We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison's Grill

Madison's Grill
10053 Jasper Ave., Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1S5, Canada (Downtown)
780-421-7171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Madison's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 1,978 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 100 Street
Transit: LRT and Transit stops at Central conveniently located immediately in front of the hotel
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had breakfast while staying at the associated Union Bank Inn. The complimentary breakfast with a hotel stay has you simply order any regular item off the regular menu. I had an excellent flavourful dark roast coffee (French roast style) served in an individual insulated stainless steel carafe. My blue crab frittata was very well done and was accompanied with whole wheat toast, a fruit cup, sauteed potatoes and a side of ketchup. The server was friendly, efficient and professional. The venue is a spacious ballroom style room with chandeliers and architectural detailing. I've previously had lunch here and it was equally well executed. I highly recommend Madison's Grill, whether you're staying at the Union Bank Inn or are looking for a good lighter menu with a touch of coastal flare.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kitimat, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Madison's Grill....good, but.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would suggest that Madison's Grill in downtown Edmonton is likely one of the top choices for meals. I was treated to a breakfast the other day and my goodness...great staff and linen cloths...nice nice. Coffee was excellent...strong, dark and smooth was served with a pot on the table. Perfect. Wonderful food presentation..I had the western eggs Benedict....smoked salmon and nicely done poached eggs..with real side potatoes.

Side note tho...it was luke-warm, to the table. That irritated me. I chose to say nothing, and I am still happy with that, but...it should have been hot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Union Bank Inn which includes a free breakfast at Madison's Grill. It is always amazing food which is locally sourced. The sausage they serve is the best I have ever tasted and they won't tell where they get it from. The coffee they serve is equal to any served a speciality coffee shops. The service is top notch and is always friendly and perfect. We have had dinner here on past trips and it is always perfect. The romantic dinner for two is a wonderful treat that always impresses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The service is what keeps us coming back. It's second to none and the staff are always willing to go above and beyond to ensure you have a great night.

We've been three times now and enjoy this gem in central downtown Edmonton. The food is prepared and presented a cut above most places in Edmonton without the super high prices as some places are.

If you are looking for a place to take your wife or significant other on an awesome date night or to celebrate your special occasion, this place is it. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The good and the ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's a lovely room for a meal and conversation in the centre of Edmonton's downtown. The drawbacks are that the dinner and drinks menus are rather uninspired. The service is excellent, if a bit quirky and the food is well presented if, again, somewhat uninspiring. It is a pleasant place to be but, for the price, there are numerous better places for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison's Grill also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Madison's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.