canada (Downtown)
780-425-8096
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #471 of 1,979 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great service, food and experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Always a delightful experience with very friendly servers. The sashimi was excellent, the fresh oysters were excellent and the tempura was very good. The lobster roll is outstanding.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    37
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner, slower service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just ate there tonight. The meal was enjoyable, good quality sushi, rolls, miso soup, and green tea ice cream. Very friendly staff. Prices were certainly not cheap but typical for quality sushi. Unfortunately I was done my meal for quite some time before being offered anything else, and then after I was done desert my credit card and the bill sat in the holder until the server finally came to take my money! This was at 5:30 on a thursday afternoon, so not a crazy night. It was certainly busy but maybe they need more staff?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“crowded too”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

this restaurant seems to have an envious reputation. I'm not sure why. The last two times we went the food was poor and the service was poor. Other places in the same area have far better service and food with far less rush.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sexsmith, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“really good sushi without the decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

very good sushi, pricing was fair, don't go for ambiance though. The service was decent, varied crowd. I miss the old location...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Mikado's is the only restaurant in Edmonton that has the freshest sushi. The fish is fresh and the chefs are brought in from Japan. Truly an authentic Japanese restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.