We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Julio's Barrio

Julio's Barrio
10450 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Strathcona)
(780) 431-0774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 2,020 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Strathcona
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Enjoyed the patio, although it was a little cool not sitting under the propane heaters. Went during the Fringe so not sure if there is always a wait. Lots of tables empty inside but seemed to take a while to clear them off. Wait was worth it as the food was amazing. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    58
    40
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It's a fun place to go with friends, especially in the summer because there is a patio. Decent food but the drinks are better in my opinion. The portion sizes have changed though... I remember the nachos being a lot bigger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Julios is pretty authentic Mexican especially for northern AB! We ate on the patio by our choice. We loved the liveliness of the place. The chimichanga was flavorful. We LOVED the hot fresh salsa

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Near the U of Alberta, this is a solid gringo Mexican style restaurant with good fajitas, specialty drinks and service. Interior is a mix of kitsch Mexican and industrial deco

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Generous portions, fun drinks and a rollicking atmosphere made this a popular haunt for a Friday evening on Whyte Avenue. We had friendly, attentive service and the food was tasty, if not entirely authentic. Worth a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julio's Barrio also viewed

 

Been to Julio's Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julio's Barrio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.